We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly and great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Observatory Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stayed at the Observatory before Christmas and it was great. We travel to Coffs fairly regularly to see family and have stayed here several times. They seem to have renovated the apartments and there is now a bit of a boutique hotel feel - our 3 bedroom apartment had a new tv with an inbuilt DVD player as well as separate tv in the main bedroom.
The apartment was extremely clean and well maintained, after a disastrous experience on the gold coast, we are really impressed with CLEAN accommodation!
The pool is quite small, but our kids loved it and it also seems to be as clean as the rest of the Observatory.
I would recommend this for families - and probably other visitors - as the tariff is pretty reasonable, the location is fantastic (short walk to some great restaurants and a very safe beach for kids) and the units are really nicely maintained. What you see on the website is what you actually get!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annefromaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for The Observatory Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 200 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights on way north. Checked in with Billy Jo who was so nice and friendly. Got a great room on the top floor with a lovely view of the sea and harbour. No lift though so you have to work for the view. The room (studio)was bright airy and well equipped and nicely furnished with a lovely little balcony and a good kitchenette. The station is right next door but we only ever heard a couple of trains a day. There is a lovely little clean pool with comfy sunbeds and a bbq area. There is a good selection of restaurants and a supermarket within walking distance and a good shopping centre in Coffs town centre.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

location location with regard to Jetty, Beach & Restaurants, good self contained room, fine view, overall good value

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obsrvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Stayed here in April '09 for work reasons. Paid $200 per night for a 3 bedroom Apartment & 2 bathrooms/ensuite. The lady running the place (Billy-Jo?) is extremely friendly and accomodating. The apartment was spread over 3 levels, with a lock-up garage underneath. Limited waterviews were able to be seen over the top of the railway station.

These apartments were well equiped, good balconies and well lit bathrooms.

My only criticism is that the TV could have been a little bigger and bedside lamps in the 2nd and 3rd bedroom were needed.

Otherwise this place is highly recommended and I would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beach8um
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon tour of Australia. We drove down from Brisbane, but were not informed of the change of timezone (a roadsign would have been helpful)! Hence, the owners were a little panicked at our late arrival, although it wasn't on purpose.

Upon arrival we were really touched by the hand-written card congratulating us on our wedding, and some delicious little chocolates. Thank you!

We were given a beautiful big room overlooking Coffs Harbour Marina. It's right next to the railway station, which can be a little noisy in the middle of the night when goods trains rattle through, but probably the only choice if you arrive this way.

On-site facilities are excellent. There is free secure car parking and washing and drying facilities available for a nominal fee.

Bars and restaurants are a short walk away. The local Vietnamese restaurant was fantastic.

We loved our time in Coffs Harbour and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CockneyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
187 reviews
3.2 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Marina Apartments
Pacific Marina Apartments
#9 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Motel
Caribbean Motel
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Observatory Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Observatory Holiday Apartments

Address: 30-36 Camperdown St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $140 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Observatory Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Observatory provides luxury to suit your every need. Surrounded by the unique atmosphere and vibrance of Coffs Harbour's cosmopolitan Jetty area. Spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self catering apartments with private balconies allow you to take in the spectacular harbour, foreshore and ocean views. Centrally located, it's an easy walk to the beach , marina, markets, restaurants and shopping. Onsite managers, Daniel & Emily have a tour desk that will ensure you get the most out of every day. Over night or weekly accommodation is available and the corporate sector well catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Observatory Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing