We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real outback experience so close to Sydney”

Tobruk Sheep Station
Book In Advance
More Info
$111.62*
and up
Private Tobruk Sheep Station Day Tour from Sydney Including BBQ Lunch
More Info
$127.02*
and up
Aussie Farm, Food and Wine Trail from Sydney
More Info
$40.03*
and up
Tobruk Sheep Station: Farm and Australian Outback Experience
Ranked #485 of 2,951 things to do in New South Wales
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the magnificent Hawkesbury Valley, just over one hour from the heart of Sydney CBD, Tobruk Sydney offers you a day like no other. The expansive acreage overlooking the Hawkesbury River Valley and Blue Mountains allows you to experience a variety of activities, suitable for all ages. With sheep shearing, working dogs mustering sheep, duck shows, whip and boomerang demonstrations and Stockman on horseback, Tobruk Sydney is packed full of fun experiences you will never forget. Greeted by a Stockman on horseback, you will drive into Tobruk Sydney with breathtaking views of the property, with the Blue Mountains showing off in the background. Upon arrival, you will be greeted by the friendly staff and they will direct you over to our 'Drovers Camp' where the Stockman will tell you all about life on a sheep station. Tasting the delicious Billy Tea and Damper that the Stockman has cooked fresh for you that morning, you will have your first experience of life as a Stockman. Watching the outback show has many exciting experiences, such as the unique Whip & Boomerang and Duck Show, along with discovering how the working dogs are trained. You will see the working dogs in action, as they muster the sheep into the sheep yards. Immerse yourself in the fascinating live sheep shearing demonstration, before heading back over to the Drovers Camp for a freshly-cooked Aussie BBQ lunch (included in our Premium & Afternoon program). Once you've enjoyed your delicious lunch, try your hand at cracking a whip or throwing a boomerang, or jump on a an optional tractor for a tour of the whole property.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A reasonably quick 70 minute drive from Sydney through some beautiful bush was perfectly set off with the spectacular view at the entrance to Tobruk Sheep Station. The staff, commentary, activities and food were all excellent. There is quite a lot of activities that you can do if you wish - boomerang throwing (yes they do come back), whip cracking, feeding sheep etc. Great for adults and children - all well catered for. A super day out.

Thank Mover1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, Front Office Manager at Tobruk Sheep Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the station!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

There is nothing like the Australian Outback and to be able to experience it just an hour out of town is fantastic! We had the best day! Our 8 & 9 year old girls got involved in everything from learning to throw a boomerang, cracking a whip to feeding and sheering a sheep. The staff were extremely friendly and so were the animals, especially the dogs. The food was great and the entertainment was top class and very educational. Having travelled most of Australia (and the outback extensively) we can certainly say that Tobruk portrays the true Aussie Outback’s Station. Awesome experience!

3  Thank Aussies0nwalkab0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, Front Office Manager at Tobruk Sheep Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the station!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fantastic day in the country! The ranch dogs are AMAZING! Great history of sheep farming in Australia. Lunch was good and damper bread was great! We enjoyed the staff, they are very kind and fun people. Thank you for showing us how to use a whip, and the "proper" way to throw a boomerang. Kids loved running in the wide open green spaces. Kelly and Candy- good luck with the pending pups! Thank you for a wonderful day!!!

1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, Front Office Manager at Tobruk Sheep Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the station!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This very well run property not far out of Sydney gives an excellent idea of life on a sheep station. From the sheep dogs to the shearing, the campfire damper and the lovely lunch at this gracious old property, families and visitors can see very well that aspect of our past.Congratulations to all involved-the people, the dogs and the sheep.

4  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, Front Office Manager at Tobruk Sheep Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the station!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a great day out at tobruk.Nick the stockman meets you on the horse caracking his stock whip with his Kelpie? Dog Belle running around him.Billy tea and damper is yum and then Belle the wonder dog brings in the sheep. We fed the sheep then Nick took of it wool .Lunch
was Steak and salad which was yum.Thankyou for our wonderful day.Nick is a very funny man and very good at what he does.Thankyou Nick and thankyou Tobruk!!

1  Thank gsanders83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, Manager at Tobruk Sheep Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of our station! Our animals are a wonderful part of life at Tobruk and we are so glad you enjoyed them as much as we do! I will pass on your kind words to Nick and our Restaurant staff. Please feel free to come back and enjoy the station again if you are ever in Sydney or our area again, we would love to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobruk Sheep Station also viewed

Wisemans Ferry, Hawkesbury Valley
Binna Burra, New South Wales
 

Been to Tobruk Sheep Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing