We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel I've ever stayed at- by far!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aussitel Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best hostel I've ever stayed at- by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here for 16 nights earlier this year and really didn't want to leave. I have never had so much fun at a hostel before.

All the staff there- Jamie, David, and Erin, as well as the owners Paul and Cath were incredibly friendly and helpful. They would not just help out with everything the guests needed, but also hang out afterwards- all amazing people!!

The atmosphere created at Aussitel is all thanks to the staff who go out of their way to hold games nights, challenges nights, and food nights (really cheap)- all of which would get everyone in the hostel together! Definitely the most social and fun hostel I've ever been to!

The hostel provided soooo many free activities (including Kayaking, Canoeing, Body Boarding, Surfing, Paddle Boarding, Fishing, and Snorkeling)... They not only hire the stuff out for free but actually take groups out for activities each day and the staff get really involved..!! I also thought that because all this was free, that the equipment would be run down, but it was all in reallllly good condition!

The place was kept really clean, and had a reasonably big kitchen as well.

There were movies available for guests to watch as well.

Oh and the free internet was a massssssssssssive perk as well

You definitely get your moneys worth at this place, I cant recommend this place enough!!

Only a 10 minute walk from the beach, but a little bit far from the supermarket (15 minute walk)

Missing the Aussitel crew very much!

Nancy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noosag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    29
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
30
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My stay in Backpackers no good the boss make pay TO me 40 dollat for stay, and 5 dollari after check wait bus .no friendly bere.
Very far form center city dont stop in coff Harbor no good city and this the more bed packpakers from australia

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MirkaoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiard Millicent, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

So I have to admit I only went to Coffs Harbour as a brief stop over on the way from Sydney to Byron Bay, but I seriously wish I knew about this place before! I can honestly say I don't think I've been to such a friendly and involved hostel (and think it'll be a long time until I will again!). There is a really warm atmosphere, with a mixture of long and short stay guests, regardless of how long people are staying for you are pretty much guaranteed to make friends here. As I was travelling alone this was absolutely perfect for me! So much included for free starting with the pick up to the hostel, free watersports including canoeing, sea kayaking etc (definitely advised to get involved!) they have a huge range of movies, nice pool and the hostel is really clean.

Can't thank this place enough for an amazing time! I know I'll be back in the future :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Really good hostel. Amazing staff really helpful - made sure i had a place to sleep when everywhere was all booked. staff put on free activities every day which they join in too. hostel kept clean, everyone really friendly, great location 10mins from the beach :) thankyou aussitel!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDabinett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I don't think there's a hostel that will do as much as the Aussitel to make your stay the best it can be. From picking you up at the bus stop to organising several amazing activities for free every day, I've never been to such an actively involved hostel as there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ_Delbecque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

They picked us up/dropped us off at the greyhound which was a good start! Really nice, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable rooms and a clean kitchen and communal area. Always people milling about, films and tv all the time, opt in $4/5 dollars a night like tacos/pizza etc (you got so much food) and they do daily trips down to the beach to do different things. The only thing I'd say is do not rent a paddleboard for any reason unless you're going with one of the organised trips where the drive the boards down. The beach is only 10 minutes walk but it was closer to an hour with the paddleboards! Haha, otherwise recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

A good standard hostel in Coffs Harbour. A good introduction involving seeing the sites of the area.

Clean rooms and dated but clean bathrooms, nice communal areas. They had a Mexican food night when we were there which was really cheap and really good. They also had a good book-swap. Good, clean pool.

My only 'moan' would be that the undercover outdoor seating area was also the smoking area which made it really unpleasant to sit out there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.1 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
3.2 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coffs Harbour YHA
Coffs Harbour YHA
#15 of 43 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Motel
Caribbean Motel
#6 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussitel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussitel Backpackers

Property: Aussitel Backpackers
Address: 312 Harbour Dr, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussitel Coffs Harbour Backpackers is owned and managed by Paul and Cath, with excellent staff to help you have a great time. It is a friendly, open place that many people have been happy to call home! It is busy, active and vibrant with exceptionally high standards of professional service. We keep up to date with all the latest developments and ensure we can offer you the best quality activities and prices available. Free Surfboards, Free Bodyboards, Free Surf Kayaks, Free Canoes, Free Stand Up Paddleboards, Free Snorkel Gear, Free Fishing Rods, Free WiFi in all areas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Aussitel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing