We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, good location”
Review of Caribbean Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribbean Motel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, good location”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way back down the coast, pulled in around 7:00pm without a booking and Graham gave us room 12 at the back with a separate twin bedroom for our 18 year old daughter. Only 1 small bathroom off this bedroom but we managed for 1 night. Only $140 for this large room sleeping 4 with a kitchenette too. Good recommendation for dinner just own the road. Nice continental buffet breakfast only $13 or $20 for a cooked breakfast. Graham even gave us a discount petrol voucher when we checked out as he knew we were on a road trip!

Room Tip: Room 12 at the back has a private driveway to park a small car and a private rear entrance door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your taking the time to post your positive review. The family room you stayed in (Room 15) is very handy for families or friends as you say, with kitchenette, a queen bed and a separate twin room. Having its own driveway also makes for easy access. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your road trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    132
    41
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
111
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Not exactly the most welcoming arrival, it was hard to make conversation and I get more eye contact and greeting at the local hand car wash.
Room however was very clean and could not fault the in room facilities.
Outlook from the bedroom balcony was on an inside corner overlooked by other rooms so privacy
was non existent requiring the curtains to be permanently closed whilst in the room changing.
Parking on site was extremely tight with varying sizes of parking bay's due to structural column positions. If you are unlucky enough to be the last car in then it either has to be small or may need to be parked out on the road.
If all you are looking for is a clean bed and a good nights sleep then this motel fits the bill.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have large cases or negotiating staircases could be a problem ask for a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D18KRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. A clean bed and a good nights sleep are essentials in accommodation, as is a warm welcome! I'm very sorry the welcome you received was not as expected. Our staff are usually very friendly, as other reviewers have commented. I'm sure our new staff starting in December will be too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location, across the road from the restaurant strip, the jetty and a pub. No lifts. Staff friendly and helpful. Free wi fi. Five min drive from the CBD. Air conditioned and some rooms have balconies. I often return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. Our location near the restaurant strip and jetty is often the reason we have many guests return, like yourself. Our free wi-fi is also an attraction. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Easy to find, and no problems to get a parking spot. Friendly staff that helped us with a map and “what to see” in Coffs. We got a room on the 2nd floor. It’s no elevator, so if you have a big bag like I had, it can be a bit tricky to get up the stairs.
The room was good overall. Clean and tidy. Nice big bed, desk, refrigerator, coffee making facilities. We also had a balcony. The bathroom had what you expected.
Close to the “main road” where you can find a lot of restaurants. A bit down the street there is a mall with a few stores and supermarket.
The “pool area” definitely looks bigger in the pictures than what it actually is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everythingcounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our motel. I'm glad you found the staff friendly and helpful and the room clean and tidy. As you say we have multiple restaurants nearby so there is plenty of choice for dining out. Our pool area is not large but we are also only a few minutes walk from the Jetty beach and playground area. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this motel for 2 nights recently for a wedding. The staff were very friendly and the room exactly what we wanted. Extremely clean, fresh and spacious enough for us. We were lucky enough to get one with an awesome island/ocean view. It was also across the road from a great variety of restaurants and cafés plus an easy walk to the beach. Awesome spot, especially seeing as most of the motels we looked into were right on the highway. Will definitely stay here next time we are in Coffs Harbour

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank adeline90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We appreciate your review and are very glad you were so happy with your choice of motel. We hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here overnight recently and we were thoroughly impressed with how clean this place was. We stayed in one of the family rooms and it was pretty modern, with all the facilities that you would need in a motel and comfortable beds. Also, it is close to the foreshore and marina areas, as well as some of the best cafes in Coffs Harbour. The local pub was across the road which got a little noisy, but hey, it was Friday night. If we pass through again, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank YanniTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to post a review and thank you for your positive remarks. As you say we are close to cafés, the foreshores and beach and our family rooms have all the elements you need. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Over priced for what you get, the room was squat, dark and dingy and looks like it was from the 1980's and hasn't had an upgrade since. It was clean however and serviceable with comfortable bed. Noisy outside, woken early in the morning and kept awake at night with a night club directly across the road. No secure parking available we had to park on the nature strip out in the open.

I've stayed in hotels twenty times as good for half the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoT1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, I'm glad to see you were happy with your comfortable bed, cleanliness of your room and our great location. There is a pub nearby which provides weekend entertainment, the downside being a bit of noise sometimes. We do have onsite parking, there must have been more than one vehicle per room when you stayed. We have a range of rooms some larger and lighter than others, all have been repainted this year, changed to triple sheeting and many recarpeted, it is an ongoing project. The best way to get the best room at the best price is to use our toll free number and call direct to discuss your needs. Best wishes for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.9 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
86 reviews
3.1 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
184 reviews
2.3 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Property: Caribbean Motel
Address: 353 Harbour Dr, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA rated 3.5 star Caribbean Motel is ideally located in the Jetty area, with numerous restaurants across the road and the Jetty beach a few minutes walk away. Buffet or room service breakfast is available. The motel is a couple of minutes walk from the train station or a 5 minute cab ride from the airport. Reception is open 7am until 9pm, late check in can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing