We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it looks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed June 12, 2012

On the 9th of June until the 11th me and my partner stayed here. It was a long weekend and still the prices were fantastic. We Stayed in a king spa room, with chocolates and champagne on arrival all for just $310 for the two nights!!! We were stunned at the niceness of our room after driving up to it and basing our opinion on the outside but we were more than pleasantly surprised. When we first arrived we were treated by a gentleman on reception who was very welcoming. We later went to reception for information and the keys to play squash and to go into the gym but the lady at reception did not have access to them. She apologized profusely and was absolutely lovely. That night we dined in the restaurant which was very nice, on Fridays and Saturday nights it's a two for one meal. An entree, two mains and two spirits cost us less than $50 for the both of us and both of our meals were delicious (barramundi and roast lamb). we had breakfast in the restaurant both mornings which was a buffet for $15 per person. This was also delicious and very well priced. Will definitely go back!!! Thank you to the dinner waitress, the lovely house keeper and the nicest receptionist we could've hoped for. I work at a 4.5 star hotel myself and our room was definitely up to this standard. I will recommend the sanctuary resort for sure. Well worth looking past the outside.. The only thing I would recommend is a better dinner menu with a few more choices of meals.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank leish s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin O, Manager at Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your Weekend Getaway Spa package ! Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 279 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

We're from the USA and my wife and I went to Australia for three weeks. While we were with friends from OZ for the first two weeks, the last week was a totally unscripted driving trip from Brisbane to Sydney. Therefore, we made no reservations ahead of time, opting to find a place depending of where we were by late afternoon.

We stopped and made the reservation online, using my laptop computer on the hood of the car. The GPS took us right there and as we entered the drive up the hill, she remarked "this place looks kinda old" and I responded, "yeah I think you're right".

OK, the exterior looks dated somewhat but what a surprise when we got to our room. The inside was decorated and furnished to Marriott or Hyatt standards in our opinion. All of the furnishing appeared to be brand new. And a big plus, the room was very well lighted.

Our biggest complaint to date had been most of the rooms we stayed in prior to this had lousy dim lighting making it hard to even read a book. We did not find our room lacking for anything and the bath area was spotless. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept well.

The managers, Kevin and Dee could not have been more welcoming and friendly. We ordered room service from the restaurant and it was delivered within 15 minutes by a cheerful young lady.

Breakfast in the adjacent restaurant the next morning, either cooked or supervised by Dee, was excellent. Dee even took us out on the deck veranda to show us her "possum house" with a yet unnamed small ringtail possum. We even got a picture !

My only suggestion for Kevin would be to eventually have a remote control A/C Heat unit installed as it is a long reach up to turn it on.

Our only less than 5 rating (location) is dealing with the raised median on Pacific Highway if you miss the turn into the The Sanctuary you have to go down the road to make a U-Turn which is a challenge for a driver from the USA. Not a complaint but an annoyance as I did it a couple of times.

Overall we could not be happier with our choice in Coffs Harbor. Thanks to Kevin and Dee for a wonderful lodging experience.

Room Tip: Upper room with a balcony but that's just our preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georgia-Travelers-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin O, Manager at Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope you returned to the U.S with good memories of Australia. The possum is still unnamed but we think he has a girlfriend so there could be a whole family that will need naming. Once again thank you for your comments it is nice to know that all our efforts , from all staff , are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed in one of the King Rooms. My wife had a great stay. Staff were friendly and the room was clean and spacious. Great furniture. Thank you. We will be back.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rotech70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin O, Manager at Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thankyou for your comments.
We look forward to seeing you again when you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Just your average motel. Nothing really to complain about. Service could be a little more friendly / happier. and there was no aircon / heater in the room. Just a ceiling fan.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin O, Manager at Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Thankyou for your comments. I am surprised & disapointed that you felt the staff could be more friendly. Staff are asked to smile & make conversation with all guests.This is obviuosly an area that requires more of my attention. Thank you. All rooms have air con. In some rooms a curtain might be needed to be moved so as to see it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We travel to Coffs Harbour quite a number of times a year but were definately disappointed with the so called "RESORT" on arrival we were barely greeted by the rude reception worker and our room had apparently been upgraded and recently refurbished the rooms were really small with not alot of room to move it may well have been revamped but they weren't very clean with dirty coffee cup marks on the table still there and it was like the cup had just been placed back in the cupboard unwashed. We proceeded to dine in the restaurant which was also a mistake for the price of the meals they were well undersized and for a family to afford to dine out very rarely I'd sooner have gotten a take away from KFC..Unfortunately I can say I wont stay here again or recommend it to others..Perhaps I can suggest an upgrade on their personalitys..Also the position of the establishment is really bad to get to with it not being very accessable...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin O, Manager at Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Thankyou for your comments. We are sorry the property did not meet your requirements.
As far as the "dirty coffee cup marks on the table " are concerned closer inspection would have revealed that they are marks from persons placing hot drinks on solid timber table without due consideration as to what effect they would have. The dirty coffee cup could have been rectified straight away if management was notified , at the time, & allowed the opportunity to correct it instead of a posting being made weeks after the effents.
In regards to the "rude receptionist" this may have been under the previous management & if it was not without a name or a description we cannot take the appropiate action to rectify such a matter.
Pictures of all our rooms are posted on our website & other booking websites which clearly indicate room sizes. It is subjective what one persons regards as small , large or adequate.
Meal sizes , even under the previous management, are generous & is a subjective not constructive comment. Also it is a restaurant so you cannot expect to get KFC pricing on meals.
Once again we thank you for your subjective comments & we are sure that , under the new management, your next stay would be more enjoyable if you decide to try us again.
We welcome all comments be they good or bad so we can continue to improve the property & ensure that each guests stay is a pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My family and I stayed here in January 20012. The room was spotless, newly decorated and was presented better than many four star hotels we have stayed in.
The staff were very accommodating and I will certainly stay here again when I am in Coffs Harbour. You would not be disappointed staying here!!!

Room Tip: Make sure your not in the family section as the connecting rooms do not block out the noise of any s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pillazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

when we walked into our roon it was spotless! After previously staying in 5 star 6 star hotel we have 2 admit it was really nice 2 be greeted & the service & food was fantastic! Great for the family as well! Love love love. Recommended highly especially for families. recommended from a event planner!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#12 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Motor Inn
Premier Motor Inn
#15 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Zebra Motel
Best Western Zebra Motel
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn

Address: 250 Pacific Hwy, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $78 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Resort is set back from the highway amongst natural bushland. Ideally located within minutes drive from the Airport, CBD, Hospital, International Stadium & Industrial Areas. Sanctuary Resort has 38 Spacious Rooms all with Air-Conditioning, Austar & Wireless Broadband. Our Licensed Restaurant & Bar are open Mon-Sat. We have a 15 metre Swimming Pool with a Waterslide + Tennis & Squash Courts.The Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn also offers practical and economical conference facilities ideal for seminars and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing