We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Have visited the Big Windmill several times since last July and we are staying there now. It was good before but it is becoming excellent. A great deal of renovation to the rooms has been done and the result is splendid. The place is pet friendly, there is free WiFi, which I am using now, a restaurant on site (which is a reason we like it here after a long drive) and the young friendly couple are willing to please. Our breakfast will be delivered to our room in the morning and a packed lunch to go for our onward journey is another great service. And the price is good too. We will be back next week on our return journey.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms in the front and rear without any problems. We are a retired couple from UK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Now that’s great use of the free Wifi, thank you for the review.
We look forward to your next visit, also if you have the caravan on the back and feel like a room for the night you are more than welcome, as you know we have plenty of parking space and often have long term travellers with vans looking for a night in a room for a change.

Travels safe and see you next time,


Beau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 272 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I'm in Sales, I spend no less than 2 weeks out of every month "on the road" - so, stay in ALOT of motels.
Have never been happy with any of the places I have stayed in Coffs - until now ! Finally I have found my new "home away from home" in Coffs.
Lovely owners, awesome refurbished room, quiet location, great food, comfy bed, and hot shower. Nothing to complain about !
If I am to be really, really picky - the internet dropped in and out a bit, but not enough to be a problem - plus it is free, which is quite rare these days.
Will definately be back on my next trip to Nth NSW !

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Brooke140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you!! And welcome to your home away from home ..........this is what we strive for and are so happy to hear of you positive review, next time your onsite please call should you have Wifi issues and I will personally troubleshoot the issue for you.

Look forward to meeting soon,


Beau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Dated, but it's clean and more then sufficient. Great place to stop over from sydney to brisbane. Pets are allowed, and my dog had a comfortable stay! There is an off leash park not to far away which is great for a quick run for the dog

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Specopspaintball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks for your review, "Dated" our renovated rooms, with new beds, TV, triple sheeting, bed coverings, furniture, desk, appliances, floor coverings and fresh paint have made a difference and were completed prior to your stay, now that’s fresh!
However our original "but clean" bathrooms are next on this list for refurbishment.

I hope to welcome you back to a completed room in the future.


Best wishes



Beau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

While it looks dated on the outside when you drive past, the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and have been renovated and it was pet friendly with dog bowl provided and a friendly note. There is a grassed area at the very back we let our dog run around on (on leash). We had an enjoyable overnight stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your review,

We say old world charm, our property was built in 1968 with the remaining rooms completed in 1984, with our windmill being the real attraction, however we do have renovated rooms and continue to keep our rooms to standard, as kindly noted in your review.

We are glad you git to travel with your furry friend and look forward to welcoming you back.


Regards,


Beau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was with a coach party some members of which were less agile than myself. The young manager met the coach and transported some older members and their luggage to their rooms in a golf buggy - a nice touch. I was alone in room 22, the décor was very dated and the alarm clock impossible to understand. I was woken up twice in the night by the toilet cistern filling. The bottom seal in the cistern was leaking and it felt the need to top itself up every 90 minutes. I fixed it by turning the main tap off.
We had both dinner and lunch in the restaurant. Both meals were excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. The bar prices were a bit sporadic. I had 2 glasses of Shiraz at dinner. The first cost $7.50, the second was $6.00. The glasses were small and the lady next to me also had a glass of the same wine, large glass $7.50. Ho, Hum!
I obtained the Wi-Fi password from the friendly receptionist, and, although the signal seemed fair, I could not get a lock on either my mobile, my tablet or my laptop. It is possible that Unit 22 was out of range or badly positioned. If Internet connection is essential I would suggest a mobile "Dongle", mine obtained 4 bars on the 4G network.
The young couple managing the facility are proud new parents and I wish them well in their endeavours. Whilst not exactly a "Renovator' s Delight", I think they have a lot ahead of themselves.

Room Tip: Some rooms, I believe, have been renovated. Try to get one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithCarr-Glynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your review, we welcome a large amount of coaches to the property each year with great success.

Our refurbishment has been a delight to deliver to the customers with a real positive response, and we look forward to the rest of the upgrades as they are completed this year, including the room you stayed in. The toilet and alarm clock have been addressed.

We proudly stock in excess of 30 wines in our bar with three different shiraz wines and blends also available, this said I would say our bar staff have supplied you with a different Shiraz for each order as the prices quoted denote this, the glass size does vary dependant on the wine type or blend this however does not reflect different volumes we strictly adhere to our liquor guidelines with serving sizes, I trust this clears the situation for you also please at any stage approach your waitress should you have any questions on how wines are served at the time?

Our Wifi has three stations placed around our four acre property with a booster to add for signal strength we were sorry your devices could not log into the network despite other guests successes. Our Wifi had been upgraded in early 2013 with a coverage that covers surrounding businesses.

Regards

Beau

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed overnight and we love it. The access was very easy and very close from downtown. The room was perfect, the bed was super comfortable and we had a nice big tv. We had a good swim in a pool and even had a relaxing moment in the spa. I would recommend the place any giving time.

Regards
Dan and Rory

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Dan and Rory,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, The Windmill team works hard and really appreciates the great feedback.

Looking forward to meeting you again this time we will save the table on the atrium for you.


See you next time,


Beau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The check in was faultless. The room was clean comfortable and well presented, although the one we had had not yet been renovated it was quite good although a little dated. The bed was comfy and everything worked like it should. The only point that I should make is that although they had a big pile of breakfast menu's on the check-in counter, as I had read another reviewer's glowing comments about the breakfasts in the dining room we decided to utilise that. However it was closed and had been for sometime. They now do room service breakfasts instead. When I raised this with management they were mortified as they had gone to a lot of effort to alter the breakfast options on websites. It was at that point that I realised I had only read about the breakfast room in a TA Review. So folks there is no breakfast room you get room service instead.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the motel are significantly quieter than those nearer the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn Big Windmill, as a continuously operational property we are refurbishing the property in stages with 31 of 41 rooms now completed, with bathrooms being the next area to focus on, through out 2014.

Wishing you a happy New Year!

Regards,


Beau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
201 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,877 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Motor Inn
Premier Motor Inn
#15 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel

Address: 168 Pacific Hwy S | North Boambee Valley, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $66 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor pool and an onsite restaurant, The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel is located in Coffs Harbour, NSW. Free WiFi access and free parking are available. We are an easy 4-minute drive from Coffs Harbour Golf Club, a 9-minute drive from Coffs Harbour Airport and a 13-minute drive from The Big Banana. It is a 5km drive to the nearest beach – Coffs Harbour boasts a plethora of natural beauty from the paddocks of Nana Glen, to the rivers of Bellingen and of course the many popular surfing destinations. As our valued guest you can relax in your own air-conditioned room and perhaps watch the latest digital Foxtel show on your in-room flat-screen TV. All rooms also include an electric kettle, mini refrigerator and a private bathroom with complimentary toiletries. You can prepare lunch using the communal BBQ facilities located in the Pool area. The Edelweiss Bavarian Restaurant offers dinner nightly from 5.30pm except on Sundays and Public Holidays, reservations are recommended. Room service is available for your convenience. Our Breakfast Cafe serves a delicious buffet breakfast every morning which is a perfect way to start your day before heading on to your next destination. We look forward to seeing you here at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing