We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Lemon Grass Thai Restaurant
Ranked #226 of 1,368 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Service was OK and friendly but the food was very ordinary. The entree was tasteless and the main course of lamb curry was tough. Coconut rice was just steamed plain rice with a sprinkling of shredded coconut. Not good!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    115
    35
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Perfect birthday dinner”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had a booking for 30 people on Saturday night, and the dinner coukd not have give any smoother. The wait staff were attentive, there were no meal mix ups or issues (which was impressive considering the size of the group) and the food was delicious. Vegetarians and coeliacs were catered for. All of my guests had a great time. Thank you Lemongrass Thai!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brie323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai cuisine”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We dined there on a Wed. night & the restaurant was full. The food is authentic Thai cuisine. The Beef Massaman curry was the best we have. Staff are friendly & service is very fast. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Canberra.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afong138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not as Good as I Had Expected”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lemon Grass is busy and bustling and this is a good sign. Also is a recommended Thai restuarant but we must be spoiled in Melbourne as this would probably not make the grade down south. There was nothing terrible about it, but the food was not exciting, even bland. Good wine list and nice decor, but the food just goes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MindtheGap1996to2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Old favourite keeps scoring”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Lemon Grass Canberra City has been here since the days when only the ethnic restaurants were good and reliable. Although Canberra is now favoured with numerous fine restaurants of all types Lemon Grass remains the pace setter in Thai restaurants. On this trip three of us chose mixed appetisers (an excellent start) and chicken laksa for lunch with soft drinks such as lemon, lime and bitters on a hot summer day. The restaurant service was as uncomplicated and successful as always. The laksa was generous, well flavoured and entirely satisfying at a ridiculously low price. Opting for laksa we forewent my favourite from their broader menu - massaman curry, which is a show stopper, though better as a beef curry than a chicken curry. On other visits we have used the wine list which is satisfactory. Lemon Grass can easily be taken for granted but is seriously good at Thai food and deserves credit. The sister establishment in Woden of the same name is equally good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatheralbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemon Grass Thai Restaurant also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Lemon Grass Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing