We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

After staying here for my 4th time, I think I'll give it a miss next time. The Day Spa is the high light of the place the service from Linda is perfect & always has been. She is lovely & fantastic at what she does. The service from office staff while a duty manager is there is great but at night time is very poor. The 2 bedroom unit we were 1st given was cold, as covered in shade & very dirty. The spa was filthy & unable to be used & happy hour was a joke. After complaining we were told that we were unable to get our money back as we did not book through there office & left very unhappy. The following morning the duty manager Kim who was very nice called after I had sent 2 emails explaining my disappointment & changed our room as the hot water system had blown up & gave us 2 cocktail vouchers as we were unable to relax the night before after driving from Surfers & also gave us breakfast free for that day. During the next couple of days we were charged different prices 3 times for the same cocktails. Which was very confusing. All in all we were glad when our 3 nights were up & could leave. I'm very disappointed in the way this resort has gone down hill in the past 7 years & won't be staying here again as there is no value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizCrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Liz

Thankyou for leaving your comments here with us on Trip advisor, We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
I am sorry that the Housekeeping standards were not up to standard when you arrived at the resort, but I am very grateful that our lovely Manager Kim was able to room move you and rectify the situation as soon as she received the feedback, it was also lovely of her to throw in a breakfast for you and your family to enjoy the next morning aswell.
I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the different prices you were charged for cocktails on 3 different occasions so as that all of our staff are relaying the correct information to our guests.
I am saddened that you did not enjoy your 4th stay with us and would definitely like to make it up to you!
When you next decided to holiday please contact our Front Office Manager, Kim and I will ensure that she personally looks after your booking and makes your 5th stay a memorable one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,547 - 2,553 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Typical glossy brochure advertising. Location wonderful,views picture perfect , but the units are what need updating,,bathrooms old,furnture the old balinese style,The spa was from 80,s,[Scary big clam shell] Bed clean and comfy,Staff friendly and very professional.Food to units comes in poly boxes,Im sure most people find it ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear gazzz1

Thank you for your feedback you have left us on TripAdvisor

For future bookings not all of the bures’ have the clam shell bath and you would be happy to see some big changes on your return as the resort is currently undergoing refurbishment.

Hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had our wedding @ Aanuka on 23 August which was just perfect! From the amenities in the resort to the service from the staff throughout we could not fault it and the food in both the restaurant and at our reception was amazing.
Our family & friends having travelled from all over the country were well taken care of in the comfortable accommodation and we have had nothing but great feedback from all.
For both the location and the service I am so pleased we decided to have our wedding here... I highly recommend it. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Krystyn H
Thank you so much for your lovely post on Trip advisor! I am delighted to read that you and your family celebrated your special day here at “Aanuka” and what a memorable day it will be forever!
I will be sure to pass your lovely testimonial onto all that were involved in making your special day just perfect!
We look forward to welcoming you back sometime really soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

From start to finish our stay was very pleasant, particularly the dinner and service. The meals were great - compliments to the chefs! And the waiters were fantastic. Our villa was lovely and the view was to die for!
Thanks guys! I'd come back again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear kate2468

Thank you for your lovely feedback you have left us on TripAdvisor
We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We got married at Aanuka on the 7th sep13. It was the most perfect day I could have ever dreamed of.
The staff are all terrific and the location is just stunning! All my guests loved it, as did we, and said it was one of the best weddings they had been to.
Service is wonderful, everyone is so friendly. And it's all very reasonable prices. I have had the best five days ever. We extended our stay because we just couldn't leave too soon :)
I would recommend Aanuka to anyone for a brilliant, stress free easy wedding location, and a beautiful place to stay.
Thank you to all the staff at Aanuka for the perfect experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clova76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear clova76

Thank you for your lovely feedback

We are overjoyed to hear that your wedding was all you had dreamt off
We hope to see you and your family again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Wow! We had a one night stay over heading up to the Gold Coast. I read reviews and had great concerns, however, we were met with with a very quick and efficient check in. The 2 bedroom villa (No. 58) was amazing and I would rate it as the cleanest and freshest room my family has ever stayed in (no old room smells). No views but too happy with the room to worry. We added on a buffet breakfast for family of 4 @ $40 and were not disappointed. Staff were helpful and lovely and in particular House Keeping who went above and beyond to find my shoes which had been left behind and eventually found pushed under the bed. Could go on and on but off to write a bad review on the hole we stayed in on our return trip. We will be smarter next time and book with Breakfree Aanuka!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HidesJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear HidesJ

We are so happy to hear that you loved Aanuka as much as we do

Hope to see you and your family soon!!

Thank you for your lovely feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the best few nights at Aanuka. The rooms were ideal for us and our 2 young boys, even being on 2 levels. The staff and service was hard to beat. They were really relaxed about all the kids, and we had quite a few boys who were v "active". But if we asked for anything, they couldn't do enough for us. We've stayed in a lot of places in Oz and were very impressed with Aanuka. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jotimandjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear jotmanjake

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon!!

Thank you for your lovely feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
400 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#15 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
926 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#20 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $103 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casay Decks will be closed 1-4 November, & 28-30 November 2017 for a private function, the Finz venue will be available for in house resort guests for food & beverage needs. Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned villas. Please Note**NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing