We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expansive, tropical and welcoming...would suit a wide range of tastes.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Expansive, tropical and welcoming...would suit a wide range of tastes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were two couples - including elderly parents/in laws. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for two nights over Australia Day weekend having driven up from Sydney enroute to Brisbane.
It was not cheap at about $850 for both nights, but it comfortable accommodated all of us and I guess one has to pay a premium during public holiday weekends.

The grounds are expansive, with paths leading from accommodation to restaurant area - and for the most part undercover. On the first night we ordered a couple of pizzas and some salt and pepper squid from the menu - and then picked it up when they phoned to say it was ready. Would only give an average ranking.

But the restaurant that we went to on site on the second night made up for it. Lovely food all round. We would certainly recommend the in dining experience.

Oh, and I just remembered the above total cost included breakfast for everyone on both mornings. I remember reading on TA about these breakfasts and had included this in the booking at the time. Wide buffet selection, and great coffee. The breakfast staff were amazingly efficient - that part stood out for me, as I when I go and get next courses and return to the table the dirty plates have been removed. Well done guys.

The beach was great for swimming - and it was a relatively short walk from the apartment. We did not use any of the hotel facilities available - but saw people swimming, playing tennis etc. Nice coastal walk is also close by.

We would certainly return should we stay again in Coffs Harbour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello!

And thankyou so much for your glowing review on Tripadvisor! I will be sure to pass your comments onto our wonderful staff!

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our Signature Buffet Breakfast! and our Finz on the Beach Restaurant.

Hopefully next time you decide to holiday with us, you will get to enjoy the excellent facilities Aanuka has to offer!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    700
    333
    143
    103
See reviews for
859
718
53
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I recently visited Breakfree Aanuka for my birthday and honestly, this place could not have been worse.

First thing I noticed was a damp, musty smell and damp carpet upon entering the room. I then noticed that the TV remote was missing. I called reception three times before someone finally came with a universal remote. They were unable to tune it in and as maintenance had left for the day, they left the remote in the room with me. I tuned it in eventually, although it did take about 15 minutes. The staff member did try to get a remote from another room, but apparently my tv was unique to all the others.

The fridge was very noisy and constantly making clicking noises. The bed and pillows were comfy, but the noise of the fridge made for not such a good sleep. The room was not very clean, marks on the bedhead and we saw a cockroach in the room.

On the second day, i called reception to ask when the room would be serviced and was told between 8am and 2pm. My wife and I went out and when we got back, the room had not been serviced. I called reception and was told someone would come around. We went out again for another few hours, came back and it was still not done. I rang again and spoke to a different person who told me that daily service is not included unless you stay 8 or more nights (or pay $7.50).

I asked then if I could get more towels, bathmat, toilet paper, shower gel and have my tiny single bin emptied. To my astonishment, I was told that I would have to pick it up from reception (by the way...in the pouring rain). Surely if there is no daily service, the bin at least should be considerably bigger.

When I booked this 'resort', there was nothing at all to say it was unserviced, I even checked my confirmation again from wotif and there is nothing at all about it.

I am very disappointed that despite all these complaints they didn't seem to care about the quality of my stay. I was offered more coffee which was pointless since in the room there was about 12 coffees, 4 teas, 1 milk and NO SUGAR!

I will visit Coffs Harbour again, but won't be staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harvey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Harvey W,

We thankyou for your comments and apologise that you felt tat the standard of the room was not adequate.

we note your comments regarding the housekeeping service of your room and do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Due to the high standards required of our Housekeeping department, issues such as these are very rare occurrences. We have forwarded your your comments onto our Housekeeping department to ensure that our required standard of cleanliness are met at all times.

We thankyou for bringing our maintenance issues you experienced concerning the remote control, and the fridge to our attention, unfortunately maintenance issues do arise from time to time and measure are in place to ensure such issues are fixed promptly and best to our ability at the time.

As a gusture of goodwill, we would like to take the opportunity to invite you to return to Aanuka and offer you a 10z% discount off your accomodation for your next holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a belated christmas party at Annuka. The cocktail food was great, good variety and they even catered for our vegetarians. All the staff seamed eager to please. Nothing was too hard. 'Denise' was more than comforting and think she needs a mention :) i work in the industry and think there needs to be more good feedback! I will certainly drop in for a cocktail sometime soon. The men at the bar were more than happy to make me a cocktail with the ingrediants i wanted. Service was fast and friendly. I felt welcome! Welldone the food and beverage team at Annuka. You all were fantastic :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dansara89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Dansara 89,

Thankyou so much for your glowing report you have left us with! it makes me so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time her at Aanuka for your belated Christmas pasty!
I will be sure to pass your comments on to our wonderful staff! Especially the lovely "Denise"

We look forward to welcoming you back to Aanuka for the "cocktail" very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Good location and well supplied kitchen. Apartment was clean and well kept. The unit was a bit dated but in good condition. room fixtures needed attention such as toilet down stairs in laundry. Water pressure was poor in shower & no air-condition in downstairs area, both bedrooms upstairs had a split system. Great location near beach and park area and very quite. Short drive to Coffs shops and big banana. Room was 120 & 120A.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staco1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello!

And thanyou for dropping by and leaving us with some feedback on tripadvisor!

If youever have any maintenance issues with your room here at Aanuka, all you need to do is give us a quick call at reception by dialling 9 and we will have maintenance over promptly to fix any problems.

All of our rooms are privately owned by owners, therefore all rooms are decked out with the tastes of the owners preference but do have to adhere to a standard of course!

We look forward to welcomming you back to Aanuka the next time you decide to holiday!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed in November 2011 with some family. We had a two bedroom villa unit which was more than spacious enough. Appliances were definitely vintage and the unit wasn't the cleanest (though by no means dirty). The resort itself was quite pretty, lots of bearded dragons and bush turkeys throughout the area. Lots of facilities and a nice secluded beach. Very reasonable prices though I would try another spot in the area before trying this one again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Albedell,

Thankyou for your feedback you have left us with on tripadvisor!

We always appreciate recieving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed our guests expectations. All of our rooms are privately owned and our owners are always updating their apartments when needed.

On a brighter note, i am happy to hear you enjoyed our wildlife that roams around here at Aanuka, the bush turkeys and waterdragons are always a hit!

We hope you stay with us again when you decide to visit the Mid North Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The grounds at this resort are vast and stunning! We stayed there for 5 days with our 14 month old son and we all loved it! My husband particularly enjoyed the 4ft waves at the surf break out the front. There are approx 5 pools, including 3 spas, which my son and I enjoyed every day. The food in the restaurant was spot on... I had the salmon and prawn stack for entree and the King of Steaks for main... Both were delicious... It is totally a family friendly place and we happened to stay there when Greg the Yellow Wiggle, his wife and children were there too! We stayed in a spa bure, which was surrounded by tropical plants and wildlife... It was tranquil and private. The staff were very helpful and friendly! The buffet breakfast was also a highlight for us! The $8-50 lunch specials were also healthy for our wallets! We think the Aanuka is the prettiest location in Coffs! We are planning our next trip already!

Room Tip: Choose a bure close to reception and car park. Ask for a hotel room away from the pool area if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Well i am absoloutely delighted to read your outstanding feedback on Trip advisor!

We are very lucky to be situated on 15 acres of pure paradise, situated on Diggers beach... I will be sure to pass your comments onto our Chefs and onto our staff as we all pride ourselves here at Aanuka with our exceptional customer service... I will also pass your compliments onto our team in the kitchen!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Aanuka when you next decide to holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

For the price i would have expected a lot better, Very outdated rooms, bathroom was in need of repair, the room was comparable to a cheap pub stay. The breakfast that was included in the price was however very good, overall, I would consider elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2015
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#12 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Property: BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained villas. To make your stay comfortable every room type includes air conditioning, Austar, DVD player, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, toaster, iron and ironing board. Beach lovers can enjoy the seclusion of picturesque Diggers Beach which is literally at the resort's doorstep or sit back on the terrace with a long drink and admire postcard views of the sweeping lawns stretching down to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing