We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - great views but nothing else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Aanuka Beach Resort is a great location but there it ends. The rooms are tired and for $200 a night having a badly cracked bathroom basin is not on. The bedroom with the ridiculous shell spa bath is a joke. Having an atrium in the bedroom when the light floods in at dawn is stupidity at its best. Rooms connect closely and when the light from the room next door is left on all night and floods through this stupid atrium design - result is little sleep. Having to ring service after 4 hours of tapping , tripping water from the shade cloth ( attempting to cover the open glass window area ) at 3.30 am is not fun. Breakfast is paltry at the best , coffee machines dispensing watery liquid passing as coffee. After 3 days ,asking for fresh towels resulted in a " come and get them" from reception!! Some of these people need to travel to overseas and see what other places offer in the way of service. No free wifi , $40 for three days - it's in the lobby and reception area - but who want to go there to read the paper and check emails?? My plea don't do it, find better value and service somewhere else

Room Tip: Do not get a honeymoon bureau room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaethe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Kaethe B

Our Resort consists of self serviced apartments and this is stated across all websites, the in room compendium and also the courtesy card in your bathroom, one quick call to reception and one of our friendly staff could have offered you fresh towels or any other amenities needed, you can also pay for your room to be serviced if you require this throughout your stay. My Front Office Manager Kim also offered to upgrade you to a 2 bedroom apartment on the last night of your stay however the offer was declined, As soon as issues are brought to our attention, we like to rectify the matter straight away, however if issues such as Food and Beverage and Maintenance are not mentioned it makes it hard for us to address the issue, I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the appropriate department heads.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,209 - 2,215 of 2,664 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

The resort is in a beautiful location, right on the beach. The bures are set amongst some really nice greenery, making our stay relatively private and peaceful.

Like other reviewers we felt the facilities were not of the same standard we saw in photos. This resort is in need of a refurbishment. The rooms and pool areas are quite run down.

We were charged for our 8 month old to stay and yet provided with nothing for his stay - no towel or cot. When we requested a cot we were given one to assemble ourselves. It stank of urine and we ended up bringing our own in from the car.

This is a decent option for passing through Coffs Harbour, but I wouldn't recommend it for a holiday in itself.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravellingBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear TheTravellingBells

Thank you for your review you have left us on trip advisor, we like to think of Aanuka a little piece of paradise nestled in 15 acres of lush tropical gardens conveniently located right on the beautiful diggers beach.

We are sorry to hear that you had issues throughout your stay I have passed your feedback on to the appropriate department heads to ensure that our required standards of cleanliness are being met at all times, issues such as these are very rare occurrences, and with one quick call to reception one of our friendly staff would have done everything they could to make your stay more comfortable, in regards to your cot not being assembled unfortunately due to compliance reasons we are only allowed to assist you in the assembly if assistance is required.

If you should chose to return to Aanuka, you will see massive changes resort wide as we are currently going through a massive refurbishment; we hope to see you and your family again in the near future we would also like to offer you as a gesture of good will a 10% discount on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Breakfree Aanuka is a lovely 'family friendly' resort at Diggers Beach just north of Coffs Harbour. The good thing about a family friendly resort is that as a couple, we didn't really have to deal with lots of screaming kids annoying us in the pool as the choice for most families was to take the rugrats to the specific kid's water play area set far away from the lagoon pool. The resort has been undergoing a renovation and our bure was obviously one of the ones already completed. The style is 1990's 4 star hotel, with an attempt at a beach vibe. The kitchenette is small, but has everything you'd need for a short stay. The internet access is 'pay by use' which is disappointing. We had dinner in the restaurant Finz by the Beach which was lovely. The staff accommodated our request for a table at the window and were very friendly and helpful. The only downside was that my medium rare steak was well-done, the quality of the food was high and presentation was top-notch. The beach access was easy and the grounds were clearly marked with maps at each intersection of paths. The parking was easy and secure. We had a blast there. Would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing beach break away from the main tourist area.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room. Some of the rooms are yet to be updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koali333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, Front Office Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Koali333

Thank you for your lovely feedback you have left us on trip advisor

I will be sure to forward on your comments to appropriate department heads

We are so glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise as much as we do, hope to see you and your family again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Travelling from Brisbane to Coffs with our toddler we chose to stay here after reading reviews. Seems majority of accommodation options in coffs are quite tired (this hotel included). Quite a pain to have to lug all your gear from reception through the resort to our room which was a 5 or so min walk (normally not a problem but an inconvenience after a few hours in the car with a toddler) nice location being able to walk down to the beach. Pools were nice to look at but way to cold to enjoy. Very nice staff on reception.
Would consider staying again but would be a but more organised and take less luggage for the overnight stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEF_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear SEF_83

Thank you for your feedback being situated on 15 acres we are a large resort style complex our villas being surrounded by lush tropical gardens, we however have conveniently located car parks within short walking distance and luggage trolleys can be found in each car parking area.

We have five swimming pools at the resort that also includes our indoor heated pool; I am pleased to hear your lovely feedback and will be sure to pass your feedback on to our reception staff.

We hope to see you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a beautiful spot, right on the beach and just a short stroll from beach patrols and amenities at the beach. The people here are polite, cheerful, helpful and appear genuinely interested in providing a quality experience. The food is excellent and the restaurants have a million dollar view. The pool areas are enjoyable and well maintained. If the gym was in better order and more fully equipped Aaunka would be close to perfect. Had a wonderful time at this resort. I highly recommend a stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LeeTSMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear LeeTSMI

Thank you for you lovely feedback you have left us on trip advisor

Do happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you and your family again soon!!

I will be sure to forward your comments onto our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Our first feeling after checking in was - we should have booked a few more nights. This was still how we felt when checking out today. Very courteous and helpful staff and expansive clean and green grounds with lots to do . Breakfast and dinner at the cafe restaurant were good . The Bure spa we had was clean and comfy. Would surely come back for a longer stay with the family .

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Shekeebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Shekeebus

Thank you for your lovely feedback you have left us on trip advisor

We are so glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise as much as we do, hope to see you and your family again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Given some of the reviews I had read, I was unsure as to what to expect, however both my husband and I were delighted with our overnight stay here and really wished we were staying longer. Our villa was modern, clean, stylish and well equipped. The restaurant had a view of the bay and excellent food. The beach was beautiful and perfect for a quiet walk at sunset or first thing. This place is quite special....we will go back if we can!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Linda A

Thank you for your feedback, Hope to see you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
273 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $104 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned villas. Please Note**NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing