We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of credit card surcharge 3%”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aussitel Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
1 review
“Beware of credit card surcharge 3%”
Reviewed December 18, 2007

My stay at AUSSITEL COFFS HARBOUR was ok however I think travellers should be advised before they arrive that a three percent credit card surcharge applies

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drewmcc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    29
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
30
43
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2007

Love Aussitel, love Coffs Harbour! Over the past 11 years i've stayed 5 times and am going back in Feb 08. They are so friendly and welcoming, the dorms and communual areas are clean and spacious and the pool is a god-send! Its ideally located 10 min walk from beach & 15 min from town. Their bus goes into town 3 times a day, if you cant be bothered to walk. They have bikes, canoes, fishing gear and much more, most of which is provided free of charge. Coffs Creek opposite the hostel has some nice restaurants/cafes and some boutiques, next door to the hostel is a service station which supplies pretty much all day to day needs. Just towards town are the Botanical Gardens and 5 mins towards the beach is the Jetty area with many cafes/restaurants/shops & pub! Overall i love the place and would recomend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wobbler2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

A nice hostel, a little way out of town, but close to the jetty and the beach, so is ideal for water activites. There is also a pool.
The hostel is clean, with 3 showers each for each sex. The kitchen and communal areas are large with plenty of space so that you can also sit quietly.
The hostel organises a lot of activities, luckily those that start at the hostel in the early evening then go onto pubs so it doesn't get rowdy but feels social. Also lots of information regarding local tours and future hostels without ever feeling pushy.
Also free pick ups and drop offs to the bus station.
Overall we (30 odd year olds) felt very relaxed here whilst there were also enough activities for more sociable younger people.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jazzae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2006

Here's one nice little establishment. It's a great place for budget travellers and backpackers and certainly an above average hostel.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Washrooms are plentiful and decently clean, but some of my friends experienced a plumbing problem in the ladies. There's a small swimming pool (I didn't get to use it though), internet service (at a price), vending machines, pool table and lots of information boards. There's a nice open-air dining/interaction area too. Too bad there are no personal lockers in the rooms.

Didn't get to interact much with the staff 'coz it was just a hit-and-run 1-night stay, but they seemed friendly and helpful enough.

In terms of location, it's situated in a quiet and peaceful location, about a 10min drive to the city center.

All in all, a comfortable place to stay and absolutely value-for-money.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lminhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.1 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Motel
Caribbean Motel
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coffs Harbour YHA
Coffs Harbour YHA
#15 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Observatory Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Pacific Marina Apartments
Pacific Marina Apartments
#9 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussitel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussitel Backpackers

Property: Aussitel Backpackers
Address: 312 Harbour Dr, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussitel Coffs Harbour Backpackers is owned and managed by Paul and Cath, with excellent staff to help you have a great time. It is a friendly, open place that many people have been happy to call home! It is busy, active and vibrant with exceptionally high standards of professional service. We keep up to date with all the latest developments and ensure we can offer you the best quality activities and prices available. Free Surfboards, Free Bodyboards, Free Surf Kayaks, Free Canoes, Free Stand Up Paddleboards, Free Snorkel Gear, Free Fishing Rods, Free WiFi in all areas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aussitel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing