We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great location”
Review of Caribbean Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribbean Motel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value and great location”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is near the Jetty area of Coffs Harbour, which we'd been told was the place that you wanted to stay. The location was perfect as there were a number of restaurants just across the street catering for a number of cuisine types. The rooms were spacious, had a basic kitchenette if you were wanting to make anything yourself. It was lovely and clean, has a nice pool area. Our room had a nice big balcony. The staff at check in were great and that was all very easy. Good little motel with great prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our location adjacent to the restaurant 'strip' is very handy for our guests, as you found. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    129
    40
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
109
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here twice for overnight stays on the way to and from Brisbane based on the reviews on this site. I have to say the motel lived up to all the reviews and was extremely comfortable and clean. The room we had for our second stay had amazing views out over the water and was quiet and restful. Each time we arrived we were greeted very warmly and happily. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skyebabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your review and staying with us again. Coffs Harbour is a very popular stopover on the drive between Sydney and Brisbane. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

me and my children stayed over night a week ago and absolutely loved it there. great service, kids were loving it and i think this is definitely the one to go... we were at the back of the motel, so luckily didin't get disturbed by any noise at all.

Room Tip: Pick the back of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickhardingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We appreciate your posting a review, thank you. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Excellent location, excellent size room for families in their family rooms which has a kitchenette. We ALWAYS stay here when driving through from Bne to Syd and back and have never been disappointed. The kids absolutely love staying here, the motel is very clean, its run by very lovely managers and all the great restaurants are right across the road! Be sure to have a coffee and b'fast at 'Old John's' across the road, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue-Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed another stay at our motel and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Tastefully renovated rooms. I was on my own so size wasn't an issue but I wouldn't want more than 2 in my room. I sleep light and the walls are thin so didn't get great sleep. Wasn't helped when the pub across the road closed either, and this was a Tuesday night. I would imagine Friday and Saturday to be very loud. Price was $150 per night but it is more of a $130 in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
We appreciate you took the time to post a review, thank you. Your stay coincided with a very large sporting tournament held in Coffs Harbour that week. While we only had a few guests staying for the event, as mostly mid-week we are busy with corporate guests, there would have been many players staying elsewhere in the Jetty area and going to the pub and restaurants and perhaps disturbing our normally quiet Tuesday night. Regarding our tariff, where possible, to get the best corporate rate or any rate, please book direct with us which saves you agents' commissions and fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the first floor with a young child. Agree with many other reviews that the cleanliness is exceptional. Being at the back of the motel we found there to be no noise at all and this was a good exchange for the street noise others experienced. There was a small table with 2 chairs in the main room, but eating a meal in the small space was almost impossible. There was a separate bedroom with a single bed and desk. Our bed took some getting used to as it was firmer than we were used to. The air con was lovely and necessary with little other airflow. Free wifi was excellent and lighting very good. The pool was nice for cooling off but would have been nice to swim in. It's size isn't suited to anything more than a dip. The worst thing about the property, which could only be fixed through remodelling the garden, is the horribly designed car park area. We've never had trouble parking in a motel car park before. Very tight corners and narrow car spaces. If you drive a small hatchback you will be ok. Overall, if we needed to stay for a night again, we'd think about it. Due to the car park, we probably won't.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneySuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks you for your review, we're glad you found your room exceptionally clean and quiet. The car parking can be a bit tight, we do wish we could enlarge the size of the car parks but the pylons holding up the building prevent that! There is usually parking available on the street as well. Wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maclean, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and great for a short stay. Very close to shops and restaurants. Short walk to the jetty. A bit of road noise which is not good for a light sleeper. Price was good for the location with everything in walking distance. Would stay there again on another visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We're glad you were happy with your stay and we look forward to seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.3 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.1 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#10 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.3 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Property: Caribbean Motel
Address: 353 Harbour Dr, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA rated 3.5 star Caribbean Motel is ideally located in the Jetty area, with numerous restaurants across the road and the Jetty beach a few minutes walk away. Buffet or room service breakfast is available. The motel is a couple of minutes walk from the train station or a 5 minute cab ride from the airport. Reception is open 7am until 9pm, late check in can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing