We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Challenge Accepted”

Harmonie German Restaurant
Ranked #238 of 1,352 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: German, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Challenge Accepted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Reading other reviews of this restaurant, everbody said to try the pork knuckle.
We did and it was a challenge to get through it.
For the unknowing, the pork knuckle is from the rear leg of the pig and it is massive.
Beautiful slow cooked pork, surrounded by crisp crackling served on a bed of mashed potato with a serve of saurekraut.
Well the three of us who ordered the knuckles, got through it just. This was a wonderful meal, perfect for a cold Canberra winter's day.
The others in the party ordered chicken schnitzel and all enjoyed it.
The pork knuckles are $30 and need to be ordered with 24 hours notice, but it is worth it!
You have to be with a member of the German Club to get into the restaurant, but you can join on the spot for $5.
The challenge is out there....accept it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dooligahl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    39
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Try the pork knuckle!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Bring your appetite and order the pork knuckle at Knuckles Restaurant, upstairs in the Harmonie Club. The pork knuckle is done very well - the meat is tender and has plenty of crunchy crackling. It also comes with a side of creamy mashed potatoes and crisp vegetables. My husband had the pork knuckle and loved it! I tried some and it's good stuff! Unfortunately, I wasn't too enthused about the pulled pork I'd ordered; I found the gravy rather salty. That's not to say it was a terrible dish, just my personal taste.

The service is prompt and friendly. Can't fault it in any way.

The atmosphere is good, especially on a Friday night, when the crowds come in and the dining room and bar are buzzing with conversations and laughter.

Drinks need to be bought at the bar downstairs, and you can bring them into the Knuckles dining room. The drinks are reasonably priced. As a bonus, the bar sells Ritter Sport chocolate, which is great, because not many shops here carry it.

So overall, the Harmonie Club gets four stars because of the pork knuckle and the well-priced drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Knuckles Restaurant.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Was staying in the area and decided to attend this restaurant. Wasn't much to look at from the outside and when entering through the main entrance we weren't quite sure what we were in for. However, the bartenders were friendly and recommended the 'Sparten' beer which was amazing.

After a few amazing beers we attended Knuckles Restaurant upstairs and although the restaurant was very basic the pork knuckle was delicious. An enormous meal and not for the faint hearted, so take your appetite with you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tdub1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“German beer German food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The Half Roast Duck from the blackboard menu was ginormous and delicious. The rest of the meals in our group were on the meagre side but perfectly sized in all reality. Definitely nice german dishes complete with Bavarian Dumplings, mashed spuds ad sauerkraut. My highlight was the choice of drinks at the bar. I had a Hofbrau Dunkel in a stein which was a perfect sized drink to last the meal. The piccolo champagne was Louis Perdrier, very nice.

I thought it was a little expensive at $20-$30 per main, but these days that seems to be norm.

Appel strudel dough wasn't the greatest perhaps. Still, this isn't meant to be German gourmet, it's a nice German diner overall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waltervp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Knuckles Restaurant - authentic German food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I went to the Harmonie German Club last weekend to try the food at the Knuckles Restaurant. We're glad we did. The menu is made up of real German dishes. I got the pork knuckle and my wife the the Wiener schnitzel. Both were great. The first thing you notice when the meals arrive is their size - big - you won't leave hungry. At first we were worried we wouldn't be able to finish them but they were so delicious we made sure we didn't leave anything. They were served with mash and some vegetables and the knuckle also came with sauerkraut. And like one of the other reviewers, we had to skip the dessert. The mains were enough. We'll try dessert next time.
Not only was the food good but at the bar you can also get real German beer in real German glasses! It was a really great dinner. Its the real deal!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harmonie German Restaurant also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Harmonie German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing