We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn City Centre
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Somersby, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and very comfortable”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed here many times and recently tried another spot on referal but found it did not compare to the Quality Inn. This is my preferred business stop and on this trip i had what appeared to be a newly referbished room (there was nothing wrong with the previous rooms i have had here either) and it was spotless.
The bed was very very comfortable, reliable free wireless broadband, great central location, free movie/sport channels, clean bathroom with a walk in screen-less shower featuring a monsoon shower head (large round type) and even shaving cream supplied via dispenser at the vanity.
All the usual things supplied for tea and coffee etc, good iron and ironing board and an on site restaurant (menu a bit limited) and a special travellers menu with good quick meals a good prices is a noce touch. I felt like a curry so ate out and cant vouch for the food.
I will not stray again and this si the pick of the places in Coffs i have seen.

Room Tip: All rooms I have had are clean and comfy. Highway noise may affect the multi story rooms along the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorseLoverBDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw and we appreciate the time you have taken to make comments about all areas of our hotel. Our team are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you in the future. Perhaps you may like to stay in the same room next time, we will do our utmost to accommodate any requests.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    84
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
30
63
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading some of the positive reviews and am left disappointed.

This hotel is located right a busy main intersection at Coffs Harbour. This is really important to know as it is almost right on the Pacific Highway (main road between Sydney and Brisbane) at an intersection. The Interstate trucks stop and start here at the lights throughout the night I had a very poor sleep as a result.

The double glazed windows do not help much with the highway noise. The facility is shaped in a U with all of the room windows facing the Highway.

Its the first hotel coming into Coffs Harbour right on this busy intersection, but if you go further into Coffs Harbour you will find plenty more accommodation places at better locations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relaxingtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw, we take all comments from our guests seriously and endevour to find solutions. We do recognise that traffic noise is an issue in certain rooms at the property and we are undertaking further capital works to solve this.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

after travelling from Hervey Bay in Queensland and looking for somewhere to stay the night googled for somewhere decent and the Quality Inn popped up, decided to stay, well worst mistake of my holiday, dated room from the 70's, TV was updated but was so bad that the picture quality was crap, the bathroom was so old and dated had the shampoo and conditioner dispenser nailed to the wall, kind of like the personal touch with the little bottles so i know no one else has used them... was situated next to the Pacific Highway so you heard all the trucks motoring through... couldn't get out of there quick enough in the morning, would be a nice place to stay if i wanted to die.... or I was 70+ dont take grandma there she will hate you!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, we take seriously all comments made by our guests. All our rooms have been rated four stars by AAA authority so I would dispute your 70's comments. Nothing in any of our rooms is "nailed to the wall" and our TV's are LCD digital and picture quality is checked daily, so I am unsure why there was an issue. Our will team respond imediatley to any guest issue and if this was a problem I am puzzled as to why you never reported it.

Traffic noise in certain rooms is a continuing challenge for us and we are commencing another capital works program to counteract this.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed here monthly now for about a year after trying almost all the others but this is the cleanest and nicest there is for the price. Good quality service, meals and cleanliness is what you want for business so this suits well. I asked other reps and this is where they all stay. Not the cheapest but you will see why. Anywhere in Coffs you still get a little road noise - even Opal Cove near the water but these are double glazed so it is good. Just got cool new proximity door locks so i won't lock myself out and new rain shower heads. Only problem is they have flow restrictors on them and hard to get a good warm flow and noisy water early in the morning results. I would gladly pay an extra $1 a night for no restrictors! Also, every morning I get 2 welcoming sanitary bags on my washer in the bathroom. Surely they know I am male by now - how about mints instead??

Room Tip: Most rooms are great - get the Travellers menu in your room or ask for it in the restaurant - Chicke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busytraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Your feedback does make a difference. With regard to our new rainfall showerheads, it seems they come with a restrictor and we will be removing this in the very near future.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I staying again in this motel last night, and yet again it reinforced why I like the Quality Inn. It is located off the Highway on a road parallel to the Highway, but quiet. I had a room on the first floor at the rear and found to my surprise the windows facing the hotel front were double glazed. The rear window and balcony of my room also provided a great view of the hinterland to the west.
I ate dinner in the motel restaurant yet again and enjoyed the seafood entree, and as a main the local fish of the day - well presented and both reasonably priced. The quality of the restaurant food remains very good, however I think the only failing is the pricing of the wines. I realise that a markup on wine is a necessity, however to see a bottle of white wine priced at $30+ on the restaurant menu which can be purchased in the nearby bottle shop for just over $10 is sobering. I personally think the wine prices could be scaled back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper level in the rear block with a western balcony for a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pittjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw, We are very pleased you continue to enjoy staying us. We purchase our wine via wholesalers, it's becoming more evident that retailers such as Dan Murphys can sell the same product cheaper than our wine merchants. I recognise that this is an issue and thank you for bringing it further to our attention.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were en route from Noosa to Sydney and knew we would want to stop somewhere on the way. We rang about an hour before arrival and were quite happy to be offered the new/newly renovated apartment at the front of the property. We arrived and after a very friendly reception, easily made our way upstairs to a very large and welcoming apartment with two bedrooms and a bathroom for the three (adults) of us.
There was plenty of space and the apartment looked and felt, fresh and very clean.
We explored Coffs Harbour that evening and ate out.
We joined everyone for breakfast in the dining room, where there was an extensive display, with the option of either a normal breakfast with cereal and toast, or a hot meal, both at reasonable prices.
All in all a very pleasant stay in an easy to find location and, notwithstanding the main road - it was very quiet.

Room Tip: If there are more than two of you and you need two bedrooms, don't be concerned about taking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinLeChaudLapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I appreciate the time you have taken to write about your stay with us. I am also very pleased you have had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Arrived mid-afternoon to few vacancies in Coff's Harbour. Quality Inn had a large King left at A$200/night--quite pricey for a motel. Our bath window mechanism was broken. We couldn't close the window which opened onto very noisy intersecting roads. We reported it, and went out. Upon return, we were told it couldn't be fixed due to a rusted mechanism. Staff suggested we put a towel along the bath door to shut out some of the noise. We stayed 2 nights and thought the window would be fixed the next day. Not so. Our guess is that the rust indicated a longer term problem; and the staff acted so surprised when we reported it! (The open window also let bugs into the room. Because of the inconvenience of having to move the towel to use the bathroom, we ended up stuffing a towel around the opening in the window itself. Not a great solution, but better than nothing). The resulting noise was an issue which interfered with sleep.

The bath had a rainfall showerhead that also needed maintenance. It had poor water pressure and just offered a trickle of water to try to rinse shampoo and soap. Temperature control was also not working properly and had to be constantly readjusted.

On the plus side, the room (with the exception of bugs from the open window) was very clean and apparently recently refurbished. The bed was very comfortable. We had a delicious dinner at the motel's restaurant one evening. Other than the noisy roads, the motel is well-located for activities in Coff's Harbour and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourWinds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. The window your are referring to is a small ventilation window in the bathroom that we had difficulty closing other than a 3cm gap. All our showers have rainfall heads which were installed six months ago, your comment was the first one that was not positive during this time. As you have made complaints about the above as well as the price I am puzzled as to why you entended your stay (which you failed to mention) after the first night if you were not happy. I can only assume you have over dramatised these issues.

Regards
Michael Dougerty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
3.3 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#10 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Zebra Motel
Best Western Zebra Motel
#12 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn City Centre

Property: Quality Inn City Centre
Address: 22 Elizabeth St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Inn City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location ! Location !, 300m to city centre, shopping, clubs and restuarants. Hotel style, King spa and apartment accommodation. Fox sports, free movie channels, licensed restaurant and bar, room service and breakfast buffet daily.2009, 2010, and 2011 Chamber of Commerce award for "Best Accommodation Coffs Coast". AAA rated four star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing