We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wedding To Remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wedding To Remember”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here in March for a friends wedding, they had the service in the chapel and reception in the function area! What a beautiful location, the wedding was a real success the bride and groom all guests were raving about what a great day it was and the attention to detail was fantastic. Buffet breakfast was great, rooms spacious and private!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Amy B
Thank you for your glowing review on your friend’s wedding day here at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort.

I am glad to hear that you, and your friends had a fantastic experience at the wedding and also enjoyed the Resort and facilities,

I will certainly pass on feedback to the staff and the Conferencing girls especially, whom were able to assist in making the day so successful.

Thanks again for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you all back to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    772
    369
    150
    108
See reviews for
954
787
59
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The resort facilities are amazing as Is the location. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was wonderful too! We were definitely staying again until we slept (or didn't) in the beds. Ours was very hard and uncomfortable, but when my son sat on the sofa bed he went straight through. We then requested a fold out bed that was no better. In the end he slept on the lounge. They also put a $200 hold on our credit card that we are still waiting to be removed a week later. We would not stay again due to these issues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MareeandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
RESPONSE
Dear Maree and Andrew,

What a shame – you loved our facilities and the location – For next time please call reception any time of the day or night we can remedy most situations. I’m sorry that you felt the beds were too hard, they are simply standard hotel beds were we try and cater for most people, perhaps we could have tried boosted the mattress protector for you. Our sofa beds are no longer an option for additional bedding they simply are not build to an industrial standard, we have purchased new rollaway beds for the comfort of our guests.

The $200 credit card pre authorisation is stated in all our correspondence, over the telephone, online in our terms and conditions, and advised at check in. At any time we are happy to discuss alternatives. Its’ even been mentioned on trip advisor previously. Of course, one quick phone call to us and we can rectify this situation immediately for you.

It’s such a shame that you didn’t give us an opportunity to make your stay memorable for all the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Gorgeous views, pity about the room - "unfortunate" was the excuse given for our room to not be made at 8pm at night after travelling over 500km, dark, cold and needing to change rooms, was the last thing we needed, when told not able to have a refund we did not want to stay even more, the new male manager was very apologetic and accommodating, at the end of the day, for an inconvenience such as waiting in a dirty room to be moved, we should not have had to ask several times for a refund to which we were refused and then not offered some compensation. Don't waste your money, if we knew it was only $20 more for the Novotel next door we would not have bothered!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paradiselover_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Paradiselover,

As we have mentioned previously, we can only apologise for the error made, again we can only hope that this has not marred your experience of Aanuka, as soon as we knew of the situation, we tried our best to rectify the situation

Again we look forward to welcoming yourself and your partner back to Aanuka soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

the reception staff were really friendly and helpful, responding to all of my requests in such a nice and positive way, even though I gave them a hard time!
room is really spacious and has everything you need to make it for a comfortable stay.
the plus of the whole experience was the breakfast! beachfront, beautiful views and a fantastic buffet that had everything I could have hoped for - great way to start the day!
will certainly recommend this resort for anyone looking for a place to stay in Coffs

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear PC Sydney,

Thank you so much for your glowing feedback on our beautiful destination in Coffs Harbour... Aanuka!
I have passed on your positive feedback to our lovely staff and it always puts a smile on their faces to know that they are serving our guests 5 star!
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our wonderful paradise Spa Bures and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have just stayed a night in a paradise bure and it was fantastic! From the moment we arrived the staff were so friendly and willing to help out with everything. We arrived in our bure and were amazed by how roomy, clean and modern the room was. We absolutely loved the glass roofed 2 person spa. The bure was a bargain for $134 per night. We also had breakfast included in our package which was so worth the money, such a variety of things to choose from overlooking the beach, even a visit from a friendly kookaburra sitting on the open window sill. My only criticism was the cafe was a little pricey but everything else was an absolute dream! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diva_dee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear PC Sydney,

Thankyou so much for your glowing response! We love it when we are able to take care of guests needs, its great to see that you noticed that we at Aanuka have been doing upgrades and we look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived to the room, we found it had not been cleaned from the last guest, used coffee cups, bed linen all over the place. When moved to another room we had decided we didn't want to stay, the female manager told me there was nothing she could do, I asked for a refund and she said she couldn't. I was called back by the male manager who apologized and said he was able to organize a refund but it would take a few days, he was very accommodating. After traveling 500km from beautiful b&B's to this it was the last thing I wanted to deal with.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaineZX9R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear KaineS,

I can’t apologise enough for our terrible mistake that we made. We did accidentally check you into a dirty room. We are certainly not proud of this mistake, as soon as the problem arose, we did everything to rectify this situation, and I think in your words your reply was “thank you for making a bad situation into a good one”. It’s a shame that after you left the Property you felt unfairly treated as we thought we had turned this situation around based on your comments. We’ll always try to our best ability to rectify these matters given the chance.

Again we welcome you back in the future, we hope to see you again, please dont let this situation deteer you from Aanuka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We only got to have a short stay here, however the resort was fantastic!! Smack bang on the beach. Our welcome was great followed by drinks in the bar for happy hour.

We were Also greeted by the lovely manager graham who was really interested in our travel stories. We then had dinner in the restaurant upstairs wich to our surprise was affordable with great veriety.

The following day my son and I went for breakfast on our own as my wife was not feeling too well. The staff were pleasant and the veriety on the buffet was exceptional. Well done!!!

We have already planned a return stay and will definitely recommend this resort to all our friends.

After reading the reviews on this site we feel people need to pull their head in and enjoy their holiday. Otherwise save your money and give the poor staff a break and don't go!

Well done to Annukka beach resort!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melba_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Wow – great review – thank you and we can’t wait to welcome you back to the resort again.
We really love the improvements that we have made and the direction we are heading.
My personal favourite is when our Spanish born chef makes the home made Churro’s – they are an irresistibly decadent breakfast item.
I look forward to catching up on your latest travels.


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Property: BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained villas. To make your stay comfortable every room type includes air conditioning, Austar, DVD player, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, toaster, iron and ironing board. Beach lovers can enjoy the seclusion of picturesque Diggers Beach which is literally at the resort's doorstep or sit back on the terrace with a long drink and admire postcard views of the sweeping lawns stretching down to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing