We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jervis Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jervis Bay Retreat
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I don't write many reviews, but I felt I needed to for this place, because I think that some of the others here are a little unfair.

We booked at the last minute on wotif.com.au for one night on the Australia Day long weekend.
We stayed in the bank, which is called the spa room cottage on wotif.

The first thing that you notice is that there are very few rooms scattered over a very large area of bushland. This gives you a lot of privacy, as no-one walks past your room.

The bank itself was interesting, with some fine examples of old branded merchandise from the Wales bank in particular. It was clean, spacious, and unpretentious. A couple of nice touches included the selection of CDs and DVDs in the cottage, and the plentiful refridgerated water.

After a spa and a BBQ, we watched one of the DVDs and then settled in for the best night's sleep we have had in ages - it is so quiet here!

There have been a few complaints here saying that it is expensive, but considering the land area, quality of construction, and level of privacy brought about by the low number of cottages, I don't see how Brian and Sue could make a living charging any less.

Oh, bonus!
There were a couple of kangaroos on the track as we were driving out.

Room Tip: Next time I would like to stay in the General Store, because I am interested in the antiques on disp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Jervis Bay Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. These are most appreciated. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place was quite disappointing. The units were dirty and decor was very old and outdated. It was expensive. The hosts were not family friendly and not nice people.

Not recommended. Stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Jervis Bay Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are a bit perplexed as we have no record of any families staying at our property at the time of your review.
Can you let us know if you did stay at our property and how we can address the issues you have raised.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in The Church with my partner and my brother for 3 nights in December 2012 and I must admit we booked it at the last minute with not much else being available, so expectations were not high....but we were more than pleasantly surprised! Brian was lovely on check in, the house very clean, tidy and comfortable and the grounds quite interesting. Basically a series of 'themed' cottages dotted around - but pretty private but interesting at the same time. Ours came with a good sized BBQ, nice bathroom and compact but handy kitchen. My brother slept on a single bed in the living room but it wasn't in the way at all - and the bathroom had 2 entrances which was convenient. We brought our own coffee machine which we were grateful for - and the TV is not very big so best to bring cards or something else for entertainment, but overall we had a great time. A few KM down the road is the 'regional boat ramp' which we used to kayak from and even caught a fish. Abit further along is the picturesque town of husskinson where you can buy most things. You can't walk to shops from the retreat so you need to arrive prepared. We would stay again...don't forget the mozzie repellant as walking around outdoors at night was pretty full on.

Room Tip: We chose the Church as it was the largest cottage and there were 3 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annatheflorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Jervis Bay Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. All feedback is appreciated. Hope to see you again.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We loved our accommodation in the Police station at Woollamia and were keen to go back another time for a longer getaway, however when we returned home we realised we left our baby's teddy and called Brian to see if it was there. My husband was working down the road and offered to pick it up but Brian posted it back to us...Wow...we were so impressed...what service...I asked them if I could reimburse them for postage costs, however no reply was received. Instead I saw a $25 credit card fee charged on my credit card statement 2 days later. It cost about $5 to send teddy back, but we never asked them to send it...we were going to pick it up, and I just think its rude to charge someone a fee without explaining there would be one or what it would be. And $25 is a bit much. When I called to ask what the fee on my card was for, Brain just said, its a service fee. Its just a shame they didn't communicate this cost with us before deciding to post the teddy. I'm pretty sure its ILLEGAL to charge a customer without their approval....but whats done is done...and we just wont stay there or recommend it to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Jervis Bay Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback.
However your husband was not just down the road, he was on manoeuvres out in the bay. When he contacted us via mobile phone he was most happy to have 'teddy' returned by post.
We have a standard charge for returning guests property which is made clear on our web site.
Sorry for any confusion caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Woollamia Village Retreat nearly 10 years ago!! I was telling a friend about it over the weekend & couldn't remember the name so looked it up on Tripadviser & luckily found it! We had a wonderful stay here, having moved from nearby accommodation which we disliked. The owners, Brian & Sue could not have been more friendly. We stayed in the Police House and loved it! The furnishings are beautiful, I seem to remember that Brian built it all himself & Sue looked after the interior design. Would love to go back again sometime

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Jervis Bay Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We do remember you and had such an enjoyable meal with you.
We both hope you will come and visit again.
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I first found Woollamia when Brian and Sue where building it. I remember Brian's pride when showing me the Police Station. Don't ask me what year it was because I can't remember but I do remember vowing that I would return to stay at their 'Village'.
That vow became a reality when I married my American born husband and spent our honeymoon (complete with my daughters) in the Village Inn (not built when I first visited). I wanted to stay in the Chuch but they recommended the Inn because its size met our need better.
My husband was over the moon about our stay, it was his first real taste of Aussie bush. We BBQ'd most nights and bring able to cook breakfast every morning in a full kitchen was great as my youngest is lactose intolerant.
In all honesty, I just loved sitting on the verandah of the Inn smelling and seeing the Aussie bush. The tranquility and sense of inner calm I felt in those 5 days was worth 4 weeks in a Spa Resort.
We didn't miss out on anything as the beautiful white beaches of Jervis Bay are only a short drive away and lots of other attractions (both educational and fun).
Seven years on and I am planning on taking our youngest x2 (his and mine not ours) for a week 'retreat' prior to the HSC to the Village. I have no fear in this plan because I know the Village will meet all our needs. (Just wondering if the one eyed Brumby is still in the Forest and comes to be fed every afternoon)

I highly recommend Wollamia Village to anyone contemplating staying, you will not disappointed. It would be a highlight for any International visitor.

Room Tip: Contact Brian and Sue, talk to them about your travelling party (eg couple, family, friends) so they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Jervis Bay Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind comments. These are much appreciated.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return.
We will look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Good located houses in the middle of the bush. Short drive to Jervis Bay..
Houses are very nice presented with each having its own theme (police station, general store..). Inside clean, patio and BBQ could have been cleaned better. Friendly hosts. Despite the nice stay, too expensive and hence rated average.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Jervis Bay Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Sorry about the cost but as the company that you booked through takes 25% commission this makes it very hard to keep costs down.
We would have appreciated if you had mentioned the state of the bbq when we saw you outside.
We then could have rectified the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New South Wales hotels
3.8 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jervis Bay Motel
Jervis Bay Motel
#3 of 4 in Huskisson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.0 mi away
Worrowing Jervis Bay Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.8 mi away
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jervis Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jervis Bay Retreat

Property: Jervis Bay Retreat
Address: 21 Pritchard Ave, New South Wales 2540, Australia (Formerly Woollamia Village Retreat)
Location: Australia > New South Wales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #464 of 1,933 Specialty Lodging in New South Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jervis Bay Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jervis Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jervis Bay Retreat Australia/New South Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing