We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for take away”

Au Lac Royal Vegetarian Cuisine
Ranked #153 of 1,352 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine- Vegetarian Catering Specialist
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great for take away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

As a vegetarian who loves mock meat, I'm a little bias here, but I absolutely loved the soy chicken with basil and soy beef with cashews. Service was friendly and very quick. Might try dining in on my next trip to Canberra.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCartmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    33
    12
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,223 reviews
563 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
“All good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I ate here mid-week and relatively early (about 6.30), yet the place was already buzzing. A bit of queue but staff very sharp and attentive and a table found straight away. Mix of diners was instructive: it was an all-ages affair including chatty groups - some with young kids - couples, singles. Most seemed to know the ropes, which suggested they were regulars. Quite a few lining up for takeaways too. As you would expect, menu is entirely vegetarian but much of what is on offer is of the fake meat variety (beef, chicken, duck, fish) which I avoided. Shredded tofu rolls as entree were on the dry side but simple tofu and vegetables main was excellent, very fresh and tasty. Importantly, it wasn't too shiny, which suggests they held right back on the MSG. A request for a flask of water was very quickly attended to. All good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I got here on a semi regular basis! I love everything I eat here, inlcuding the mock meat. Warning meat eaters - this may not taste like real meat to you - but to someone who hasn't eaten real meat in a long time (like me), it does!

I highly recommend the Au Lac Beef Soup (Pho), I do not get the mock meat in it as the tofu is devine!

Great place to come for a healthy and cruelty free meal! And the prices and service are great too!

This place fills up fast, so it isn't bad to book on busier nights (i.e. Saturday).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly folk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

These guys know how to do Vego Viet style. In Việt Nam each lunar month there are a couple of Buddhist vegetarian days. The Việt, probably being lazy to actually leave behind theirbeloved meat dishes have developed unique meat copies, for almost every amazing Việt dish in existence. If you know your way around Việt Nam in most city, town and occasionally village, you'll find an eatery or restaurant dedicated to this mock meat tradition with some amazing and surprising results. Au Lạc in Dickson faithfully follow this tradition but have in many ways adapted and even improved to suit the local climate and clientele. I love the phở, and bún bò Huế (noodle soups) the best.

If your looking for a healthy choice, vegetarian, or just something uniquely Việt, get into Au Lạc!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maliyan_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great for meat eaters, too.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My vegetarian hosts took me here for a late lunch. Most choices seem to be mock meat/seafood and the ones chosen were certainly delicious. The use of soy and paneer (?) provided the chewy texture missed by meat eaters in many vegetarian restaurants. The spices and chilli ensured that none of the dishes were bland. More customers arrived throughout the afternoon, keeping the atmosphere active. It is a no-alcohol restaurant and a great lunch was had by all!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgeso3809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Lac Royal Vegetarian Cuisine also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Au Lac Royal Vegetarian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing