We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in late and out early”
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Motor Inn
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Reception friendly and efficient. Rooms are old, small poorly furnished and very dated. This is no more than a sleep over if you are passing late at night on your way somewhere else. Very noisy even though we where down the back, road noise kept us awake for most of the night. Parking adequate but very tight. To be honest it was not a pleasant stay and it was nothing to do with the staff, just the location and era of the product.

Room Tip: Good luck as we where down the back and it was still noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Australia1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 85 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

This old girl is in need of a makeover but the rooms are very clean and the price is very reasonable. Very professional and friendly management staff. Main point is that it is very close to licensed clubs and hotels and the shopping complex. Most is a very short walk. Even though the motel is on the main highway through the township, the rooms are set back far enough to keep road noise to a minimum.
If you want a cheap but clean place to stay, the Chelsea motor inn fulfills this.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of motel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed at the Chelsea Motor Inn as a stopover for a trip from Sydney to Brisbane. The motel itself was clean, comfortable and conveniently located, however the staff were the real stars of the Inn. They were friendly, helpful and full of good advice which was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property to be a little removed from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stay at the Chelsea regularly for work. The motel is on a busy highway, but seriously if you close the window and use the air conditioner you hardly hear it.

The staff are so friendly and the property is extremely clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in the centre of town, close to shops, clubs, pubs and restaurants. So well priced when there are really overpriced places, which are not as good as the Chelsea.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Narelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

It's 3 stars and doesn't pretend to be otherwise. A comfortable bed, hot shower with great pressure, airconditioned, very well located and staff are friendly - it's reasonably priced, particularly if rated against absurdly expensive rooms in other Coffs Harbour motels and resorts.
Would stay here again. I think they know the bathrooms could do with a refurb :-).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DawnTarrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at Chelsea Motor Inn on a Saturday night in the month of Dec and had a great experience. The service was good and staff was friendly.
Luckily there were no trucks on that night and we had a good night sleep.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CJ_788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Mike and Annette the managers were so great. they picked us up at the airport and returned us to airport free of charge. we recieved a generous upgrade for our entire stay. definitely worth staying. Quiet and excellent location. great service, fantastic people. An incredible find and very cheap
truly 5 stars.... will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annette20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.1 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
#33 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Motor Inn
Premier Motor Inn
#15 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 106 Grafton St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $64 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the heart of Coffs Harbour city centre opposite the Coffs Ex-Services Club and close to several other restaurants. Across the road from the Memorial Swimming Pool, Bowls Club, and Markets on Sunday. One block from the Palms Shopping Centre, and the Mall where the uptown markets are held every Thursday. Two minute walk to the show grounds, Tenpin Bowling and not far from the beautiful Botanical Gardens. We are familiar with the local area and are very willing to help you with planning your self-drive tour of Coffs Coast and/or Dorrigo National Park. Buy your tickets for the Pet Porpoise Pool here and save. When you are planning your next trip to the NSW Coast we would love to have you come and stay with us. Make sure to put your review on TripAdvisor so everyone else can learn from your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing