We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic setting”
Review of The Boat House

The Boat House
Ranked #28 of 1,388 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $69 - $170
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in private parkland on the absolute water lapping edge of Lake Burley Griffin, The Boat House by the Lake offers the best lake view the capital has to offer. The stunning views are matched by outstanding modern cuisine, friendly and attentive service, and a sophisticated atmosphere.With an award winning restaurant and three private dining rooms each with access to a water-front deck and landscaped gardens, the Boat House is the perfect location for an intimate dining experience, wedding, or corporate event.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Despite the darkness and cool weather, we opened the doors of our private room and enjoyed drinks right by the water. The food was modern and cleanly done, in a modern comfortable setting.

Being a function, it was run smoothly with no shortage of drinks or waiting around for food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    60
    15
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best degustation meal we have ever had”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I ate the degustation meal with accompanying wines. We have dined in many restaurants in Australian and overseas, and this was the best we have ever experienced. The journey of food from start to finish was incredible finishing off with the most amazing deserts. Wine was very well matched to the meals. You get a very warm, friendly and relaxed vibe from the staff and the chef come out to chat as well. Could not fault this restaurant. Great view at night. Highly, highly recommend above any other restaurant in Canberra!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A Must do.
Dianne & Brendan

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious meal by the lake”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We recently enjoyed the 4 course set menu, easily one of the nicest meals I have eaten. The smokey bread and butter is delicious and all the meals are beautifully presented, play with contrasting tastes, textures and ingredients and are a perfect size. The front of house staff provided great service as well. Unfortunately we are not often in Canberra but I am trying to find an excuse to go again just to go back to this resturant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank timandvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The lights across the lake welcomed us at our window table for two. We chose the degustation menu of 6 courses and accompanying wines. It was a treat for the senses. Very 'cheffy' - each plate contained morsels of delight for both taste and sight - unexpected combinations. Interesting light breads were just right, although the smoky butter overpowered them somewhat. The staff were attentive, knowledgable and polite. It was a comfortable and enjoyable experience. The Boat House is a bit expensive, but it is just the place for a special experience and a treat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memorable Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We returned to The Boat House for our first anniversary, having held our wedding there. Despite there being a wedding celebration for 100 people in the main function room and many other couples in the smaller dining room, we were made to feel like we were the only two people in the restaurant. Fanny and all the service team were friendly, knowledgeable and attentive, helping us with food and wine selection. The 4-course menu is interesting and full of surprises, and the wine list is extensive. The location, staff, food and wine combined to make this perfect first anniversary celebration.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WamJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat House also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing