We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice restaurant not a fast food”
Review of Gai Thai

Gai Thai
Ranked #120 of 214 Restaurants in Coffs Harbour
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, nice restaurant not a fast food”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Went to see first the two other Thai restaurants which looked like fast food joints, we wanted a real restaurant and found it at Gai Thai. Lovely dining room overlooking a peaceful internal courtyard, so much nicer than the cramped Pacific highway view available elsewhere. Service was pleasant and food was good and traditional Thai.

Helpful?
1 Thank Samba75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    9
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not impressed”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

After extensively trying to find a nice Thai restaurant in coffs my friend and myself were so disappointed after reading such rave reviews on this site. A Wednesday night 3 other small groups poor service we were just about to leave when they finally decided to take our order, food was below average. Steamed dim sims dry and tasteless, pad Thai average my friend so did not enjoy her meal either.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Victoria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our trip to Coffs Harbour was topped off with an excellent meal. The service from Carl was prompt and always with a smile. The food was fantastic and they even catered for our kids with nuggets, chips and ice cream. All the meals we had were good and reasonably priced. The fried icecream was an excellent way to top off the meal. A great experience for the whole family and highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sticks1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Yum!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Excellent meal. We have both travelled to thailand and really enjoyed our food. Yum!!!! Had chicken curry and drunken beef. Friendly staff. Reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“once is good, and once so and so”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

i do not know how to rate this one, as once i went and it was excellent, another time i went and it was so and so, how can you rate when food fluctuate between the high and low????

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mummajumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gai Thai also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Gai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing