We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back in Time”

Charcoal Grill Restaurant
Ranked #327 of 1,362 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you want an outstanding steak meal, in a small restaurant (about 5m wide x 20m deep), with excellent service, this is the place. Atmosphere is old world. Felt like time slowed down. This is Paleo diet heaven.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Bris-Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    57
    28
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
“Great steak, a little overpriced”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Cannot fault the food, it was the best steak I've had in a long time. The service was a little slow, but it was a full house. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. Although the decor was old and outdated, it kind of adds to the charm, almost like stepping back in time, I didn't mind it. If you're expecting a modern interior, you might be disappointed, but if you don't mind nostalgia, it's great. Considering the way the sides are served (you have to share a little bowl of vegetable, but you get a baked potato each), I think it is a little overpriced. However there are cheaper options on the menu. I had eye fillet with bernaise sauce, the bernaise was real, not from a bottle - delicious! Desserts are of a generous size, no skimping there! I would recommend this restaurant, but not on a regular basis due to high prices. Nice for friends but probably not if you're looking for intimate dining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bann284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited this restaurant during the middle of the week. It was fairly busy with a mix of people. The atmosphere was nice and the venue looked good. The food was fine and well presented.
The is is the only place I have visited that had only a half portion of pasta available at nine at night.
The staff seemed to be frightened to talk to the chefs. We accepted the half portion and asked for more seafood. This we were told was not possible after the waiter asked the chef (open kitchen). We then went to the chef directly and he agreed readily.
The relationship between the waiting staff and chefs was clearly intimidating.
This is a place to visit if all goes well. If you want something special, talk to the chef directly.
I enjoyed the food, but would not return.too many other places to go to.
Tony

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average food but good service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went to charcoal grill with some friends to celebrate my sister b'day, the room was too small for all of us so we have to sat in 2 different table. We had steak and grill fish, food was ok. Nothing really special. But the service is great, and one thing i cant forget about this place is that i forgot my hp in the restaurant, and they kept it safely . i came the next day and took it from them, and cant say thanks enough for that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnelia5484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old mans eatery from the 70s”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Overpriced steaks, tired decor. Feels like an old man's eatery from the 70s! Now they charge a minimum per head to discourage friends from just joining the table for dessert or coffee, I suppose.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoal Grill Restaurant also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Charcoal Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing