We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Zulu's”

Zulu's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #124 of 208 Restaurants in Coffs Harbour
Price range: $15 - $41
Cuisines: African, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Modern Australian Food with an African Twist, with a full menu accommodating the simple tastes as well
Scotts Head, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved Zulu's”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a wonderful time and the staff were very friendly.We ordered from the African menu of braises,I had goat with a side of their peas and mushrooms with a level 3 of heat, it was beautiful. My advice to anyone that loves chilli is go for a 3 and get extra on the side because there is a big jump in heat and my poor husband ordered the 5 and it was quite painful watching him!!!!
We are looking forward to eating their again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, Manager at Zulu's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We are glad you tried the African and equally glad you found it to be as exciting as we do! It is unfortunate that your husband didn't beleive us when we said level five chilli is insanely hot. So many "chilli heads" never believe us... which can be a shame. I do hope he didn't suffer too much and that any suffering he did do remained in the "amusing to watch" level of pain and didn't go too far beyond that level.
We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ettalong Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad experience”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Didn't even make it to a table. Had booking confirmed by email and phone call but when we arrived we were informed there was some kind of special night on and we would have to join in or opt out. The manager tried to explain what was happening but all we could notice was he had no shoes on. Very unprofessional. Very dissapointing

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, Manager at Zulu's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Again, as we said in our response to your email prior to posting this review, we apologise for the miscommunication regarding the theme of our Valentines Degustation dinner. We did not have the ability to change the automatic response email to our online booking system, but we honestly thought the large colorful banner across both our website and our Facebook pages was more than enough explanation.
We also apologise that the phone call confirming your place in the "Tastes of Love Valentines Degustation Dinner" did not explain in greater detail the theme of the evening. I as the manager should have certainly been more thorough in ensuring you understood what that meant. So I happily cop the blame for the fact you were not aware that this the third of our annual valentines degustations was what was happening in our restaurant.
I am also very sorry you managed to catch our receptionist in the process of changing for the evenings festivities. He will certainly no longer respond to a customer entering the building until his feet are in proper attire; regardless.
I do truly understand you had a romantic evening planned and it is a true shame you did not stay for the Degustation Dinner, as I said in our email response to your initial complaint to us, it was one of our more successful degustation dinners.
As I also said in our response to your email, I am saddened that you felt it necessary to write a review of our restaurant prior to ever having tried the food, and I do hope that some time in the near future you do come back and give our menu a chance, as we have found that dining in our restaurant is the best way to truly experience what Zulu's has to offer.

Yours, Joel McCulla Head Chef and Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
“INCREDIBLE MUST GO”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We weren't expecting what was delivered. This restaurant is nestled away in-built into an existing motel. A dodgy looking motel. Never judge a book by it's cover because this restaurant provided hands down the MOST amazing meal I had all year. The service was excellent, the chef-Joel- came out and explained the meals to us and also said he would surprised us. We had the african Banquet that was suggested to us. It was truly a taste experience. But it doesn't stop there, the lemon myrtle cheesecake and 'death by chocolate' for dessert topped it all off. Comfortable and relaxing atmosphere that is suitable for all types of people. You can't leave Coffs without going here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSchweickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, Manager at Zulu's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are truly glad you enjoyed the experience, and equally so that it was the African Banquet you enjoyed so much. The African menu even though it is our "everyday" menu still excites us due to the myriad of combinations available in its design. As to the desserts. .. that's where our chef has a little fun... and if you liked those ones, you should come see what we are serving now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beer was cold”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very friendly service, however let down by food quality. Actually felt physically ill. Very over priced. Feel sorry for staff who try really hard. Ill give it another go and see what happens

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank srae5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, Manager at Zulu's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are very sorry that u felt I'll while dining with us. We use only ingredients prepared by ourselves on sight and each meal, down to even our steak sauces is prepared individually for each guest as they order it, a fresh and "just for you" approach is what we strive for. So it lightens this news to hear that you will come back for a second go, because we honestly know it had to have been an extreme anomaly for you to receive poor quality food through Zulu's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Degustation delight”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a delightful dinner enjoying 6 courses based around 'My favourite things'. Each meal was delicious and confusing to the brain, trying to figure out what it was. My favourite was the paella hotdog. The dishes were quite small but surprisingly filling and could be matched with wine but we chose cocktails.
We can't wait to go back for some african meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, Manager at Zulu's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Yes... The degustation are awesome fun! We have no idea yet what is in store for 2014 on the degustation front ... but we are excited already! Watch Facebook for plans as the unfold. ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zulu's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Zulu's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing