We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Caribbean Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribbean Motel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We often use Trip Advisor to book accommodation and were certainly not disappointed when we checked into the Caribbean Motel in Coffs Harbour.

After 8 days in a campervan, we badly needed a decent nights sleep which is exactly what we got in our lovely spa room. With a deep spa bath to ease away the aches and pains of campervan sleeping we ventured out to check out the numerous restaurant only a 2 minute walk down the road.

We were impressed with cleanliness of the whole Motel and Debbie was a very friendly and helpful host. A free continental brekkie came our way too, after mentioning we spotted them on Tripadvisor.

Highly recommended and would most certainly stay there again if we are ever in the Coffs area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    131
    40
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
110
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Caribbean Motel is located at the Jetty end of town.
I stayed there for work and stayed in 3 different rooms for 3 separate visits. I have stayed in a spa suite, a family suite, and a smaller motel room type of suite, and found all of the rooms spacious and quiet. All rooms seem to have balconies.
The hosts, Debbie and Byron were friendly and helpful, and on one occasion offered some very helpful advice about how to bypass the highway and road-works between Coffs and Grafton.
Most of the restaurants down the jetty strip have a charge-back agreement with "The Caribbean" which made eating and charging it back to my employer simple and easy.
I enjoyed the breakfasts which offered continental or full hot breakfast, and nice plunger coffee.
If I am in Coffs again for work I will definitely request to stay here again.
I recommend this motel for singles, couples or families for business or pleasure and would certainly book here if staying in Coffs for personal reasons..

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so if you have trouble lifting luggage or walking up stairs, then the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were not looking for anything special, just somewhere reasonable to spend the night and break up our long road trip. The Caribbean was the first motel we encountered at the jetty end of town, away from the noise of the highway. Debbie and Byron apologised they had only two units vacant, one a spa suite and the one we chose, an apartment, offering us our choice discounted to their standard room rate. The first floor apartment featured a fully self contained kitchen with dining table and chairs for four, a large balcony overlooking the marina, a spacious double bedroom and two single beds in the very large living area. The bathroom was well appointed and offered a ventilation fan that actually works, as well as a window that opens: features that are often lacking, even in hotels that are way more up-market.

We dined in the Pier Hotel directly across the road. Byron had recommended its seafood offering and we were not disappointed with our choice of blue-eyed cod and prawn cutlets in the bistro, though we had been tempted by the several competing restaurants along that strip of the road - also recommended by our hosts.

We slept in comfort on our queen size bed and enjoyed the fresh air from our open window, uninterrupted by any noise from the quiet street, despite our location at the front of the building.

For an early morning start, we chose to have breakfast delivered to our room which arrived promptly - well, a minute or two before the appointed time. My man quickly polished off his bacon and eggs on toast with roasted tomato which looked great and arrived piping hot. My heaped portion of cereal almost overflowed the bowl, and the raisin toast was delivered still hot enough to soak up the very generous supply of butter, all of which I happily applied.

Our hosts were delighted that we had enjoyed our stay. Their generosity and genuine good will guaranteed it.

Room Tip: Our apartment No 2 was superbly well appointed and set out. It fronted the road but was quiet, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Older hotel, but very well maintained. Room had all of the amenities,and was very clean. Walking distance to many cafes. Friendly staff. Breakfast was included in the rate, and was quite good. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Although I only stayed one night I got a flavour for this little motel. It is very clean, very tidy and good value for money. I was looked after by the staff and made to feel welcome. The rooms are all a traveller needs and the breakfast was really good. I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a neat and tidy place for little money with staff who care..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ady T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed overnight as a stopover for a road trip.
Unfortunately the double bed mattress was terrible and i sank towards the middle. I did not sleep. The main room and bathroom were small. It does have parking but some spots were very tight and we have a small car.
However, the location was good as there were cute cafes and restaurants basically across the road, and close to the water. The room was clean.
It was just my husband and myself staying here, but if you had a third person, the second room with a single bed was quite spacious.
If the bed mattress was more comfortable and i slept, i would not be too concerned about the size, but i would not say it was value for money since it was small.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietteSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
I am glad you were happy with our location and high standard of cleanliness.
At The Caribbean Motel we have over 6 different room types including one bedroom balcony apartments, family suites, balcony spa rooms, balcony rooms and standard motel rooms, all at varying tariffs.
Some of our standard rooms do have double beds, rather than queen, and are priced accordingly, but the beds are less than 18 months old and are top of the range hotel beds. Despite that, as part of our refurbishment plan we are currently undertaking replacement of the double beds with queen beds to match our other rooms.
Hopefully we will see you on your next road trip.
The Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Staff were great and its a short walk to the beach. Some lovely restaurants are directly opposite as well as a nice boozer. I wouldn’t expect to use the pool though as its more for decor than swimming (bit small).

Rooms are a good size and you get all the mod cons. All in all we had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel

Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itxrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.9 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
256 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
78 reviews
3.1 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
183 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Big Windmill
The Big Windmill
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
243 reviews
2.3 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Property: Caribbean Motel
Address: 353 Harbour Dr, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA rated 3.5 star Caribbean Motel is ideally located in the Jetty area, with numerous restaurants across the road and the Jetty beach a few minutes walk away. Buffet or room service breakfast is available. The motel is a couple of minutes walk from the train station or a 5 minute cab ride from the airport. Reception is open 7am until 9pm, late check in can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing