We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delicious”
Review of Sage Restaurant

Sage Restaurant
Reserve with
Sage Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,362 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $56 - $63
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A hidden gem just few minutes away from the city centre, Sage offers an escape from the hustle and bustle with an exciting and ever-evolving menu and beverage list.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Tried the degustation menu with matched wines. Portions were perfectly sized and tasted great, the wine was nice and the service was incredible. The only thing I was not a huge fan of was the lemon textures desert (this is purely due to my taste preferences)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander-j024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    127
    53
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My absolute favourite restaurant in Canberra”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have been to Sage about 6 or 7 times now and every time I go I am surprised. The menu changes seasonally, the food is fantastic and interesting and the service is always great - the staff really go above and beyond to make sure your meal and drinks are fantastic.

Last night we ordered from the a la carte menu and asked the waiter which wines he would recommend for each dish. He knew the extensive wine list off the top of his head and made perfect recommendations for each of our dishes.

We ordered the cheese course for dessert, and it came out as a single cheese (not a platter), which was to die for, but my partner was disappointed because he really was hoping for a blue cheese. The waiter noticed we didn't finish the cheese when he cleared our dessert plates and enquired as to why - my partner sheepishly explained it wasn't his favourite but the cheese was still really nice. Within minutes the waiter reset the table and served a blue cheese that was equally as good. Just one example of the really thoughtful service here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Evie_W26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mint garden bar birthday”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I held my 30th birthday at Mint garden bar. The staff here were very accommodating and friendly. There was a live band playing which created a nice atmosphere, very beer garden-eske. I organised a bunch of pizzas for my guests, which were all yummy. I had such a nice night and highly recommend Mint.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“They did it again”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went to sage with friends and everyone loved it. The food was very good and the wine matchings were fantastic. We went to a couple of three hatted restaurant in Sydney and we prefer sage's sommelier by far, he's passionate and seriously knows what is talking about.
Mix good food, professional service and great wines and voila SAGE.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gregdelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our second lunch at Sage today and once again they delivered in spades. The service was prompt, friendly polite and informed. All four of us enjoyed every aspect of our meals from the warm bread served on arrival through the entrees (the tuna is to die for), mains (two of us had the lamb, which fell apart, while the other two had the beef, my son commenting that it was the best he'd ever eaten) and desert. Our accompanying wines were also mouth watering and we left feeling pleasantly sated. Ideal for couples, older families or business and definitely recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Restaurant also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Sage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing