We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth stopping if just passing”

Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The name 'Dolphin Marine Magic' is a trading name for the iconic Pet Porpoise Pool Pty Limited. Dolphin Marine Magic is located on the beautiful Mid North Coast of NSW, in the city of Coffs Harbour and sits approximately midway between Sydney and Brisbane. We are very close to the jetty precinct and adjacent to the Coffs Creek and we have been 'edutaining' (educating/entertaining) and engaging visitors for more than four decades. Over the years we have won many business and tourism awards. Dolphin Marine Magic is a fully accredited marine park with the regional Zoo and Aquarium Association. We are licensed by the Department of Primary Industries to exhibit the animals we have in our care. On Boxing Day in 1970, the marine park opened as a rescue and rehabilitation centre for native marine animals, and we continue with this work. We have a Rehabilitation Licence issued by NSW - Office of Environment & Heritage - NSW National Parks & Wildlife Services. Additionally, we work closely with our local branch of NSW National Parks & Wildlife Services and have a Memorandum Of Understanding (MOU) with them on how we will work together for the benefit of our native marine animals.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth stopping if just passing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stopped over night at coffs harbour on our way back home to Sydney from our Gold Coast holiday, this experience was fantastic and I would highly recommend it to anybody that is thinking of the sea world swim with the dolphins, you experience the same if not more interaction with the dolphins here at a fraction of the price and you stay dry. The kids will love it nothing like a wet kiss from a dolphin or a fishy soft kiss from a sea lion.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    257
    57
    15
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The information on the mobile website was not correct, resulting in us missing the final day of the reptile show which was the main reason for our visit. If the details were correct we would have gone the day before! Don't rely on the mobile site as being correct as it is not.
Pretty expensive for less then 2 hours of entertainment!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marioando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Marioando
We apologise for the error, our mobile website was not correct. It has since been changed and I thank you for making us aware of the error. It is only because of someone pointing out our errors that we can make corrections to our processes. I know that you missed the reptile show which was your main focus and paid good money to enter the park. For that we are genuinely sorry.
Regards,
Paige Sinclair CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dolphins feel like rubber..lol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited the park for the first time and had a great time.
I didn't know that dolphins felt like rubber.
It was a great place as you can actually touch them as they swim by in the pool.
The seal that comes up into the audience area was great.
We arrived before opening, had breakfast in the café (great bacon and eggs).
Then spent a couple hours there before continuing to the gold coast.
Definitely worth visiting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Keep doing a great job!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Love that the Pet Porpoise Pool is still going giving our kids the opportunity to feed and smooch a seal like we did growing up. Keep doing a great job!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chinotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful experiance for the entire family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

A must to see the show which is held twice a day and great interaction for the kids. It's wonderful to see that the animals, they can release after bringing them back to health, go back to the wild if possible. My two year old niece and four year old nephew loved the whole experience including the penguin feeding and reptile area. Definitely value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing