We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food”

Two Sisters Lao Thai Restaurant
Ranked #458 of 1,368 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“OK food”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I ordered take out for the family. The food is ok, even good, but the portions aren't huge. Not great value for money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    50
    21
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
288 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“An opportunity to try Lao cuisine in Canberra”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

There's not many places to try Lao cuisine in Canberra ( Baan Latsamy has Lao options too) so Two Sisters is special in that regard. Sticky rice is a must with main courses . The Lao sausage, red curry with duck and chicken and cashew stir fry are all good. Dickson location has a pleasant view while the Kambah location has a lovely family run feel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanberraMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Ripped off”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Upon returning home found that the quoted bill had been tampered with... Instead of 45.70 I had been billed on my card 65.70...hope this isn't common practice

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyc7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good thai/lao food”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Really love the food. It is well cooked and nicely presented. The place does need to be touched up a bit and sometimes the staff seem unaware that their public behaviour is probably not appropriate

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ktsingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Good, The Not-so-good, and The Ugly”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Food ordered: curry puffs, chicken satay sticks, pork with chilli and basil stir fry, panang beef, duck palo (พะโล้). See photo.

- Curry puffs tasted OK but it would be nicer if there was some meat in them. All I saw was curried mashed potato.
- Satay sticks - looked like they were fried on a hot plate and not grilled (at least they didn't look like they were deep fried like many other places I've been to). Tasted OK. Nothing to boast about here
- The bad boy of the night was the panang beef. Why oh why so many restaurants feel the need to put carrots (or zucchini, or peas, or baby corn, etc. ) into this dish?????. It was just awful, slimy brown gravy and not anything like a panang at all.
- Pork stir fry was above average. Tasted what it should taste like and not too spicy to be over powering. The vegetables were crisp and very enjoyable.
The DUCK Palo! This was the best of the night. Well presented and it did what it was meant to do - impressed the taste buds. The accompanying Chinese vegetable was perfect for it. Meat was soft and exactly how I expected it to be. Great dish but way overpriced at $25.

For me, this place is a bit of The Good, The Not-so-good ("Bad"), and the Ugly. All the dishes were well presented, but at the end of the day, it is the taste that will decide if customers will come back, isn't it?
I will likely come back and try other dishes. Good attentive staff. Nice atmosphere. My main concern is that I think many of the menu items are way over priced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phi_Ngaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Sisters Lao Thai Restaurant also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Two Sisters Lao Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing