We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian option in canberra's Chinatown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belluci's Trattoria - CLOSED

Belluci's Trattoria
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Italian option in canberra's Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you end up with business colleagues in Dickson (as I did) and discover they are not looking for an Asian meal, the Sub-urban bar and restaurant (the restaurant is actually one of the Belluci's chain) turned out to be a delightful alternative. The service was good, with a number of friendly, young and enthusiastic staff serving us through the evening. Our meals were excellent, with my linguine pescatore on of the best I have had. A good serve size too, avoiding the common restaurant trap of serving pasta in portions that could serve a family of teens. This meant that we could indulge in the delightful tiramisu, sharing one dessert with three health conscious travellers providing us with a sweet treat at the end of our meal. It was easy to migrate the adjoining bar or lounge area for a drink (or in our case cup of peppermint tea) to relax and chat after our meal. Prices were reasonable, not super cheap. The management has clearly addressed some trip advisor reviews about service, as all staff were friendly, prompt, and professional.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We scoured Manuka looking for somewhere to have dinner, but Belluci's drew us in, even though they were fully booked and we had to wait over an hour for a table. It was well worth the wait as the ambiance was relaxed but with a good vibe, and the noise level such that we could still talk to each other without shouting or straining to hear what was said. The service was attentive without being overly so. We were given sufficient time to peruse the menu without feeling either rushed or ignored. Once our orders were placed our drinks and bread came quite quickly. The Penne was perfect and the Tornados Rossini delicious, although very, very rich. The portions were huge so we passed on desserts. If you have a big appetite, you'll certainly feel as though you have got your moneys worth at Belluci's!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunL0ver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
890 reviews
509 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Always Exceptional.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Essential to book.
Great menu & excellent quality of food & service.
Stuffed Zucchini Flowers were superb.
Rotolo is an exciting vegetarian dish to have.
Linguine Marinara was loaded with seafood & was delicious.
We always enjoy dining here when in Canberra.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Memorable for the wrong reasons”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We took a new to Canberra friend to Belluci's at Dickson for dinner and were embarrassed with the whole experience. As others have said, the service was excruciatingly bad....we had to ask for menus that took 10 minutes to arrive, then find someone to take our order followed by a long wait for our meals, the last of which was delivered as the first one was being finished. To top it off, the food was decidedly average and overpriced. All together a very disappointing experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank weltaltburger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shadow of its former self”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The first two things I noticed when I entered the restaurant was the smell of stale beer and noise from Sub Urban (the ‘trendy’ bar next door). Unfortunately these two things did not disappear as the night went on – instead it just got worse!

The food was only ok. The pasta was plain and the risotto was bland. The only redeeming course was the baby calamari which was quite nice.

At times the wait staff seemed more interested in talking amongst themselves and for the majority of the night our table was essentially invisible. The number of staff who weaved their way past our table who couldn’t be bothered to ask if we were finished with our plates/needed more drinks was astounding.

For almost 30 minutes we sat at our table waiting for it to be cleared so that we could go, this wasn’t a case of being allowed to relax after eating as when we FINALLY got the attention of a staff member to ask for a bill the death stare we received could have killed an elephant.

Overall a mix of loud music, the sounds and smells of the bar next door and overall poor service made for an expensive and not so memorable evening.

Would recommend this place if you were on group dinner and drinking session as you probably wouldn’t have to move at all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belluci's Trattoria also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing