We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aussitel Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
“Amazing hostel”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Really good hostel. Amazing staff really helpful - made sure i had a place to sleep when everywhere was all booked. staff put on free activities every day which they join in too. hostel kept clean, everyone really friendly, great location 10mins from the beach :) thankyou aussitel!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDabinett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    29
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
30
46
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I don't think there's a hostel that will do as much as the Aussitel to make your stay the best it can be. From picking you up at the bus stop to organising several amazing activities for free every day, I've never been to such an actively involved hostel as there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ_Delbecque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

They picked us up/dropped us off at the greyhound which was a good start! Really nice, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable rooms and a clean kitchen and communal area. Always people milling about, films and tv all the time, opt in $4/5 dollars a night like tacos/pizza etc (you got so much food) and they do daily trips down to the beach to do different things. The only thing I'd say is do not rent a paddleboard for any reason unless you're going with one of the organised trips where the drive the boards down. The beach is only 10 minutes walk but it was closer to an hour with the paddleboards! Haha, otherwise recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

A good standard hostel in Coffs Harbour. A good introduction involving seeing the sites of the area.

Clean rooms and dated but clean bathrooms, nice communal areas. They had a Mexican food night when we were there which was really cheap and really good. They also had a good book-swap. Good, clean pool.

My only 'moan' would be that the undercover outdoor seating area was also the smoking area which made it really unpleasant to sit out there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Having been their in off peak season I enjoyed the fact that it was not very crowded and you could relax at the pool or in their hammocks in the sun.

Our double room was great value (60$) but was basic - a comfy bed but no extras like lockers, fridge or so. Not a big deal.

We were picked up from the Greyhound and our driver took us to a lookout point which was great and made us feel very special - easy and effective way to make guests happy.

I also took part in their Chili night which cost only 4$ and you could have tacos and rice from a buffet. Considering the fact that it was a random Monday I expect they have lots of activities and evenings planned for guests which is cool.

The location is not bad, opposite Coffs Creek and close to the Botanic Gardens, but it is true that it's a little walk into town. The beach is closer. They run a shuttle thrice a day to the city if can't be bothered walking.

They had a great book exchange and a nice kitchen and common area. The bathrooms were, like the rest of the hostel, exceptionally clean.

Room Tip: I just can say that Room 1 as a double room is probably not the best choice when the place is crowde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay_cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Nice friendly hostel, bit of a walk to shops and beach. Pet porpoise pool is brilliant! Big kitchen but few cooking hobs. Nice pool/BBQ area. Stayed in double room-very small and no lockers.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hostel is small and friendly with bright colours and a great atmosphere. There is a big kitchen and an area with a tv and lots of films. The staff are really helpful and will take you down to the river with a canoe for free. the only two negatives I have is one - that the hostel is off a main road which is inbetween the town and the beach so its not close to either, but still walking distance. There isnt any nightlife or anything like that, but the hostel makes up for it with activities. And two- we booked a double room ensuite but the bathroom wasnt attched to the room it was down the corridor? which defeats the point! But I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bright_ii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.1 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Motel
Caribbean Motel
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Observatory Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Coffs Harbour YHA
Coffs Harbour YHA
#15 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
150 reviews
2.4 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussitel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussitel Backpackers

Property: Aussitel Backpackers
Address: 312 Harbour Dr, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussitel Coffs Harbour Backpackers is owned and managed byCherie and Gary, with excellent staff to help you have a great time. It is a friendly, open place that many people have been happy to call home! It is busy, active and vibrant with exceptionally high standards of professional service. We keep up to date with all the latest developments and ensure we can offer you the best quality activities and prices available. Free Surfboards, Free Bodyboards, Free Surf Kayaks, Free Canoes, Free Stand Up Paddleboards, Free Snorkel Gear, Free Fishing Rods, Free WiFi in all areas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Aussitel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing