We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a restaurant is supposed to be...”
Review of Water's Edge

Water's Edge
Reserve with
Water's Edge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 1,368 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Sydney
Level Contributor
141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“This is what a restaurant is supposed to be...”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A place that surprises and delights you at every turn - that's Water's Edge to a tee. Despite some wonderful dinners, it's been years since we had an experience quite like this. An unusual and well-priced dégustation menu of four courses meant choosing between alluring dishes of such originality that we had trouble deciding; in the event, it didn't matter. Every dish looked beautiful (we spied on what other people were eating) and ours were nothing less than sensational. From my mushroom cappuccino with a mushroom foam to our passionfruit soufflés prepared in the passionfruit with a chill explosion, the food was wonderful, and the portions small enough to allow you to enjoy four courses but not so small you are left feeling hungry. Add to that lovely décor, a view over Lake Burley Griffin, a quiet, elegant yet somehow relaxed ambience and a beautifully selected wine list - reasonably priced - and it's a recipe for success and the best meal we we've had in years. An unmissable experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    83
    47
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Underrated restaurant in my opinion”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be invited to dinner at Waters Edge. I had no expectations and so was pleasantly surprised to find that the food was delicious, well presented and the four small courses added great variety to our dinner.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere serene and refined.
I will definitely be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoseMcGaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food and a great night out”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Friends took us to Waters Edge. The restaurant made a mistake with the booking but fixed the issue without hesitation, despite it being a busy night. The food was amazing. Great quality, inventive and very tasty. The wine was very nice and matched the food well. The meal was affordable whilst offering fine dining at its best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“an enjoyable encore”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have eaten here several times on previous visits to Canberra and always enjoyed the food, wine and service, not to mention the great location. Our last visit in September was no exception and once again had a great meal. We like the imaginative use of (fairly) local ingredients with respect to the season.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2BP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
Level Contributor
149 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Little bit let down, but food stil great”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our second visit to Water's Edge last night, for my wife's birthday treat. Food was fantastic, the mushroom starter I had was out of this world.
Slightly let down by the service. They gave my son in law "Absolut" vodka, not "Ardberg" Scotch, and the service was a bit on the slow side with very long waists between courses.

On arrival, my mother in law specifically requested a split bill, drinks/food, as she was paying for the drinks. This didn't eventuate, and the waiter was a bit huffy when asked to change it, (this require a phone call from him to some one (!)

Still the star of the evening was the food, as it should have been, and i cannot fault any of the courses we had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fatbeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water's Edge also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing