We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whale Watch on Pacific Explorer

Whale Watch on Pacific Explorer
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

At $40, this is fantastic value for money and a lovely half day out. It took us a bit to find the whales, but the boat trip was pleasant and Lee and her skipper Chris were friendly. Mitch the dog is very cute too. When we did find them, the whales were beautiful and Lee and Chris's knowledge of how to see them best was great. My friend unfortunately got quite seasick, but Chris gave her something to do to distract her mind and kept an eye on her, and she was able to pick up quite a bit.

We ended up being out for about 4 hours because of their determination to find the whales (it was end of season) but it was lovely, and we got a nice, simple morning tea on the way back.

I would definitely do it again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FatHeffalump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Wow!! That's the only way to express how good it was! When looking for a whale watching boat we wanted something that we could relax on and not be rushed out and back in. The Pacific Explorer with its 360* degree views fit the bill. Lee and the crew including the dog "MIDGE" made us feel welcome. Within minutes of leaving the marina we had whales on both sides of the boat! For nearly 2 hours we slowly made our way down the coast with the whales. It was breath taking. On the way back morning tea including coffee and tea was provided. It was beautiful sitting out on the front of the boat dangling our feet over the edge. Even on the way back Lee and the crew made a effort to keep us close to the whales, not to mention the amazing dolphin show! With the boat being a catamaran and being so quiet whales didn't seem bothered and were happy to cruise with us! Once my kids age 9 and 10 got their sea legs they were basically bouncing from one side to the other. (Life jackets were provided) Once again Lee made their day by letting them drive the boat on the way home! From the minute we arrived to the minute we left the service was great! The only bad thing..... having to leave and listening to the kids beg me to take them back asap!
Definitely recommended and can't wait to come back!!

Helpful?
Thank Bekz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We were there for the wrc rally and popped down for spot of whale watching on Monday after , very friendly people , great knowledge , amazing humpback whale came upto the boat to see us very memorable then a brew on way back to harbour great morning

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wellens7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whyalla
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

this is a catamaran that holds about 25 people so your not fighting with heaps of people to see the whales. we saw about 7 and they were amazing. was about a 3 hour trip, a bit hard to find at first but we perservered and was rewarded with a beautiful morning. the staff were very freindly and everyone had a great time. at $40 pp it was the best value for money, I would do this again. best months apparently are july and sept and oct. We went in august and saw 7 so dont miss out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank davlynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“an awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

this is a great 3 hours. $25 pp with a coffee. only small group on catamaran. 23 max. very patient and we did see lots of whales.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watch on Pacific Explorer also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Whale Watch on Pacific Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing