We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than expected!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

My family and I stayed here in January 20012. The room was spotless, newly decorated and was presented better than many four star hotels we have stayed in.
The staff were very accommodating and I will certainly stay here again when I am in Coffs Harbour. You would not be disappointed staying here!!!

Room Tip: Make sure your not in the family section as the connecting rooms do not block out the noise of any s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pillazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    69
    59
    32
    24
See reviews for
61
94
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

when we walked into our roon it was spotless! After previously staying in 5 star 6 star hotel we have 2 admit it was really nice 2 be greeted & the service & food was fantastic! Great for the family as well! Love love love. Recommended highly especially for families. recommended from a event planner!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is AT BEST a 2 star accomodation with a price of a 4 star. My family paid $185 for one night at this run down over priced inn with an unpleasant owner/manager to match. I don't wish to waste my time even writing about this place, honestly FORGET IT.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin O, Manager at Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

We have just recently taken over the management of this property & I think you will find the pricing much more realistic & the rooms much more appealing.

All rooms have been fully renovated & there is no more "run down over priced inn with an unpleasant manager"

So don't sleep in your car contact us & we will make sure you are well looked after if you would like to give us a second chance.

Look forward to hearing from you,
Kevin & Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Very nicely appointed rooms. Little balcony adds to the room. We were in room 5 which is on the ground floor with brand new finishing and a very comfortable queen size bed. Didn't try the food or pool on site but both seemed clean.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marc_natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

There is a lot of choice in kitchy motels in Coffs Harbour to catch the people using the place as a mid point stop between Brisbane & Sydney. This one fits the bill of reasonably priced and adequate levels of comfort to get you through the night. It's a little bit out of the center of town so you will have to drive to find food for dinner.

Check-in process was straight forward. Key was an actual key (I've been staying in big corporate chains for too long now). Hiking the suitcases up the stairs to our room was a bit of a pain but really it's only two flights of stairs.

The room itself is large and a bit of an echo. The weather was bit humid and so was causing a bit of wet smell. Turning on the fan & air conditioner kept it at bay in the room.. although had no effect on the bathroom. The bathroom itself was functional. The bedding was reasonably comfortable. Sounds from the nearby highway could not be heard.

Overall it works perfectly well for a single night stop over. I would look elsewhere if you are looking for a nicer vacation like experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caehlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

I booked 2 rooms for a quick overnight stay in Coffs on our way up to Brisbane. My parents were given their own room downstairs and my children and myself were across the other end of the property. So far so good. We only slept overnight and left before breakfast. Upon checking out I was asked if we used anything in the minibars. The answer was "no". This is where the problem starts.
Upon checking my credit card account a couple of days later I see that Sanctuary Resort had billed me an extra $57.00. I thought this was merely an error so I rang them, only to be told that several mixed alcoholic drinks were missing from my parents room. My parents are diabetic! They DO NOT drink alcoholic spirits or even soft drinks!!!!! This fell on deaf ears. I was told by the person on the phone that he personally replaced the drinks that day before our arrival and if we didnt take them then we may have left the room unattended and someone had snuck in and taken the drinks!!! The room was never left unattended during our short stay so I can only guess that the drinks were taken before our late arrival or after we left. He says it was not one of his staff. Well I am adamant it was not one of us .... He then went on to strongly point out that when we registered and signed out we signed a responsibility for any and all things missing in the minibars. So regardless of who may have taken the alcoholic drinks, we were still responsible to pay for it! How about their responsiblitiy for the security of their rooms? .....so if you choose to stay there I would strongly suggest you check the secruity of your room and the property and also check your minibar contents when you arrive and have them check it in front of you before you leave. It is very upsetting to be accused of something you did not do and charged for something you did not take.
I am very disappointed in our experience and the attitude of the people at this place and shall never stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevilleCoffsHarbour, Manager at Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
I totally agree that guests should be more aware of room security all our guests are asked to read the conditions on our checkin form and sign.

Our policy and conditions are ::

No Dogs, Smoking or cooking is allowed in rooms. If this is not adheared to a $200.00 cleaning fee will be charged to your Credit Card. Also any incidentals not paid for (eg breakfast, phone calls, dinners, damage to rooms or property, missing linen or other items & items from the mini bar) will also be charged to your credit card.

And after 10 years in this business some peoples security still never ceases to amaze me leaving room doors open when they check out or just out of the room for a short time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed 2 nights with my wife sept.2011 in a newly renovated 4 star King room. This room was upstairs I prefer down none left. Plesently supprized with restaurant recomend the Balmain Bugs or the Surf and turf Steak,Breaky on my private balcony with views all the way out to sea was great.Enjoyed tennis , sauna and great hospitality...

Room Tip: Rooms Opp.Restaurant better...bigger..parking handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#12 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Matador Motor Inn
Matador Motor Inn
#11 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.9 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Zebra Motel
BEST WESTERN Zebra Motel
#10 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn

Property: Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn
Address: 250 Pacific Hwy, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Resort is set back from the highway amongst natural bushland. Ideally located within minutes drive from the Airport, CBD, Hospital, International Stadium & Industrial Areas. Sanctuary Resort has 38 Spacious Rooms all with Air-Conditioning, Austar & Wireless Broadband. Our Licensed Restaurant & Bar are open Mon-Sat. We have a 15 metre Swimming Pool with a Waterslide + Tennis & Squash Courts.The Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn also offers practical and economical conference facilities ideal for seminars and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sanctuary Resort Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing