We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but in dire need of refurbishment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location but in dire need of refurbishment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Well laid out resort. But rooms are looking their age now and would benefit from refurbishment. when we 1st arrived our room smelt of cooking smells and damp murkiness, it did improve when we opened it up but wasn't the best 1st impression. Air cond in 2nd bedroom didn't work, kitchen had no chopping board or tongs and limited pots n pans etc. there are only 2 BBQs in the entire resort. I would rate it 3 star in its current condition.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 89. It was average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReedsyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear ReedsyD

Thankyou so much for taking your time to leave usa with your feedback,we have recently been approved for a refurb here at the Resort, in regards to our rooms, so there will be some big changes happening around the resort in the next 12 months which is really exciting! In regards to your room having a musty smell, this usually occurs due to the Resort being spread out on 15 acres of lush tropical surrounds, due to security reasons, we are unable to leave our apartments unlocked.we actually have 3 barbecue areas for you to enjoy here at aanuka, being situated near the tennis courts on the Resort side, the Water Dragons poll on the villiage side and we also have a pool and BBQ area near carpark 6.If you ever have any maintenace issues during your stay, just a quick call to reception and we will have someone attend straight away.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Aanuka the next time you decide to next visit the Mid North Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    697
    330
    142
    101
See reviews for
854
714
53
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

All of the staff were very friendly, but:
The room was in dire need of complete refurbish and
- Dryer not working
- No hangars in room
- Sink blocked
- No second set of keys because recently broken

Food was average.

View from cafe area toward the beach was beautiful

Plenty of activities and swimming areas for kids

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heircraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Dear Heircraft,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

I’m sorry to hear you had some bad experiences on your last stay with us.

I would love to welcome you back to the property so you can see the changes that have been done since your last stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently stayed in the studio hotel room here, and found that it was very nice. The room was pretty spacious, the bed was comfortable and it was furnished nicely. It was quite helpful having a microwave and toaster; although there was no sink in the kitchenette area. The bathroom was nice but the shower was small.
The service at the hotel was great. All the staff were incredibly friendly and went the extra mile to make you feel welcome.
The resort was quite large and there were many facilities made available to us.
Breakfast was definitely a highlight, and we definitely recommend it to anyone staying at the resort. It is served in a buffet style with beautiful views overlooking the ocean. There were a lot of food choices also. It was a bit pricey but definitely worth the money.
Overall we very much enjoyed our stay here and we will definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2015
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Breakfree Aanuka Beach Resort in Coffs Harbour.

Please contact us directly for any future bookings as we would love to welcome you back to the resort and start planning your next holiday.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

After reading differring TripAdvisor reports on this resort I booked a room
Check in was quick and efficient
The room was spotless but the bathroom needed an upgrade
The grounds were well cared for and maintenance high

HOWEVER

The resort is on a sprawling 15 acre spread with our room the furtherest away from the sea , reception etc
The resort is covered by huge palm trees which overhang all the accommodation so that no unit or room has sun...and we were there on two sunny days.
Because of this our room was always cold..yes we could've put on the a/c or heater but after returning to the room coldness prevailed
So there was always this feeling of darkness and shade
In Summer it may be different!!
Inside the room the hotel instruction booklet stated that a " starter pack " was provided for our convenience which contained four sachets of tea , coffee , sugar , the tiniest quantity of milk and toilet paper...yes...toilet paper
If we happened to run out ...we were booked for three nights...then we could avail ourselves to the local shopping centre towards town to replenish as the resort would not replenish themselves...even toilet paper!!
If we were to stay seven to eight days then a change of linen and towels would be supplied
For shorter stays , if you wanted to have fresh towels then a daily charge would prevail
Bearing in mind this is winter and towels do not easily dry...remember no sun penetrates the accommodation.
The hotel booklet suggests airing the towels with a drier or airer in the room....not supplied!!!
The room was not serviced while we there and we were re expected to empty bins , make bed etc etc
Upon checking with reception their service policy was politely told that Break free was a self service establishment and no service was provided
News to me
When I booked directly with the resort this wasn't mentioned nor was it upon checking in
A disappointing stay
Would I stay here again?
No
You can do far better by staying elsewhere in Coffs Harbour

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2015
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

From someone who has always loved the idea of holidays, but not the reality of the lack of sleep that usually goes with it, thank you Aanuka!!! Being a light sleeper, I always have trouble with noise, beds and light where ever I stay. Aanuka is the FIRST (!!!) place I've ever found where there was no noise to keep me up all night. :-) There was no plumbing or air con noises to be heard from any overhead tenants (benefit of no overhead neighbor from duplex type arrangement rather than condo units).
The beds were great - also a pleasant surprise that is going to bring me back! There was minimal light from outside because there was no high lights to shine in the bedrooms. (I bring dark brown shower curtains and pegs with me whenever I travel to shield out these lights. This was the first time in quite a while that I could have done without them).
Yes, you have to walk a distance to your unit, but its mostly covered from the rain; its one that is pleasant and well-maintained and there's no steps to climb (other than inside your unit to the bedrooms), so I don't think there's a need for help with luggage unless you are an invalid. For me, the short walk is a tiny (!!) price to pay for a good night's sleep!
This was a perfect place for young and older families. With our two teens, we used the tennis court a lot, but they had great facilities for younger kids!
The only disappointments for us was that the 'gym' consisted of only 3 or 4 items (my 17 y/o son liked the idea of keeping up his training, so was very disappointed). I think that the cockatoo should have finer mesh at the lower part of the aviary so that kids aren't tempted to poke fingers in (my 13 y/o should have known better, but younger kids wouldn't. Like all parrots, it had a very nasty beak that drew blood easily).
Overall, lovely spacious units - beautiful garden surrounds - perfect for families young and old. Very happy! Look forward to our trip this year. (I convinced hubby to give Coffs another go, rather than another destination because selfishly, sleep is a higher priority for me than going somewhere new!) ;-)

Room Tip: We chose the two bedroom with the courtyard. Although we didnt use the courtyard, maybe it helped t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2015
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Although the resort is a little "tired" the rooms still have a great layout and are roomy and very clean. I stayed there on 6 June 2013 in a 2 bedroom bure and in March I stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse. Loved both. Beds were very comfy (including pillows). ALL staff were courteous, very professional but most of all they were genuinely friendly. You cannot go past the restaurant! Absolutely one of the best restaurants I have eaten at. The service was also to be commended. The bar staff could not have provided a more friendly or helpful service and nothing was too much trouble for them. . Don,t let the "tired "aspect deter you from this very beautiful and well designed resort. The staff will make you feel welcome and you can totally relax. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Both rooms I stayed in were great. The Bure is closer to the pool and restaurant than the townhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sharon B
Thankyou so much for your review you have left us with! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Aanuka!
We are about to start a massive re furb here at the Resort so that will see some big changes here at Aanuka, and I must say that myself and the staff are very excited!
I will be sure to pass your comments onto my team regarding your stay and I will pass your compliments onto the Chef.
We look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Family stay with an infant in a 'paradise spa Burke' room. Room was spacious and private, decor was tired but very clean & comfortable. The overall layout of the hotel was great and close to beach. This was a winter stay so no swimming in the many outdoor pools. Daily breakfast had a good variety and dining room was very clean. No issues with staff and were also helpful with requests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear MBCB,

Thankyou for your glowing feedback you have left us with on tripadvisor! I am pleased to hear that you got to enjoy your holiday here with your family here at aAanuka, our Resort is approx 25 years old now and we are constantly updating our facilities and re furbishing our rooms, Allways keep in mind that our pools are also heated over the school holidays... I will be sure to pass your comments onto our lovely staff... we look forward to welcoming you back when you next decide to holiday with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#12 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Property: BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained villas. To make your stay comfortable every room type includes air conditioning, Austar, DVD player, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, toaster, iron and ironing board. Beach lovers can enjoy the seclusion of picturesque Diggers Beach which is literally at the resort's doorstep or sit back on the terrace with a long drink and admire postcard views of the sweeping lawns stretching down to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing