We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dishonest dealings” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Big Windmill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dishonest dealings”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I attempted to book this hotel directly by phone. The rate available on hotelscombined.com, and on this hotel's own webiste was 99 for the night I was interested in. The hotel however wanted to sell me a room that was $250. When I asked to get the $99 room, which I said was available on their website at the time of the call, I was told they would call me back. In the 5 minutes I waited for their call, they updated the price on their webiste to $140 and then called me and said they had not done anything to their site at all and that this was the price. I explained they were dishonest with me and would not be getting my business. Trouble is, the lower price is still available on a number of other booking sites on hotelscombined.com. In any event, I will not be booking this hotel, as it seems they will engage in dishonest actions to rip you off. That is a shame, as I recall this place fondly from previous stays. Bad management can make a big difference and drive customers away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ok k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Big Windmill, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
This review unfortunately shows the major flaw in Trip Advisor, the fact that someone can review in such a way that it is in effect an attack of character, our management has tried to get Trip Advisor to remove this lie fueled nonsense without success, the impact on a team that strives to offer the best service with pride and integrity is huge we take such accusations personally and understand the dangerous legal implications such accusations can create!!

The review does not for a moment reflect what happened our relief managers had told you that if you found the room for the particular price claimed online then book it now, therefore if you legitimately found this price for the set date why did you not book it?? Because it never existed that’s why; Secondly we did not try to up sell you the room for the prices mentioned we do not have rooms on the property at the figures you quote in your review!? Our staff did search the web to see if there were rooms available on the dates requested at the rates mentioned and they were not available due to it being a holiday period.
Of biggest concern is the false accusation that we went onto sites to change the rates, the fact is this is technically impossible to do on our property especially in the time frame you claim, our system has one main channel that takes the rates and availability, this is fed to all websites if and when a change is made it affects all rates and sites simultaneously, making your claim impossible.

We will do our best to assist customers with the best rates the right rooms and service that applies to their needs, however as a guest if you cannot search for the correct date field and or book a room at a rate that suits we cannot assist you any more, what we take extreme exception to is the false claims made, because you didn’t get your way, think how you and your team would feel with a false review based on not understanding how to book a room?



Regards,

The Big Windmill Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    107
    37
    7
    3
See reviews for
68
63
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at the Big Windmill back in January and found the room to be quite spacious and comfortable. It is a motel so I didn't expect five star luxury but I felt that I received more than fair value.

The restaurant was good - an interesting design. It is large with a very high ceiling and has a banquet/meeting room up stairs. The food was good and the service prompt and friendly.

I didn't take any pictures at the motel but have included a couple of the harbour.

Room Tip: a room towards the back leave a bit of a trek to the restaurant but it does eliminate any concern ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Big Windmill, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello Terry,

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

In regards to the distance between the restaurant and back rooms we now have a four person buggy with luggage tray for your convince (and mine) this has been a great addition to the property.


Regards,


Beau Gutry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having stayed at the Big Windmill a number of times over the years, when I had to make a last minute reservation I did not hesitate to book my room. My brother had stayed there last year and also recommended the motel and restaurant. All staff were very happy and friendly, the room was very good with a new bed and pillows. I had the best night's sleep I've had in a motel in many years. The restaurant, despite not having a huge menu, was excellent and well priced.

The only negative is no under cover parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the road, although other rooms are not a problem. Leave the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Big Windmill, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello Bruce

Thank you for the review, our team always appreciates the feedback.

Our new bedding has been noted by our recent guests and makes for a comfy stay after a long drive!

We look forward to catching up with you both on your return visit.

Kind regards,

Beau Gutry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Dinner in restaurant very enjoyable. loved the history of the building. Definately stay there again.Some minor work needs to be done in the room. eg table base needs painting. No noise from traffic. Breakfast in our room very genorous and delicious

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimaroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Big Windmill, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, The Big Windmill has a great history and story, which continues to delight our guests.
I am pleased to announce the refurbishment of our rooms with the addition of new furniture which I am sure you will appreciate upon your return.

Kind regards,


Beau Gutry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent one night here on our way up the coast from Sydney. We have stayed many times. There are new owners, a nice young couple. Our room was the Executive King Deluxe and we were very happy. There was plenty of room to move, a large TV and a kitchenette with tea and coffee making equipment. Bathroom was roomy, but shower is small and has curtain which clings. Water was hard and hot, just needed after a day on the road. Everything was very clean and tidy and this impressed us.
On the down side, we always love our breakfast in the breakfast room, but this was very disorganised and late in being arranged. Room was open, but no food ready, which meant we were delayed being able to leave.
Would highly recommend the Windmill and sure they will get the breakfast time sorted out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joybell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Big Windmill, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mrs Bell,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you have enjoyed your stays with us.
The property prides itself on the highest standards of cleanliness and commitment to service, this said we take on your notes regarding the shower curtains, which will be replaced as part of our exciting room refurbishment currently under way.
I do apologise the breakfast café was not ready for your arrival, we do open at 6;30am Monday to Saturday and from 7:00am on a Sunday. We were reassured by yourself on the day it was no issue we are then sorry to hear it impacted your departure.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

On checking in we found the motel has new owner/managers and Beau told us about plans he has for updating the property to make it more European! I thought Holland was a part of Europe. We had a budget room which was quite comfortable and clean however the bathroom is dated. There was an awful drain smell in our room so Beau came and sprayed the bathroom and drains... apparently they have had problems with the plumbing. To his credit he offered to put us in another room but we did not want to move and the spray seemed to work. Breakfast was ok but there was a $3 tray charge for having it in our room. We had dinner in the windmill and enjoyed our Beefstuk as always. Plenty of space for parking outside the rooms and there is even a place to wash your windscreen etc. Driving south there is not a righthand turn into the motel so you need to go down to the next set of traffic lights, turn right then do a u turn to get back on the highway going north. All staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Big Windmill, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Jan,

Further to our first response via phone, We can now announce the start of our new refurbishment of rooms 1-10 as well as a new menu that features a wider European cuisine and our Dutch special menu!

We will continue to proudly carry our Dutch heritage making for a unique stay!


Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our room had a queen bed and two singles, there was also a table and chairs. We were in a room towards the back away from the main road so noise wasn't too bad.

The room was clean and fairly priced, we'd definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Big Windmill, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we are delighted you have enjoyed your room and service.
The Comfort Inn Big Windmill team look forward to greeting you again in our new reception and business centre.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.9 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#12 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.8 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Big Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Big Windmill

Property: Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Address: 168 Pacific Hwy S, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 Family Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Big Windmill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Big Windmill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing