We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a backpackers hostel at all.. More for long term workers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hoey Moey Backpackers
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I was shocked when I walked into the hostel to find it full of older people drinking and gambling, more so that there would be slot machines at a hostel meant for backpackers. After staying for a few days (one extra) I was offered a ride to my next destination and told that they could not refund my money. This was ridiculous as the hostel was not full and it had been an additional night to my original stay any how. Some of the service staff were fantastic, and others (specifically Frank) were rude and inconsiderate. I would not stay here again or recommend it. Truthfully there is nothing worth going to Coffs Harbour for, as Yamba and Port Macquarie are amazing and in both places you can find great accommodation and service. Due to the fact that it is full of long term workers there is not any type of hostel mentality and it is hard to get people to do things with. Don't waste your time or money. If you do decide to stay in coffs stay at Aussietown. I was able to get over there to visit a friend and it was much better and friendlier.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geroge4982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 117 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

This has small smelly dirty rooms.....no sink in the bathroom or should I say cupboard cause it is not much bigger. No where to hang clothes not even a hook. No extras except a TV too high on the wall and tea and coffee which looked like it had been sitting there for ten years.No chairs or table in room only sitting area was the bed.
Even getting a discount at $50.00 it was too much they should pay you for being brave enough to sleep in a room that felt like it was last cleaned 100 years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I Honestly never thought that the review for the nastiest place I've ever stayed would come from my home country, surely it'd be from a place on the backstreets of Yangon, Bhaktapur or Napoli but no, it's in my own Australia.

Admittedly we didn't do as much research about this part of Coff's as we could of and should of paid the extra $5 to stay up in town itself close by to the Pacific Mwy.

We arrived quite late and after hunting around for somewhere to park and following the directions through to the nightclub to check in we tried to settle down into the room but couldn't get a decent night sleep due to music, not so much the loudness but every fitting in the room shaking to the beat.

Having a shower the next morning wasn't too easy either, the shower contained quite a bit of mould and was a right pain in the bottom to get a comfortable temperature of water.

The TV didn't work on any of the digital channels and barely worked on one analogue channel (ABC I think?) and for a supposedly recently renovated room it had a very grubby feel about it.

We didn't fair too much better night's sleep the next night due to what sounded like a group of young country folk having a pretty heavy drinking session outside their room and dropping plenty of "C" bombs during it, I really felt sorry for the family with small children checked in next to us.

In conclusion, we didn't put the right amount of research in and it does seem more geared towards the younger crowd but in saying that, we've done the rounds backpacking through over 20 countries from developing to developed and have stayed in $2 rooms which were more comfortable than this

Families, stay at some of the nice apartments around Coffs, backpackers pay the extra couple of dollars and stay closer up in town

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bass_ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This is not really a hostel and definitely not suited to backpackers. When we arrived we asked if we could get the cheapest room and told we had it already but it was still very expensive and when we looked there were at least 3 other rooms which were empty that would have been cheaper. The rooms were very small and cramped. There is no real common area for people to sit, watch TV or chat. The bar/ restaurant in full of locals who don't really mix with tourists and we did not feel all that comfortable there. It's a very long walk into the town centre so we were very isolated. Plus side we are very close to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms very small and cramped. TV is very fuzzy. No lock on toilet door. Fridge blocks sink when tryi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Must say this was one of my best stays cheap fresh paint and clean rooms the best part special deals at the bar for food and drinks

Room Tip: ask for the deal at the bar for food and drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinbialkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Stayed here for a cheap getaway from home. It was only $55 it was a wot.if special. I didnt like the idea of staying right near the pub as the pub can get very roudy at times. But once we got into the room my mind soon changed. Looks as if there have been some serious renovations or redecorating done here. Sure the room was on the small side but it was very clean, no smells, and had a comfy bed and new TV. Also close to the bottel-o and pub and services club. So didnt have to walk far to get some food.
Overall i had a good stay. It was really good value for off season hotel/motel stay. Only downfall would have been the smallness of the room. Would be good for one night stop over, but wouldnt stay for longer then a few days because of the smallness of the room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbey444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I found this place on Wotif and there was no mention of it being backpacker standard. The 'normal' price was $105 and for that money, expect a standard clean furnished room with the basics. This room had nothing other than the bed and a TV - no tables/chairs, nowhere to put anything in the bathroom, dirty bathroom, no shampoo/conditioner, no net curtains so absolutely no privacy whatsoever unless curtains pegged closed then in darkness. Suitable for youngsters backpacking.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.1 mi away
Coffs Harbour YHA
Coffs Harbour YHA
#16 of 43 in Coffs Harbour
153 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aussitel Backpackers
Aussitel Backpackers
#4 of 43 in Coffs Harbour
168 reviews
1.1 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
926 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bonville Golf Resort
Bonville Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Bonville
139 reviews
5.4 mi away
Reflections Holiday Parks Moonee Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoey Moey Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoey Moey Backpackers

Address: 84 Ocean Parade, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $45 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hoey Moey Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Beach Hotel Motel/ Hoey Moey Backpackers is the only hotel in Coffs Harbour with DIRECT BEACH ACCESS! – It’s a great stopover point for anybody travelling the east coast. You can be sure of a great welcome and fantastic budget accommodation with travel desk, onsite bar, beer garden, bottle shop & restaurant offering great value meals every day with lunch / dinner ...and don't forget we're the only Hotel in Coffs Harbour with DIRECT BEACH ACCESS just seconds from your room! Coffs Harbour's biggest shopping plaza is less than 10 minutes walk away with a huge variety of shops including post office, banks, Woolworths, Aldi, IGA, Big W, Target, McDonalds, KFC, Subway and Eagle Boys Pizza. We offer a massive range of great activities to suit all budgets including scuba diving, skydiving with beach landing, rainforest horse riding, camel riding on the beach, surfing, white water rafting, deep sea fishing, whale watching, sea kayaking, surf rafting, mountain bike riding at Dorrigo National Park, bungee trampoline, flying trapeze class & ten pin bowling! Free use of body boards & fishing rods. Mountain bikes for rent. Free pick up. Directions: If driving from the North - pass the Big Banana (on right). At the first traffic lights turn left into Park Beach Road. Go straight over 2 roundabouts and you come to a T intersection. We are located on corner of Park Beach Road & Ocean Parade.. If driving from the South - pass the tourist information centre & bus station (on left) and follow the Highway for 2.5 km. Follow the signs to Park Beach Plaza and take a right turn into Park Beach Road. Go straight over 2 roundabouts and you come to a T intersection. We are located on the corner of Park Beach Road & Ocean Parade. Our Opening Hours are 10.00am to 11.00pm. Total Motel rooms 26. Arrival Time 10.00 Departure Time 10.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hoey Moey Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing