We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel. Stayed many times.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Realm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Realm
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Stayed many times.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel. Modern. Spacious.

However TVs usually don't work and Internet is unreliable.

Staff friendly. Good restaurants. Nice room service selection.

Gym costs extra.

Nearby restaurants great (Manuka)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    338
    173
    57
    32
See reviews for
154
393
50
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel seems quite new. Lack of decoration devoid of warmth or personality. Not a single picture or painting in the exec one bedroom I was in. It was clean and spacious. Not in the centre but not very far away a drive from anywhere. Breakfast area was small not a lot of choices. Don't pay extra for this. Coffee is not included in breakfast!!!! We have to pay for coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cancatchau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom suite. Simply outstanding. Fantastic design, wonderfully appointed, impeccably clean.

Very, very spacious. Bedrooms are at either end of a big living room with a separate kitchen.

Expensive during a sitting week - but that's Canberra for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Clean, Large and spacious. My room had a separate living and sleeping area. Views onto the complex with a large balcony.

Excellent bathroom and bathroom amenities. Includes both a bath and a shower. Shower was very spacious and overall size of bathroom is larger than some hotel rooms.

Only criticism is air con blows directly onto bed so can get quite annoying if you're sleeping on the wrong side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clackers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

For what is advertised as a top class hotel, it fails to deliver. Whilst the rooms are clean, spacious and modern, they are not value for money.
A real plus was the rain drop shower, however the standard room has only one armchair and we could hear the noise from the function room into the early hours of the morning until it finally ceased with a resounding demonstration of Scottish bagpipe tunes.
Breakfast was crowded, although the staff were friendly. Certainly have had better breakfasts at similarly priced hotels.
Probably would not stay here again as the hotel terminates key access to the rooms prior to check-out time at 11am. When we asked for the problem to be fixed, we were made to feel as if the problem was ours and we had overstayed. We had in fact left enough time to get from breakfast to our room. It left a bad taste to have to go and request re-admittance.
A number of other guests had similar issues, I don't know if they were treated in the same off-hand manner we were. It is the sort of thing you would expect from a three star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda_B_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very slick hotel with modern amenities, but decor a bit cold for my liking. Two bedroom apartment very spacious. Staff pleasant and courteous. Rooms are clean and serviced daily. Location OK if you have your own transport. Bus stop across the road, but buses don't run as frequent compared to other australian cities.

Room Tip: Two bedroom apartments very spacious, room 314 faced west so sun was blinding in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weesie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
234 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for a week as part of a conference. The hotel is super modern, décor is a bit boring but it is spotlessly clean & very comfortable.
The room was spacious but it would have been nice to have had a second armchair. King size bed is warm & comfortable and with excellent glazing & good window coverings a good night's sleep is guaranteed. The large bathroom with huge shower offers the added luxury of L’Occitane toiletries.
Hotel facilities include a wonderful day spa and hairdressing salon (both of which I can recommend). There is also a gym but I didn’t feel the need to try it out. The restaurants are both very good especially Konoba. The bar can be a bit noisy but the outdoor seating is warm & cosy.
There is ample car parking at a reasonable price.
Hotel staff were always friendly and willing to help with instructions for working all the modern knick knacks in our room, or to give us directions for finding our way in & around Canberra.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
2.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Realm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Realm

Property: Hotel Realm
Address: 18 National Cct | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#7 Business Hotel in Canberra
#9 Family Hotel in Canberra
#11 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#11 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Realm 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the footsteps of Parliament House in Canberra, the multi-award winning 5 Star Hotel Realm is part of a truly mixed-use precinct next to the Parliamentary Triangle. Hotel Realm offers 163 hotel and suite style accommodation rooms each with Malin+Goetz amenities, Apple(R) Mac-Mini in-room system and Nespresso coffee machines. Complimented by an in house day spa, state of the art health club, fine dining, casual dining, lounge bars, wholefoods cafe and onsite pharmacy. Combining contemporary elegance with avant-garde design, Hotel Realm is Canberra's only AAA rated 5 Star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Realm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Realm Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing