We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most awful experience i have ever had. Management threatened to call the Police when i asked for a REFUND!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Parade Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Parade Motel
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The most awful experience i have ever had. Management threatened to call the Police when i asked for a REFUND!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

I am a fair reviewer. I work in the hotel industry and know that you cant please everyone all of the time....HOWEVER this establishment is the absolute WORST experience i have ever had and would urge people to think twice about staying here.

They are happy to take your money with a great big smile and friendly welcome but as soon as you complain your in for trouble. I can over tired furniture, minimal furnishings, rusted bathroom fittings but i cannot overlook GIANT COCKROACHES!

My partner and i stayed here on our way back to Sydney after driving over 10 hours. It was one of the only places in town that had a room left. I could tell the whole long winded story but i won't...let me just say i was woken up by a MASSIVE cockroach crawling on my FACE at 2am! My partner and i then had to run around the room like mad people with a thong each trying to kill the other two others in the room.

I wanted to leave then and there but we were too tired to get back on the road. The next morning i very politely spoke with 'Paul' and asked for a PARTIAL refund as i felt it only fair.

He flat out refused ANY sort of compensation and after he and his wife intimidated and verbally offended me (she called me a crazy [--]) he threatened to call the police if i didn't leave. In no uncertain terms i was unfairly intimidated and bullied off the property. If i wasn't in such a state of shock i might have stood my ground but instead drove away only later to burst into tears having never been bullied and treated with such disrespect.

I said i would post a review to which Paul said he could respond to anyway. Well i say go ahead, i am $150 dollers out of pocket and have nothing else to loose and no reason to lie. If i hadn't been leaving for Overseas the following week i would have certainly taken this to Tribunal. No customer should ever be threatened or bullied

Management have the last word when it comes to responding to reviews, and so has the opportunity to apologise for the awful way they treated me and my partner. However if my experience is any example of the professional calibre of Paul or Janine (the Management) i would expect them to get on the defensive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SydneySabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    14
    6
    21
See reviews for
17
31
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

The hosts are welcoming and helpful in so many ways, continuing to ensure our stay was relaxing and enjoyable.

The BBQ area is one of a kind giving the kids room to kick a ball and play. Being directly across from Coffs Harbours main beach makes it locationally a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed a couple of day's ,great position in walking distance to beaches , bowling club. Great family spoke will be back for sure .Thanks to all the management and staff.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank midgee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cams Wharf, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

I have stayed at this motel for over a period of 4 years, friendly management and staff with a great beach and bowling club right accross the road.. don't miss little ripper .Its
just like being at home , Cheers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisfu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

As stated in the title, could not ask for a better location to stay in Coffs Harbour for a fraction of the price of a resort. The motel is situated directly across the road from the beach and the Bowling Club (good meals), 10 minute walk to the Jetty and Park Beach Plaza. The motel is great for both overnight buisness trips and for the family if you are looking for a motel which provides good service at affordable rates. The Motel Managers were very polite and helpful. In summary the motel is great for people who want to holiday at a great location with easy access to the the local attractions (Pet Porpoise Pool (5 minute walk) and restraunts, it is not on the highway like alot of the other motels, quiet motel. We will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

had a great stay.I found the motel through The Lonely Plannet and found rates very reasonable.Located on the beach,the room was clean and tidy,with a very friendly owner.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion Park NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Great location right across the road to the beach. New managers have just taken over and they made us feel welcome. They were busy cleaning and you can see they will give it a go. Our room was fine, bed good. We will be back, and also enjoyed the cooked breaky.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weareonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildchildj9, Janine & Paul .....New Managers at Ocean Parade Motel, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
..Thank you for your comments...We took over on 22nd April 2010.. Both of us & our team will definately keep up with the cleaning and pleased you will come back..updating our breakfast menu ...glad you enjoyed : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.1 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
#32 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
3.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aquajet Motel
Aquajet Motel
#7 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#5 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bentleigh Motor Inn
Bentleigh Motor Inn
#22 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Parade Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Parade Motel

Property: Ocean Parade Motel
Address: 41 Ocean Pde, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Parade Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across from the beach & bowling club, 3 minute walk to creekside reserve + surfclub, Short drive to major shopping centre, marina, harbour, coastline of beaches & many restaurants and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Parade Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Parade Hotel Coffs Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing