We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Italian in Kingston”
Review of La Rustica Trattoria Pizzeria - MOVED

La Rustica Trattoria Pizzeria
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Italian in Kingston”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you’re looking for Italian in Kingston don’t bother with anything else. While it might not look as glitzy as some others close by, it more than makes up with it with the flavour in the food. Service was a bit slow, but overall great value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    13
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take out pizzas - should have gone elsewhere”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I had two take out pizzas from here tonight. They were overcooked, lacking in ingredients and generally poor quality. We left a lot and will not go here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrschicoaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,140 helpful votes
“Excellent Night for All Concerned !”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Been before but never done a review. It has an interesting entrance and facade. Good parking if you are there early. Outside seating for the warmer months. BYO wine (small charge) - but a useful bar - with a good selection of wines and beers. Service was more than acceptable and guests were treated well. A good range of foods on the menu - from the entree to sweets. Perhaps share an entree (calamari) with some garlic bread - between 2 or 3. You can always judge a restauarant by its garlic bread I'm told. This was very good.

Dishes were presented in a very acceptable fashion, with a smile and hot.

Mains were excellent. We had a selection between our group - Bugs, steaks, pizza, spaghetti, seafood and pastas. All had nice things to say and ate the lot. The dishes were not small either. Desserts were also very nice. Trio gelato - a good serve and very cold. Profiteroles were excellent as were other nice dishes. Also excellent coffees.

The restaurant felt "good" to be in with a pleasant atmosphere. Although there was no music - that I could hear - you didn't overhear what the table beside you were talking about.

The place was full and as tables emptied they were quickly filled. Although - no-one appeared to be hurried in any way to eat, order or leave.

Would I go back - definitely ! All of our group felt it had been an excellent night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved it all!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I absolutely loved this resturant.
Firstly in a great location.
It had a great feel to it, nice and cosy without being over crowded.

I had bred for entree which was good and a pasta dish with prawns for main which was just beautiful... best I have had in a long time. It came out quite quickly even though it was busy on this Wednesday night.

I found there to be a limited selection of deserts whilst the main menu was amazingly large.

I thought it was a tad pricey, although not over the top.
The service was a bit slow and to get hold of staff could be difficult at times.

Overall the food outweighed any slight issues I had and I would definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaniW_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food in a good location”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The name reflects the decor, rustic but that is OK. The food was good and the wine list had reasonable choices. Could get noisy on a busy night.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BTDMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rustica Trattoria Pizzeria also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing