We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Hotel Realm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Realm
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

In a place like Canberra where you get a mix of tourists and a large array of consultants who work with government departments, its nice to get a place to cater for all. This is a very good hotel. Its geographical location is good in that if you near to be near Parliment House its just a stones throw away. Also its only a short walk to Kingston where ther are some great restaurants. A very modern hotel, with good generous room sizes. Will stay again. Its not cheap, but you get what you pay for. It also has a great bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtourist21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

The weekend was focussed on a birthday gift of The Curator's Dinner at the Toulouse-Lautrec exhibition at The National Gallery so five star was on our minds. At check-in; a room on the "E" floor? What's wrong with numbers like everyone else? Oh...Executive....not so bad then! The room was good: seperate kitchen/laundry (not much prospect of that being over- used on a birthday weekend!), lounge (with TV/monitor that we never got beyond the standby screen) and a bedroom with king-size bed & good hanging space. We had requested a quiet room and were nervously over-looking the noisy garden bar; see how it goes. The weekend appears to be off to a good start! Saturday morning: great breakfast!! Good selection and, for a buffet-style, not jaded by timing. For a buffet, the poached eggs were wonderful. Back after a day out & no English tea-bags (we used both of them this morning & they hadn't been replaced). Call to reception; no problem, we'll send them up. Cold beer instead. On the way out to dinner, we reminded them about the no-show tea-bags. An apology & assurance that it will be rectified. Back after a great night out & still no tea-bags. Another call to reception: finally tea-bags! Sunday breakfast...what a circus!! The buffet was set up in an area too small to accommodate the biggest hotel breakfast day of the week resulting in queues of up to 20 people in an area smaller than our room. We had 5 attempts in an hour but got exasperated by the disfunctionality of the whole thing. We tried tea but, being of the "jug on a hot-plate" variety delivered a tepid cup (jug refilling couldn't keep up with demand so was usually warm at best). At least the orange juice (this was all we had time for) had pulp! Other trivia that niggled us: the lifts were dreadfully slow (5 floors & 4 lifts but we always wondered if there were stairs that would be quicker), long-life milk in the room (at a hotel of this calibre?), a TV in the lounge area that didn't respond to the remote control provided and a lighting system, with "master" switches that didn't follow logic!

Room Tip: Rooms on E floor are good & don't panic about over-looking the garden bar. Breakfast quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwitcherSydney_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed two nights this week. The hotel is very modern, but very cold and clinical - not very welcoming. The place has gone overboard in its use of technology. Instead of a little cardboard sign saying "Do not disturb" to hang on the door handle, it has a light, with a switch inside. Unfortunately the bulb had blown in ours so we couldn't ask house-keeping to come back later. You want to read the restaurant menu? Certainly. Turn on the television and Apple Mac computer, select Information on the screen, then select the restaurant, then use the arrow keys to magnify the menu, then up-down keys to scroll it. What's wrong with paper?
On day 1, my electronic room key wouldn't let me out of the garage. On day 2 it wouldn't let me into the room after midday. We'd requested a late checkout, but apparently the system won't keep the keys working after normal checkout.
Definitely NOT five-star accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 296PeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

It works as an institution, the rooms are a good size and comfortable. They are well maintained. Pool is good but could be open later. Foyer is cold and rather un-inviting. Breakfast arrangements are not 5 star

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank 69Armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My friend & I stayed at the Realm for a weekend and after reading some of the not so great reviews on here, we were pleasantly surprised at the hotel and service. The staff were friendly, and the lobby was clean & has a modern/funky design. Our room was airy, clean and much larger than expected, with separate kitchen, lounge, dining and bedroom areas, as well as a lovely welcome platter of fruits and chocolates. We were also given a free maccaron and small bottle of liqueur each night which was a nice touch.
The breakfast was more than adequate and Malamay, the restaurant in the adjoining hotel (Burbury), was amazing. The Realm also has a nice, well stocked bar with an outdoor courtyard.
The hotel isn't in the city centre so takes a little bit longer to get there but you can walk to other attractions in the parliamentary area.
Overall we had a great stay and wouldn't hesistate to return.

Room Tip: If given a choice, ask for a room along the outside of the building so you can enjoy a lovely view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is still quite shiny and new and deservedly won three separate gongs in the Australian Hotels Association 2012 Hospitality Awards. We were upgraded to the Penthouse suite, so I guess our experience was a little out of the norm, but we loved the spaciousness of the rooms, the in-room Nespresso machine, the quality L'Occitane toiletries in the bathrooms - as opposed to cheap unbranded stuff so often found - and the warm, friendly staff.
It is centrally located and close to the buzzing restaurant & bar district - can't really ask for more, can you?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the weekend of our wedding in January 2013. The service from as soon as we arrived was bad. There was no porter on duty to assist with bags and we had a lot in preparation for the big day. The concierge on that weekend was quite rude throughout our stay and any request seemed to be an inconvenience for him - even if it was just to request the missing food and wine promised as part of the 'couples package'. The room was ordinary - it's a newish place but the carpet and fittings in our room were already quite worn and stained. The tv wasn't working. Breakfast room service menus weren't picked up at night so we needed to call up and order breakfast. It was like staying in a ghost town with no staff and nothing running as it should. I'm sure there are much better places to stay at where there is a decent customer service effort made.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canberran82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
748 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,464 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Realm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Realm

Address: 18 National Cct | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#7 Business Hotel in Canberra
#9 Family Hotel in Canberra
#11 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $123 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Realm 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Realm is a 5 Star hotel on National Circuit Barton, located next to the Parliamentary Triangle in Canberra. The hotel is located within walking distance to national icons including Parliament House, the National Gallery of Australia and the National Library of Australia. The 5 Star hotel provides 163 rooms and suites, each containing luxurious beds, complimentary WiFi, complimentary on-demand movies and Nespresso coffee machines. The Realm Precinct offers a range of dining options, including the award-winning French restaurant Buvette Bistro & Wine Bar, the casual Ostani Lounge, Bar & Restaurant, chef-hatted Japanese restaurant LiloTang, chef-hatted Cantonese fine-dining restaurant, The Chairman & Yip, and casual cafes Maple + Clove and Ritual, as well as a gym, spa, indoor pool, hairdresser and conferencing facilities, all with complimentary Wi-FI. The precinct also offers a state-of-the-art gym and day spa, opened in 2017. Hale Gym + Spa has the latest Technogym equipment and casual yoga, Pilates, spin and boxing classes. Hale Spa is Canberra's latest wellness destination, offering a sanctuary for the body and mind. Combining contemporary elegance with avant-garde design, Hotel Realm is Canberra's only AAA rated 5 Star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Realm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Realm Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing