We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hostel, lots of fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aussitel Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“great hostel, lots of fun!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hostel is small and friendly with bright colours and a great atmosphere. There is a big kitchen and an area with a tv and lots of films. The staff are really helpful and will take you down to the river with a canoe for free. the only two negatives I have is one - that the hostel is off a main road which is inbetween the town and the beach so its not close to either, but still walking distance. There isnt any nightlife or anything like that, but the hostel makes up for it with activities. And two- we booked a double room ensuite but the bathroom wasnt attched to the room it was down the corridor? which defeats the point! But I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bright_ii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    29
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
30
43
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed for about 5 days in this hostel and it was not too bad. A lot of people that stayed at the hostel had a working holiday visa, so they stayed there for a while. This resulted in people forming groups, because they knew each other for a while. The first night I placed some food on top of my locker in stead of putting it in the kitchen and that night we immediately had a rat in our room.. The toilets and showers were OK, although I've seen cleaner ones on my trip. The hostel has a tv room, but the tv will be shut off around midnight. The location of the hostel is not too bad. It's about a half an hour walk from the centre of the town and about 15 minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wouter131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Wasn't expecting much from Coffs harbour but I loved this place! Free shuttle was waiting for us when we arrived and we went up to a viewpoint where they told us about what we could do during our stay!
Lots more to do than I thought and lots of the things are cheap! Bonus! Surf lessons are the cheapest I've seen anywhere.
Not too far to walk to town(about 20 minutes) but close to the beach and the botanic gardens. Also the hostel Will take you into town for free a coupla times a day.
The hostel organises free stuff to do everyday as well. We went canoeing one day and to the big banana another! Ended up staying for over a week.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p0mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I have stayed in so many places that don't have lockers but this one did. The hostel was generally ok but there isn't a lot to do in Coffs. All the hostels are located around a 40 minute from the centre of town. The shuttle bus is a welcome service from the bus stop.

The hostel is close to the beach which is good and also a river where you can kayak. The overall hostel wasn't amazing but I found the driver of the van friendly and also the guy who organised events. He was a cool guy and very friendly. I think a downfall of the hostel is that it continually shows films on the tv and people just vegetate in front of the tv.

Like others have said there is an odd mixture of residents here. Ranging from the young to the old. I didn't mind but it could be off putting for some. I would say the hostel is nice place but if you were going to go to to Coffs (the only thing is the beach) I might be inclined to pick the hostel that is on beach. Aussitel is good but is a good 10min walk to the sea. I like to review fairly so I will say that I wouldn't have any issues about returning to this hostel. It served it's purpose. The kitchen could do with a bit more cleaning and the tea towels were always dirty.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Never again, they have permanent residents here that are old and I think stay here so they can perv on young travellers, felt very unsafe

Room Tip: Stay at the Youth Hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed here for about 3 nights. pretty awful really. we wish we'd have gone to the YHA hostel up the road. its much better but there was a group of 4 of us and YHA was full.

check in was fine and friendly...

shown to our rooms; thought id been put in prison, very dingy with horrible mattresses and very small and hot. other facilities were poor.
kitchen was infested with ants and cockroaches and in need of a clean.
staff did try and keep on top of it to give them a bit of credit, and they weren't helped by some people not cleaning their pots but to shout at guests like they did to me telling them to clean up is unacceptable, especially when i had washed everything i had used.

also one of the staff stole a cup out of my room that i had just bought. saw him 20mins later drinking goon out of it. when i confronted him he was very rude and threw the empty cup at me.

Atmosphere other than the staff is actually really good. but stay at yha its better overall

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank globetrot87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed at this hostel one night. Had trouble finding the hostel as there was a sign pointing in the wrong direction that led us astray. We phoned to let reception know we'd be 15 minutes late. They stayed open the extra 15 minutes which was appreciated, but were very grumpy with us, informing us that making sure the signs were right "wasn't their responsibility." The hostel itself is a moderately clean facility with a great lounge area and a relaxed atmosphere. Rooms were not particularly clean however, and blankets smelt and looked like they had never been washed. This place has definite potential, but staff and cleanliness set it apart from the better choices. We spent our second night at Coffs Harbour YHA, which was more expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.1 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coffs Harbour YHA
Coffs Harbour YHA
#17 of 43 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Motel
Caribbean Motel
#6 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussitel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussitel Backpackers

Property: Aussitel Backpackers
Address: 312 Harbour Dr, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussitel Coffs Harbour Backpackers is owned and managed by Paul and Cath, with excellent staff to help you have a great time. It is a friendly, open place that many people have been happy to call home! It is busy, active and vibrant with exceptionally high standards of professional service. We keep up to date with all the latest developments and ensure we can offer you the best quality activities and prices available. Free Surfboards, Free Bodyboards, Free Surf Kayaks, Free Canoes, Free Stand Up Paddleboards, Free Snorkel Gear, Free Fishing Rods, Free WiFi in all areas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Aussitel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing