We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay!”
Review of Coffs Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coffs Harbour YHA
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had the best stay here at Coffs YHA. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. The rooms were really good, very clean and great showers. I couldn't have asked for a better location- only a moment stroll to the pier where I swarm near the local dolphin. Back at the hostel, there is a really spacious lounge area right next to the pool, which was so ideal after packed out days camel riding, snorkeling and surfig (AND they provide free surf boards too!). I loved it here and can not wait to come back. I strongly recommend staying YHA Coffs Harbour.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elenkaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 152 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wow really shocked by the good feedback here. The worst YHA I've stayed in, I'm surprised they are allowed to call it a YHA. Rooms were ok, my bed was almost falling apart though, didn't feel stable, the fan made annoying noises so couldn't turn it on and it was mega hot. Showers need some serious cleaning and the night I stayed (I made sure this was only one) the lights in neither boys or girls toilets worked...great fun
Kitchen was disgusting, I know that's down to guests but clearly it wasn't all fresh dirt, it was long term nasty greasy yuk yuk yuk.. The tv room equally gross but in fairness a good DVD selection and good tv. The guy was nice behind reception but by the time I realised the shortcomings of the room the reception had closed. Just a bad place to stay and in honesty thought Coffs Harbour was pretty lame, don't waste time or money here when you could be somewhere nice

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheekyboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We initially booked for two nights after seeing some good reviews online. After one night we decided to stay longer, the staff are very friendly, extremely helpful and knowledgable about the local area. The kitchen is well equipped and a very good size, plenty of space to eat and cook. We were able to relax in the evening and there were plenty of people around to chat to. The room was comfortable and clean, we stayed in a double ensuite at the front of the building and it was very quiet. The outside area was also well kept with benches and sun loungers around the very attractive pool.

Would recommend this hostel to everyone, its a 5 min walk to the harbour and beach, there are free shuttle buses into the centre of town, the rail station is walking distance and they arrange collections and drop offs for the coaches. Well worth a stay!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elm325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went to YHA after i had a bad time elsehwere in coffs harbour, the staff were really appologetic about my time in coffs and made me feel really welcome. Cant wait to come back, im going to stay longer next time!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I guess not too many people come through here which is a shame because it's a really nice hostel! The person at reception was very friendly and helpful - all the facilities were as expected. I was able to make some small chat with the person at the reception probably because it was a slow Saturday night.

It's a great location with lots of restaurants nearby for you to choose from. I wasn't sure what to expect from Coff's Harbour but this was a nice stop on my way up to Brisbane.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank nmestar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

tHe best yha ever, for me. Nice staff, nice activities, great place. I've ben working there for 1 month and all the people were so.nice. pRobably one of my best memories in Australia, i will come back one day.
the beach is so close, good
to surf.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxBalaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hostel was such a relieve after staying in the Nomads in Byron Bay! I had a great time here, with lots of sleep. The dorm was very clean and quite spacious. A little bit dark, but I didn't mind. The toilets were very clean, the showers could have been a bit cleaner. The living room was nice and cosy and a good place to relax and meet other travellers. The pool was great too! Clean and again a nice place to relax! The hostel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, close to the beach and with some restaurants nearby. It's a nice, beautiful walk to the center (about 25 minutes). (december 2011)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciadenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
2.2 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
#36 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
452 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aussitel Backpackers
Aussitel Backpackers
#4 of 43 in Coffs Harbour
165 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bonville Lodge Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffs Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffs Harbour YHA

Address: 51 Collingwood St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $44 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffs Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Sydney and Brisbane, Coffs Harbour YHA makes a great stopover for backpackers travelling the east coast. The purpose-built YHA hostel is located close to the jetty and beach. Choice of multi-share backpacker rooms and en-suite twin/double room accommodation. Spacious dining and common rooms, TV, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), BBQ, pool area. FREE surfboard and body boards hire, and bikes available. YHA member discounts for local tours and backpacker activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Coffs Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing