We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much meat :)”

Turkish Halal Pide House
Ranked #27 of 1,376 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So much meat :)”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

2nd visit but first review,

Got take away kebabs for the family, feed the family of 4 for $40.00 value plus

Awesome kebabs more meat than you can poke a stick at

The best in Canberra for price, taste and don't forget the meat, you wouldn't believe it till you see it,

If these don't fill you up you've got worms !!

Enjoy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    58
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Awesome casual kebab”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place is far and away the best kebab I have tasted in Australia. The bread is cooked fresh, they are extremely generous with the tasty meats and the vegies and sauces are fresh and tasty. Service is efficient and the quality is very consistent. I am a repeat customer and have never been disappointed. For the price it is hard to do better. I usually take away but you can sit down. it is not really a restaurant as such, but tables outside are fine for lunch. not suitable for a date or special occasion but perfect for family lunch, takeaway dinner or grabbing some kebabs to take to the lake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The best authentic turkish kebab in Canberra”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I come from the country, where turkish cuisine is highly popular so I know the taste of good kebab.
This place offers so far the best kebab in Canberra and possibly Australia. This place is open until 8:30-9 PM.
Great quality meat, nice bread, huge portions and quite low price ($10).
Although, to get such masterpiece you need to stand in the line for around 15-20 minutes and the service is a bit rough, but efficient.
Nice sitting area, but nothing special.
Some outdoor spots which are usually super busy.
The only bad thing about this place is location. I wish it were located in Canberra Centre area.
But well worth a visit and I will definetly come back with my friends!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bah881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia/Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not so nice”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had the zucchini ball roll, and whilst the bread was decent the zucchini balls them selfs were undercooked and yuck. It looks like a dive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aussieloz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Refused service because of my wife's severe allergies”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Tried to order a pide for take away over the phone one Friday night and after making a pretty complex order, told the person taking the order that my wife had serious allergies to shellfish and asked them to take care when making the pide. It was a pretty simple request, wear new gloves and use a clean knife and utensils when making the pide. After making the request, the person taking the order placed me on hold for a long time, before informing me that they could not guarantee that clean gloves or utensils could be used because they were too busy and refused to make our pide.

Needless to say, this is unacceptable! Not only did they make my wife feel like a pariah, but it has to make you wonder what else they are 'too busy' to do on a Friday night. The worst part about this is that the food is fantastic here! And, when they haven't been 'too busy' to take proper care of their customers, they have been quite diligent to ensure that my wife's allergy is looked after and they have ensured no cross contamination from shellfish made my wife sick. But alas, if they want to throw that away by showing us disgustingly poor customer service and questionable hygiene standards, then so be it, I'll just take my business elsewhere!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieSteve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkish Halal Pide House also viewed

 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Turkish Halal Pide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing