We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service - there wasn't any.”
Review of The Deck

The Deck
Ranked #485 of 1,368 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Customer service - there wasn't any.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I went to this attractive setting for a lunchtime booking of for 12 people. The view was the good thing - something to look as you wait - interminably - for service. We got drinks fairly quickly but no-one approached us for our orders for 40 minutes. FInally the orders were taken, then we waited, and waited, and waited ... FInally some of our group went to the counter and managed to get quiches quickly. But the rest of us waited, and waited... When we enquired again fter 1 hour and 25 minutes, we were told that "the order didn't get printed in the kitchen." What??? We said that 2 of our group are diabetic and needed food quickly. These 2 asked for "bread roll with butter". What arrived was more like stale slices of bread, partly toasted. In desperation they ate them. Finally the rest of the meals arrived, while some of our group had to leave for other engagements. My meal when it came was OK, not brilliant. Plus the manager handed the meals ACROSS the table. Yummy chips, though. But I would hesitate to come here again. The service really doesn't match the lovely setting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    29
    22
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yass, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful and comfy but poor service”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

One of the most beautiful places in Canberra for a view and a lovely function restuarant. For lunch by the lake the furniture is relaxing and comfortable. The menu for a lakeside restuarant and prices are understandable but the service time is shocking. It takes a very long time from the time you order to when the food arrives. There is a reason. I was shown the very tiny kitchen and no one could make a lot of meals at the same time in such a small space... well that is what the staff told me. So if you have a lot of time to spare, it is a lovely place to sit and relax and wait for what is quite a nice meal. It's not really a place for children due to the wait and mainly adult venue but if they are old enough to play on the hill below The Deck they can burn off some energy while you have a good vantage spot to watch them. Just dont expect your meal to come in a hurry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1stimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“function venue with lake views”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Enjoyed a function dinner here. Service was excellent as was the food. The room was well laid out for 120 guests. But the talking point was the views from the deck overlooking the lake and across to the Parliament Precinct on the other side. The venue is an easy walk from the city on a pleasant night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConsultantDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing changed.....great view, terrible, slow service........”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

A group of 12 of adults and 5 children booked for brunch at 10am. I was just flabbergasted at the service, we asked to order food at about 1030 (as the waitress seemed to be studiously avoiding us) and were told that they couldn't take the order because the kitchen was too busy, not there is going to be a bit a bit of a delay as the kitchen is really busy at the moment but they wouldn't take the order! We finally got to order at 1045.....our meals were served at 11.30 in a slow procession....there was no side of bananas with the banana bread (as on the menu), the bacon and egg muffins had no bacon and the 'granola' was uncooked rolled oats. Food disappointing, service abysmal and terribly, terribly slow.
It is such a pity that such a striking location made for such an dreadful dining experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EveABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Given the size of the town Canberra really lacks lakeside cafes and restaurants. This could be a really good place to eat and drink but it's severely let down by terrible service (by young staff) and the place really feels in need of a good shake up. Menu was ordinary, service was slow, price was too much.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to The Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing