We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value - Great Atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aussitel Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great value hostel, includes free Kayak, Surf Board, Canoe hire etc, Over the road from a great creek, although make sure you hold on tight to the rope swing!

Friendly staff, great atmosphere all night - $4 BBQ was spot on too.

We were in a camper, so didn't stay in the rooms, but best hostel we stayed at.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

I booked in here to stay for one night and ended up staying for 4. This is a great little hostel with friendly staff, activities planned everyday and heaps of free stuff including wifi. Dorm beds were cheap too. Based on my experience i would recommend it to anyone travelling solo. The place has a good feel about it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yadav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had a wonderful time here. We've travelled the east coast for a month and still thought this was the best hostel we stayed in! The staff are friendly and helpful and everyone in the hostel makes you feel welcome. It was nice to be able to relax and enjoy the use of all the freebies - body boarding is a must for those who like us can't surf.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyle94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good value hostel, cheaper than most further north up the east coast. The chap at reception was really helpful, providing a map and a long list of things to do in the area. The kitchen was a decent size as was the 6-share dorm room we were in. In the evening, the guy from reception came around asking anyone if they wanted to have a few drinks and a singalong on the beach, and then with a clipboard asking who wanted to try surf-kayaking for a few hours in the morning for free. Sold. The hostel owner took us out and it was great fun - they have free activities every single day and most of them taking advantage of the water. I wish I had longer at this hostel and to get to know Coffs Harbour. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuslostinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Great that they pick up from the grey hound bus - only problem was that we were than abandoned at 6am and had to wait a few hours until reception opened when really all you wanted was to sleep.

As for location - Coffs Harbour is bigger than you think! You can not find a location that is close to the town and to the beach and to the harbour - all of the adventure is about EXPLORING. I found that the short walk to the beach and harbour very okay.

Apart from this - a gorgeous hostel - small enough to be friendly and private but not so small that its boring. Free activities offered every day - a really good way to meet people, and fun!! Great BBQ one night, awesome staff, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful. There are great free activities to do. But the kitchen and common area didn't feel clean and just had a campy vibe. There was also a funny house cat type girl who just seemed to meander quietly around the premises taking nas everywhere. Harmless though I'm sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great hostel. They offer a pick-up from Greyhound bus stop and even for the early 5.25am bus! Shown the local area/ beaches from a lookout point on arrival which was nice touch. Check-in was informative with map given and shown eveything in area and explained about hostel. Two daily activities organised by staff, one in the morning and one in the evening. Whilst there I did surfing, snorkelling, paddle boarding and surf/sea kayaking which were all brilliant fun (and free). You can also hire heaps of free equipment and go out yourself whenever you like. We also hired one of the hirecars from the hostel and went to the nearby National Park for the day which was amazing and also visited wild kangaroos nearby at Emerald Beach only 15minutes drive. The hostel is in a good location - follow one road all the way from the turn off from highway and 5 mins walk from beach and loads of restaurants and bars. Clean and comfortable rooms and social areas and FREE wifi and they have swiming pool, hammocks, tv, computers and movies. Top place with great staff - made my 1 night turn into a week, thank you Aussitel!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebeerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffs Harbour
0.4 mi away
Coffs Harbour YHA
Coffs Harbour YHA
#16 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
150 reviews
14.1 mi away
Woopi Backpackers Pty Ltd
Woopi Backpackers Pty Ltd
#3 of 4 in Woolgoolga
8 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hoey Moey Backpackers
Hoey Moey Backpackers
#24 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,727 reviews
3.7 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
882 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aqualuna Beach Resort
Aqualuna Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Sapphire Beach
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussitel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussitel Backpackers

Address: 312 Harbour Dr, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $23 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussitel Coffs Harbour Backpackers is owned and managed byCherie and Gary, with excellent staff to help you have a great time. It is a friendly, open place that many people have been happy to call home! It is busy, active and vibrant with exceptionally high standards of professional service. We keep up to date with all the latest developments and ensure we can offer you the best quality activities and prices available. Free Surfboards, Free Bodyboards, Free Surf Kayaks, Free Canoes, Free Stand Up Paddleboards, Free Snorkel Gear, Free Fishing Rods, Free WiFi in all areas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Aussitel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing