We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bombay Brasserie Indian & Western Cuisine

Bombay Brasserie Indian & Western Cuisine
Ranked #21 of 206 Restaurants in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Indian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bombay Brasserie is located within Coffs Harbour's beachside precinct Park Beach. Originally opening as "Macauleys Restaurant" in the beginning of 2008, with Mr John Chittick & his daughter Renee,this family owned and operated restaurant did take Coffs Harbour to new heights with its contemporary menu and relaxed, but elegant, ambience. Now a New Chapter is starting again, with new owners Joti & Joyce Singh. With a completely new menu. A restyled western menu more suited to families, crafted by our dedicated western chef. As well as adding a full Indian menu. With the new owners the restaurant decor has had a mini makeover with a slight subtropical Indian atmosphere . The candle lighting indoors creates an elegant dining experience, whilst the rustic courtyard at both the front & rear of the restaurant creates an intimate alfresco setting, perfect for that special night out in the warmer months. Macauleys can satisfy any appetite with mouth watering Eye Fillet Surf & Turf or a moist & tasty Butter Chicken & Naan Bread. The relaxed and elegant setting makes Bombay Brasserie the perfect venue for a romantic dinner for two, or a sumptuous Family Feast of Indian fair. Business groups, private family functions or a wedding reception can also be catered for.
Moonee Beach
Level Contributor
104 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Thus was my second visit to this fabulous restaurant and again I was not disappointed. From the minute I walked in the door and was warmly welcomed to the scrumptious meal, my dining experienced confirmed that Mcauley's is the premier fine dining restaurant ion the Coffs Coast.

Forget the resorts and their restaurants. If you want more than cafe food this restaurant provides quality and generously portioned meals cooked to perfection. The tableware and designed interior are classy and the price is very good if you are looking for fine dining that is a cut above the rest.
I can't wait to return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MooneeRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    52
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
McKees Hill, NSW
2 reviews
“A 'must do' in Coffs Harbour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

A late 30's couple, we had a two night stay in Coffs Harbour, minus our four children. Like any parents, we didn't want to waste our precious 'date' time dining at bad restaurants. We kicked a goal with Macauleys. We arrived unannounced & without a reservation and were cheerfully shown to a table. The 3 courses, wine & service was faultless. Between the chicken parcels, seafood chowder & veal, we honestly couldn't pick a favourite dish. Whoever thought up that veal, relish & pesto pasta dish, though, is a genius. It will be impossible to dine elsewhere when next in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice food, good service and definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had dinner inc entrees and dessert for 2 @ about $140. Good choice on the menu and service was very good. The chowder was sooo tasty but i cant say the same for the duck. Fish of the day was lovely and the portions were generous..only thing that id suggest is with corkage at $8 per bottle and looking at the cost oof their wine list, id suggest you BYO.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarnoCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Coffs harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We live in Coffs and often dine at Macauley's Restaurant on Park Beach Road. Renee' and her team are exceptionally professional in presentation of the restaurant and food. We always know that our dining experience will be an enjoyable one and often take our visitors there for a wonderful night out. Our son held his Wedding reception there and we could not have asked for more.....from assistance of setting up the venue to wonderful food experienced on the night. Could not recommend Macauley's highly enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
516 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Unforgettable meal with exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Best steak I've had in years! Discovered a new favourite drink - Hot Chocolate with Grand Mariner. Pleasant ambiance on a very busy night. Soft music just right. Excellent acoustical layout to allow easy conversation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Varietal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Brasserie Indian & Western Cuisine also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Bombay Brasserie Indian & Western Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing