We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty basic but friendly staff/managers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Observatory Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a touch football tournament. Lady who greeted us and other staff on site went out if their way to make us welcome and comfortable. Place is pretty basic but great views. Beds comfortable, kitchen works well. Unfort tile floor was a bit unexpected for us touch football people that need to stretch. Beware the train noise. The place is right outside the station and while it didn't worry us there were trains coming through at all hours. Can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bblech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitmad, Manager at The Observatory Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased to note that our service is also something that we like to pride ourselves on.
We have recently began painting in our rooms and new window furnishings, so our rooms have brighten up, just lovely.
Warmest Regards
Billy-Joh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed at The Observatory over the weekend of the flooding, storms. We had a fantastic, spacious apartment in a good spot at Port. As we were up high, we were out of harms way and found the staff service exemplary. In particular Alicia, who went out of her way to assist us with anything we needed. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitmad, Manager at The Observatory Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we were pleased to offer assistance on that horrible night of weather that we experienced.
We look forward to welcoming you again at The Observatory when next you return to hopefully show you the beautiful weather that the Coffs Coast is known for.
Warmest Regards
Billy-Joh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently stayed at a two bedroom apartment. It was very clean and spacious with good facilities. The staff were very helpful. The location is excellent, just a short walk to several restaraunts and the harbour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Coffs Harbour was a choice on route north to the Gold Coast for a two night stay.
The choice made to stay at the observatory holiday apartments was just the ticket. Close to the beaches and harbour area it was also within easy walking distance of all the places you would need to eat.
We stayed in the spa bath studio apartment which had wonderful views out to sea and the harbour and jetty area. The fact that the railway station was just yards from the accommodation should not put you off staying here there was no problem with noise .
The bathroom with spa bath with large window looking out to sea was great watching light fail and having a drink before going out for a meal. The room was very clean and well presented. The kitchen area adequate if you needed to eat in but with the wonderful Maria's just around the corner why contemplate cooking for yourself with the standard of food available at this place. Oysters were to die for and the pasta and pizza along with the assorted meat and fish dishes made it a must whilst in Coffs Harbour.
Booking in and out of the accommodation was simple and efficient and the staff were on hand to advise on trips or things to see. If you stay there go to the hinterland and visit Doriggo lunch at the hotel was great and the building itself a gem . Danger falls was also very picturesque and well worth a visit. This really was a great place to spend a couple of nights and if we were to return a longer time would be spent at Coffs Harbour.
The observatory apartments were a great base to enjoy a wonderful part of NSW.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajd357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Spent a week in the 3 br townhouse over New Years Eve. Great views of fireworks off the Jetty from balcony & big open living room. Even better from apartments. Jetty beach is a moderate walk, great for toddlers, loved swimming at the estuary and riding bikes on the foreshore. Walk to fairground, drive to dolphin park. Helpful staff, get advice on shortcut to restaurants, shops and beach. Not troubled by any noise from other units or train station next door. Kids room looks out on a wall, but willy wagtails were nesting in a pot plant outside the window! Good value for peak season holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pstrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Have stayed here a few times. The apartments are close to town, very close to station (although we did not here any trains). Staff are friendly and the place is nice and quiet. Close walk to a range of place to eat. I walked to the beach and island, but may a bit far for young kids. But definitely only a short drive.
Air conditioner is in the lounge so needed to leave bedroom doors open.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimWilco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

These units are nice & tidy although a little dated. My main issue was the bed is way overdue for replacement, I wish these sorts of places would at Least make sure the bed was comfortable. Our other issue was noise, we could clearly hear the neighbour as they tinkled in the toilet then flushed it, not exactly the serene sounds I want to drift off to sleep to! Otherwise, they are a good place to stay, other reviews mention the railway, and whilst it is close and noisy, trains seldom pass through so this is not a big issue. There is a pub and a strip of cafes and restaurants within a 1 minute walk and jetty foreshore is close by too. The free wifi is very slow so don't get too excited about that! The staff are very friendly and it was easy to check in and they have undercover parking too...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTravelbug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#15 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
201 reviews
3.2 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
400 reviews
2.4 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Marina Apartments
Pacific Marina Apartments
#9 of 43 in Coffs Harbour
230 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#21 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Motel
Caribbean Motel
#7 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Observatory Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Observatory Holiday Apartments

Address: 30-36 Camperdown St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $130 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Observatory Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Observatory provides luxury to suit your every need. Surrounded by the unique atmosphere and vibrance of Coffs Harbour's cosmopolitan Jetty area. Spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self catering apartments with private balconies allow you to take in the spectacular harbour, foreshore and ocean views. Centrally located, it's an easy walk to the beach , marina, markets, restaurants and shopping. Onsite managers, Daniel & Emily have a tour desk that will ensure you get the most out of every day. Over night or weekly accommodation is available and the corporate sector well catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Observatory Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing