We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Cheese Cheese and more

One of the best and most interesting experience, learning to make soft cheese. So easy, and lots of... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2018
oldkrocd
,
adelaide
Cheesemaking Workshop

Thank you Lyndall, Mel & team for making my time participating in your whole day soft Cheesemaking... read more

Reviewed July 11, 2018
Schramm1
,
Warnervale, Australia
via mobile
Read all 36 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Coffs Harbour
from $47.10
More Info
from $71.70
More Info
from $68.80
More Info
from $57.20
More Info
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
31
3
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soft cheese cheese making risotto yogurt morning tea and lunch quark goodie bag glass of local wine cheese tasting great teacher learning how pitta big banana mel camembert condiments goodies
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 36 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

Standard fare tourist attraction attached to the Big Banana complex. Usual array of cheese to try and/or buy, with assorted souvenirs. Staff seemed to wish they were somewhere else, with not much interaction with any of us in the store.

Thank ballantrae2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndall D, Owner at The Cheesemaking Workshop & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Hi Ballantrae2,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with our cheese selection, we take great pride and invest a considerable amount of time in stocking cheeses that are at their peak, with over 200 cheeses on rotation we do our best to cater to everyone but understand what we feel is unique and/or interesting depends on each individual perspective.

In terms of souvenirs, we don't sell anything we would consider a souvenir, so this may be best directed at the gift shop of the Big Banana.
What we do stock is a range of home cheesemaking kits, equipments, a large range of cheese knives, and assorted cheese related table ware. We also have condiments etc for to pair with your cheese.

We are a small, family owned cooking school and gourmet cheese deli, not owned by the Big Banana. If we did not engage with you enough in store, I do apologise, we do our best to get to everyone as best we can but occasionally do miss the odd person during busy times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

We love this place! They carry a sensational range of cheeses from across the world as well as all kinds of condiments and cheese making gear in their shop. If you are in town long enough we highly recommend a cheese-making workshop. We completed the soft cheese workshop and had such a great day and now make our own feta and camembert at home. Another excellent event is The Cheese Club that happens on the first Tuesday of each month at 5.30pm for an hour - great cheeses to taste along with wines and you take home a great goodie bag with cheese tasting notes at the end so bookings are essential. A great place for both locals and visitors.

Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndall D, Owner at The Cheesemaking Workshop & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Thanks for the review Cheryl C!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

Well worth it! Myself and my mum went together, and there were only another two people in the class. Lyndall was a great teacher, so informative and enthusiastic, she is so passionate about her work. Everything is hands on and you get samples of the types of cheeses you have made. We had a delicious morning tea and a fabulous spread put on for us for lunch. Staff were all so friendly and welcoming and the facilities were excellent. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in the art of cheese making - we would love to go back again to try out one of the other courses available. Thanks so much!

Thank sjintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndall D, Owner at The Cheesemaking Workshop & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Thanks for the review sjintheworld! I hope you've been enjoying your cheesemaking skills. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

What a fantastic experience this was. Owner and her staff were delightful, helpful and competent. I learn't so much and had the best day. A couple of others doing the class were great company and the supplied meals were delightful accompanied with a glass of Two Tails wine. I will definitely return and will pass on the details to friends and family
Great value activity.

Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndall D, Owner at The Cheesemaking Workshop & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Hi Julie A,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed the workshop, hopefully you've been busy making lots of cheeses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017

My partner and I had a great time learning how to make soft cheeses and tasting great food. It is a hands on course so no boring bits and the venue is a lovely bright kitchen. I would highly recommend this to anyone who would like to make their own cheese.

Thank Tammeyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndall D, Owner at The Cheesemaking Workshop & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Hi Tammeyoc,
Thanks for your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our Soft Cheesemaking Workshop!
Hopefully you've had a chance to put your new skills to use and have made delicious homemade cheeses at home already. Enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews