We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit special”
Review of Hotel Realm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Realm
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A little bit special”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband suprised me with a stay at this lovely hotel as part of a 'birthday' visit to Canberra to see the Turner exhibition. Travelling with 2 children (aged 7 & 10), we stayed in an atrium suite, which is fancier than our usual level of accommodation. The 7 y o made great use of the huge spa bath, and we all had a great night's sleep. As others have said here, to a visitor there doesn't seem to be a lot of dining options available in the immediate vacinity of the hotel, and we ate 'in' both at dinner - Ostani (menu options for both children and adults) and breakfast - Maple + Clove. We didn't have bookings for either, and the staff were very accommodating in fitting us in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maikaefer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    354
    177
    58
    35
See reviews for
163
415
51
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here but it was not 5 star as it is advertised. We arrived shortly after 6pm on a Friday night there was no valet parking and no help with our luggage. Lack of information given to us from reception staff regarding dinner options that night and for breakfast the next day.

The room was spacious but the desk was worn as was the single lounge chair. The window did not close properly as the lock was broken so would make a noise during the night when the wind blew.

The hotel offer in room dining but not sure where you are supposed to sit and eat if there is more than two of you as the desk was not suitable to eat at for two and the lounge chair was too low.

This hotel is surrounded by offices and it is obviously a popular place to go for after work drinks it can get very noisy at night time.

Would try another hotel if i went back to Canberra.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YCB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRealm_GM, Manager at Hotel Realm, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear YCB84,

Thank you for your review.

The Hotel Realm is AAA 5 STAR rated.

STAR Ratings are an internationally recognised quality assurance symbol for accommodation and provide confidence for consumers that they are booking a property that has been independently assessed. STAR Ratings are used in more than 70 countries world–wide and symbolise the level of facilities, cleanliness, maintenance, quality and condition a guest can expect when staying at a particular property.

Any Hotel licensed to display an official STAR Rating must achieve and maintain very high standards of cleanliness. Properties that typify excellence across all areas of operation. AAA 5 STAR properties include extensive range of facilities and comprehensive or highly personalised service relevant to the accommodation type. Properties at this level will display excellent design quality and attention to detail.

Hope this clears up our STAR rating for you.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Realm offers a nice touch of 'cool' to the usual business hotel stay. I was unprepared for cool!

Well designed, modern room facing Parliament House. Nice touches included in rooms like good quality toiletries, an excellent shower, the option of opening a window, Apple TV, an iphone dock, and complimentary slippers. (Deducting points for the queen bed being 2 singles pushed together).

You'll spend 10 minutes working out the lighting system when you first walk in - if you like mood lighting, you'll LOVE this place. If you're the type who spreads paperwork across the bed on working trips, you might need a torch!

Tapas and wine list at dinner was good and buffet breakfast had a decent selection.

Overall a fab option for business or leisure stays. Pleasantly surprised and I'm looking forward to returning at some stage soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2007jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Realm Hotel works well for business trips. I have been coming since the hotel opened and have hosted many national and international visitors to private functions. The rooms provide enough space and the location allows for private dinners and corporate networking events.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are well worth it for meetings and space to plan
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muirheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location for visiting Turner exhibition and Parliament House. About 15 minute walk to each. Very quiet location during the day and not many restaurants nearby if you don't want to eat at hotel.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and considering the low patronage the days we were there the food choice was varied and fresh. The bar at night was a lot of fun with a good atmosphere.
Recommend the Old Bus Depot markets on a Sunday morning down by the lake.
Overall a very enjoyable stay and would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is well equipped and is very spacious. We stayed here for one night only but was impressed by how lovely the place was. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom contained L'Occitane products which I loved! The hotel is a five minute drive away from the city which did not bother us at all. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Realm over the weekend and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the one bedroom suite which was in a very quiet part of the hotel and guaranteed a good night's sleep. The room itself was lovely, extremely spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also great with a nice bath and good amenities. We had breakfast downstairs at the restaurant which was good; good selection of foods and it was tasty. Overall service was friendly and five star. The location is good for sites such as Parliament House and the National Gallery. We were impressed with this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 57 in Canberra
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,199 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Realm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Realm

Property: Hotel Realm
Address: 18 National Cct | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#7 Business Hotel in Canberra
#9 Family Hotel in Canberra
#11 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Realm 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Realm is a 5 Star hotel on National Circuit Barton, located next to the Parliamentary Triangle in Canberra. The hotel is located within walking distance to national icons including Parliament House, the National Gallery of Australia and the National Library of Australia. The 5 Star hotel provides 163 rooms and suites, each containing luxurious beds, complimentary WiFi, complimentary on-demand movies and Nespresso coffee machines. The Realm Precinct offers a range of dining options, including the award-winning French restaurant Buvette Bistro & Wine Bar, the casual Ostani Lounge, Bar & Restaurant, chef-hatted Japanese restaurant LiloTang, chef-hatted Cantonese fine-dining restaurant, The Chairman & Yip, and casual cafes Maple + Clove and Ritual, as well as a gym, spa, indoor pool, hairdresser and conferencing facilities, all with complimentary Wi-FI. The precinct also offers a state-of-the-art gym and day spa, opened in 2017. Hale Gym + Spa has the latest Technogym equipment and casual yoga, Pilates, spin and boxing classes. Hale Spa is Canberra's latest wellness destination, offering a sanctuary for the body and mind. Combining contemporary elegance with avant-garde design, Hotel Realm is Canberra's only AAA rated 5 Star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Realm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Realm Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing