We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Church at Newrybar
Nearby Hotels
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)
$192
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$138
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$236
$205
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$194
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$195
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$118
$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific(Terrigal)(Great Value!)
$117
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
15
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 16 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Old Church House the weekend of 24th November. Our daughter was getting married at the Fig Tree at Ewingsdale and we wanted somewhere where a group of family and friends could stay and prepare for the big day. As it was also schoolies time we wanted somewhere a bit quiter than the heart of Byron. We stepped back in time in the lounge and dining area but had a huge modern kitchen that had everything we needed and more, we loved setting up the huge dining table for the 12 of us and then sinking into the comfortable leather lounges with a glass of wine after dinner. Am thinking of booking again for Christmas in July.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here this weekend and we had 3 generations staying at the Old Church. It was fantastically appointed for us to cook our own meals with everything we could possibly have needed in the kitchen! There were 7 adults and 5 children and the Old Church was a lovely place to relax and for us to use as a base for a family wedding. Really the only thing that was a little disappointing (and this is by far, a SMALL criticism for such a wonderful venue). Our 91 year old grandmother came and the handicapped toilet and access into the Church were great. She stayed in the downstairs bedroom which is lovely, but there are 3 steps down into the room, and two steps from the kitchen up into the main living area, that made it just not quite handicapped access. Besides this, absolutely no complaints, we can only totally agree with the other reviews here!! Just lovely, and very good value for money!

Room Tip: The downstairs bedroom is by far the best!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstenBMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent a long weekend here celebrating a friend's 50th birthday in July 2012. It was an excellent choice as guests (approx 10) gathered here from various areas north and south of NSW.
Newrybar is a very tiny town with a small general store, a clothing shop, an antique store and a fabulous cafe with adjoining deli.(more on that later).
Firstly, the Old Church is a wonderfully restored church with a beautifully kept garden around it. Inside is an amazing, large space with leather chesterfield sofas and a long dining table that seats 10 comfortably. There is plenty of room if you wanted to invite more people to join a celebration.
The bedrooms are spread out...1 on the ground floor is really quaint as it has a chapel doorway, 2 more upstairs and more with beds and bunkbeds in a built on section. Bedding was clean and plentiful.
There are large day beds for lounging on the landing inside the church. Decking adjoins the
church building and the next section. The bathrooms are a bit dated but ok.
What makes this place so fabulous is the enormous kitchen with just about everything you could want in it. (The only thing missing was an electric beater as we wanted to bake our own birthday cake). There are cupboards and drawers full of glasses, utensils, bowls, platters etc. . Lots of fridge space too.
There is a BBQ on a decked area at the back overlooking the garden and a games room with table tennis table. The Church also had a good music system and TVs throughout.
Back to the Harvest Cafe and Deli. This is definately the place to be for at least one meal.
It gets packed on weekends. The service and food was of a high standard as was the produce in the Deli. It's only a minutes walk up the road.
Overall though we loved stocking up the kitchen and just kicking back and enjoying the Old Church. I would certainly recommend it and hope to stay again one day.

Room Tip: The room on the ground level next to the dining room is the most picturesque with church window and doorway.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Solsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We have now spent a 40th birthday and a 50th birthday at The Old Church Byron Bay (but actually at Newrybar in hinterland outside Byron. It comfortably sleeps 10 adults all with their own sleeping space (albeit 1 couple on a mezzanine floor). It sleeps more but you wouldn't bother. The set up is great with 3 toilets and showers. The converted church part is absolutely gorgeous and a great setting for some huge dinner parties. The heating is great but sadly no fire place - great gas heater instead (same effect, less mess and work). The kitchen has absolutely EVERYTHING you could need and the set up of glasses means the place was designed with partying in mind. Corner stall is great but don't rely on it for bottle shop supplies (limited). Harvest Restaurant /Deli nearby and looks fabulous. We loved cooking there though, it was relaxing and well equipped. Photos on website do the place justice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Just moments off the Pacific Highway, but it could be miles as you step back into this gentle country lane. The Church is lovely - a bit like a beach shack transported into the shell of an old church in the Byron Bay hinterland.
We had a week here and did the following with our teenagers - Circus School (Byron) learning the flying trapeze; Dreamworld - an easy day trip; Gaia Sanctuary (just up the road) for massages; shopping and dinner in Byron Bay; celebrity spotting in Bangalow; horseriding on the beach. We ran out of time to do the hotair ballooning, and the weather was a bit cool for serious beach activities.
Accommodation is flexible and good for a family group. Kitchen really well equipped but the fabulous Harvest cafe is only a one minute walk away so you don't need to bother about making coffee or meals. There's also a tiny shop/bottleshop next door to the cafe, amazing given it looks like only three other people live in Newrybar!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank zoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews