We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped -Off”

Surf Club Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #6 of 215 Restaurants in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Casual, family friendly & the perfect place to take nan for a special lunch overlooking the islands and ocean. Breakfast on the beachside deck is magic :) We open at night by arrangement for private functions, weddings & parties where you have the entire venue to yourself from 5.30pm until midnight. We also have a purpose built conference/meeting room for use Monday to Friday with full AV facilities and views of the beach!!
Forster, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ripped -Off”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I went for lunch and we had entrees and mains. The entrees off the specials blackboard and one main off the standard menu and the other off the Blackboard Special
When the entrees arrived they were supposed to be Thai Prawn Rolls with NamJing Sauce (3) we received some type of Spring Rolls with Chilli sauce (2).
Then a waitress came out and stated "that there was no whiting with sesame seed coating and that we could have Tempura Barramundi or John Dory (this meal was supposed to be on the specials board) Lucky I had mine off the standard menu.
The food was average with no great flavours. I must also relay that when paying upfront for the meal the cashier realised that she had only charged me for standard Spring Rolls and proceeded to add an extra $14.50 to the bill.
Upon leaving I checked the menu and realised that we had been given the standard Spring Rolls and charged for the Prawn Thai Rolls.
So, average food and a cashier you cant add up and service that was ordinary.
The best part of the meal was the view...but I doubt I will be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiga01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    171
    42
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Passing through Coffs on an overnighter we ventured here for breakfast. Great views over surf beach, friendly staff and brilliant breakfasts. Family friendly with a good range on the kids menu and great vego options. Really happy all round.

Helpful?
Thank pinkbellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffs harbour Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts in a Great Location”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Have been a regular diner for several years - but realised when I saw a Trip Advisor sign there while having breakfast on the weekend , that I had not written a review.
This is the perfect spot in Coffs for breakfast on a sunny day !
We shared Sweet Corn Fritters with Smoked Salmon ($18) and was a delicious breakfast with just the right amount for 2. The coffee is great here and so are the fresh juices. Sit on the balcony and enjoy the view. Plenty of menu options and huge indoor and outdoor areas.
A must visit when in Coffs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"delicious breakfast"”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

After checking out of our motel room brreaky was on the agenda, looking up TA we decided on the Surf Club and we weren't disappointed.... beautiful ocean views, friendly staff and a delicious breakfast good coffee and value for money. Great way to start the day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raspberrytart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corindi, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday Sesh is a nice way to end the weekend!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have been here for lunch a couple of times before and really enjoyed the Seafood Chowder - yummy! Yesterday we went to the Sunday sesh for a few tapas and drinks to end the weekend. Gorgeous weather, some tapas, drinks and some live music = no complaints! The tapas were yummy, fresh and good value. Each time we have been here the service has been good too. Only thing that would make it a lot better would be to open for dinner, especially since it's warming up now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emzy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Club Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Surf Club Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing