We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unpleasant Stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradise Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Palms
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Unpleasant Stay”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Well i know it was only $75 but we should have stay at formula1.

We arrived about 9.30pm to no reception and no contact phone number, after ringing the resort number numerous times we followed the dog around the back to a house. After a few minutes of knocking and yelling we were greeted with a lady that wasnt very welcoming. (apparently booking on their 24hr website as stated in voicemail for the lowest lowest prices we had booked to late) we eventually got a room but when we went to check it out before running back out for dinner we were disgusted!

Room was horrible, the besides had mold all over them, sink had hair and creepy crawlies in it, bench was covered in ants, AC didnt work, then there was the shower the water trickled out and only 1 could shower as it went cold, there was pubic hair and bugs and god knows what else in their,the floor wasnt mopped. The worst part of the room was the smell! i dont think it had been opened in years i felt like i stepped back in time it was so bad. I actually left as i couldnt stay the smell and ended up with a headache.

Should have read the reviews lesson learnt!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marabear85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racey64, Front Office Manager at Paradise Palms, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
All our websites clearly state our closing hours of 7pm. When you book after hours for the same night and arrive at 10pm knocking on the private residence door, we cant be expected to know you are coming. As to the cleanliness of your room, this we don't dispute, and apologise. We check all our rooms before arrival, but as we didnt know you were arriving, yours didnt get checked. The new cleaner we were trialing has since moved on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    46
    24
    20
    34
See reviews for
75
66
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We planned to stay on our trip back from Queensland in January 2013. We had just driven 5 hours with 3 young children and were tired. The room we were given was not cleaned properly, there was food and dust on the floors. My husband checked the beds and found hair in one of them and ants in the kids bedroom along the wall. We went to admin and were given a second room. This room was tidier; however the floor was still not cleaned. With a young baby who just began crawling I felt uncomfortable putting him on the floor. We decided to leave and stay somewhere else.
To my surprise we were charged for staying, supposedly the money comes out on booking whether you stay or not. We chose not to stay due to the rooms being untidy and dirty not because we changed our mind. I rang Paradise Palms enquiring about the charge and the manager informed me that no rooms would have suited me and I was picky. May I say sorry for not wanting my baby to pick up dust, dirt, food and crumbs off a floor. I found the manager was abrupt, rude and judgemental. We took it to Fair Trading and sent the Health Department to them. Yes, they got the all clear from the Health Department but were informed that it wasn't in peek season so they have had the opportunity to thoroughly clean the place. I am upset about how we were treated, and now have learnt a vital lesson in booking accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed three nights at this resort. The accomodation is a self contained Bure, room service after 7 days. For the price paid it was very reasonalble. the room was big and spacius and a resonablly equipmed kitchen. A spa on the verandah was good after a hard day of exploring Coffs. The Swimming pool was also a welcome area to cool down as well. Be warned that it is on the side of a hill and there is a bit of walking between the different facilities - up and down hills. One way to keep fit. We would also recommend the onsite resuaurant Punjabi Passion. Food was excellent and a good variety. They also cook a very nice breakfast. They have a decent laundry for guest, which we used a few times. We would stay at this venue again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife & I have just spent 2 nights at the Paradise Palms Resort one week apart. The first night was on our way up to Surfers Paradise & the second night was on our way home to Sydney. All the times over the years that we have stayed at Coffs Harbour, we haven't known that the Paradise Palms Resort has been there. We found it to be a very pleasant surprise.The accomodation was excellent with neat & tidy grounds, we found it was very quiet & relaxing. We will certainly stay there again in the future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrwjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have reviewed this place on other sites and felt the need to write again because this place truly is amazing and unique.
This is without a doubt the best place in the coffs area to stay. Kylie and Todd are lovely genuine people, not a bad word could be said about them. They actually care about their customers stay, and when given the respect the deserve (like not yelling at them or expecting a red carpet upon arrival!)- will treat you very well! From the many times I've visited here I've found the place to be clean, welcoming, and relaxing. This is a perfect place for families, and those on a budget. This place has given me so many good memories, and on our last trip there my partner and I decided this is where we will be married! I could not recommend this place enough- anyone who has had any kind of negative experience here must have confused the place with somewhere else.
Can't wait to visit again soon!
Amy and Mat (and Cody!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyMatCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racey64, Front Office Manager at Paradise Palms, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Wow. Thank you so much for your kind words. We take pride in our beautiful resort and want our guests to feel relaxed and happy.
We would love to see you back here for your wedding, and promise to make it an occasion to remember
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly quiet given the highway address but some of the accommodation seems to be in need of work.
I was given an older brick 2br unit that was in pretty poor condition. My main gripe was the difficulty of locking doors and closing windows. One window in the kitchen was falling out of the frame. Not good for security.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTSVico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racey64, Front Office Manager at Paradise Palms, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review
The huge split level unit you stayed in is older in style, and priced accordingly. All our bungalows are privately owned and are on track to be upgraded in the coming low season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family and I stayed in one of your beautiful bungalows for 3 nights last week. We loved the feeling of the open plan room and found it to be clean and inviting.

The kids loved the pool and games room, and "Dora and Diego", the resort parrots were lucky not to be taken home with us!

We will definitely be staying again. Thanks to all the wonderful staff too for your friendly service.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom bungalows are spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
369 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
233 reviews
3.0 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aqualuna Beach Resort
Aqualuna Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Sapphire Beach
649 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas
Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas
#25 of 43 in Coffs Harbour
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Motel
Sapphire Motel
#31 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Palms

Property: Paradise Palms
Address: 675 Pacific Hwy | PO Box 6606, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Palms onsite management for brand new executive rooms and budget rooms all set in big spread out grounds of 12 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and lawns with a heated indoor pool, heated outdoor spa and large deep outdoor pool. All rooms have balconies and views of either lawns, panoramic hills or some with slight sea views. You never feel enclosed at Paradise Palms. Sensational onsite restaurant, Pasfields Restaurant, with cheap bar meals, fine dining and room service, balcony and inside dining with spectacular panoramic views. Accurate pictures of every room are on our site so you can pick the type of room to fit your needs and your budget as we want every guest to be happy and to pick wisely. The longer you stay, the cheaper the rate. We look forward to welcoming you soon and always strive to make it an enjoyable one and welcome you back again and again as we do with so many happy guests. Only Paradise Palms Resort onsite management provides free internet in the restaurant and foxtel in the rooms....other sites do not offer these nor onsite service) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing